Get Your Free Audiobook

Blood and Treachery (A Scottish Crime Thriller)

DCI Logan Crime Thrillers, Book 4
By: JD Kirk
Narrated by: Angus King
Series: DCI Logan Crime Thrillers, Book 4
Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (53 ratings)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

How far would you go to bury the truth? 

While searching for a missing hill walker, Glencoe Mountain Rescue Team uncovers a body - just not the one they were looking for. 

Still dealing with the fallout from their last case, DCI Jack Logan and his team venture south from Inverness to investigate a brutal, gangland-style execution in the wilds of the Highland countryside. 

As the victim's dark secrets are gradually revealed, Jack uncovers the rot lurking beneath the stunning scenery, making himself the target of a criminal more dangerous than any he has faced before. 

If he isn't careful, it won't just be a murder he's dealing with in Glencoe. 

It'll be a massacre. 

Blood and Treachery is the fourth book by number one Amazon best-selling author JD Kirk, perfect for fans of Tartan Noir. 

"A breath of fresh air in the crime fiction genre." (L.J. Ross)

©2019 JD Kirk (P)2020 JD Kirk

What listeners say about Blood and Treachery (A Scottish Crime Thriller)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

This was dribble and the narrator yikes But at least he was a 2 star

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Logan

I really enjoy the J D Kirk books. Especially the Scots detective Logan. Love the accent from Angus King. Have my Audible Book anytime I am in the car , in the garden. Or just walking. Fantastic idea...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never a dull moment

This is a great series. The characters are complex and plots tightly wound. The narration is excellent and clearly defines the characters. There’s just the right mix of personal and professional amongst the team. Looking forward to the next book!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Heard better

Story was easy to listen to but n ot the best i have heard. Loved the character of Tyler made me smile. narration was good except of one character

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator and author combination is gold

I really could visualise the characters, the setting and and the cultural nuances. I love the combination of this author and narrator. I listened to the whole series of books as a result of this combination.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing addition to a great series.

I was really looking forward to another instalment about the beloved DCI Logan however this was utterly disappointing. The plot of this novel was something out of an average BBC Television show at best. No twists, no turns and rather lazy in my opinion. Read any crime novel series from the 80’s until now and yes, you know how this book ends. Excellent narration!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love them

love the humour in these books set against Jack Logan's sarcasm and grumpiness. Love the Scottish humour. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Whispera
  • Whispera
  • 14-09-2020

A pleasant read

This one was not quite as good as the others in the series. Pretty silly at times, but I'll take that over the misery so prevalent in the genre. However the humor at times has declined into immaturity, whereas I totally enjoyed it in the prior books. The narrator is wonderful, as usual. I hope the next one (spoiler alert) doesn't carry on with "female cop as victim". And I hope Mr Whisper gets killed off. Those r my hopes for the next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gr
  • Gr
  • 13-09-2020

DCI Jack Logan at his best

Another great addition to this detective series. Occasionally I get challenged by the accent and reference to something in Scottish popular culture, but still very good. The writing is detailed and the narration is excellent.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for leafyisles
  • leafyisles
  • 08-09-2020

Another Gay Character thrown under the bus.

So in the last novel we got the not-so-clever twist of the flamboyant gay man being the rapist and murder- NOW the underdeveloped token woman on the team gets fridged, just so we can get....what? A self-indulgent testosterone hulk out from the main character? Oh and just to add injury to insult, it’s revealed she was also the token gay team member. I’d rather not have any representation than this to be quite honest =/ I’ve enjoyed a lot of the tone Kirk has crafted in the novels, but it’s recurring cliche “twists” and characterizations (or lack thereof) like this that are making me very hesitant to pick up the next book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anneonymous
  • Anneonymous
  • 29-08-2020

Brilliant narrator

I actually lol with the patter at times. Typical Scottish humour, sarcasm and cheeky. Tyler is so funny. Emotional at times and brought a wee tear to my eye at one point. Performance was brill, Angus king really has a gift, i never once thought any of the characters sounded alike and really felt the emotion.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Cunningham
  • D. Cunningham
  • 30-08-2020

A really enjoyable series keep em coming.

Another great book in the series well narrated. Roll on audiobook five. Great characters with a good sprinkling of Scottish humour. Would make a really good tv series. (Please!)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-08-2020

Exceptional

Another fantastic book bought to life by a very talented narrator. Can't wait for the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs D J Fraser
  • Mrs D J Fraser
  • 25-08-2020

Not my favourite DCI Jack Logan instalment.

When compared to the series thus far, this story lacks the substance, grit and realism of its predecessors. However the familiar characters and the Stella narrator (Angus King is superb!) are it's saving grace.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayjor
  • Wayjor
  • 22-09-2020

Briw-yent

I’m so glad to add JD Kirk to my list of favourite authors. Story, characters all wonderful and genuinely interesting and I really care about all the Team. The baddies are horribly well written; though the writing allows room for empathy and sympathy in some cases, others you just want to lock up and throw away the key. I’ve just finished this 4th book in the Jack Logan series and they’ve all been brilliant! I can’t wait to listen to the next one. I enjoyed the narration - the writing and narration of the banter had me laughing out loud at times - though just occasionally the narrator reads as though it’s the end of a sentence then it turns out it isn’t. A little thing given the overall performance, but jarring nonetheless. 10/10 for the author; 9/10 for the narrator. I’ve heehaw left to say!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AngieT
  • AngieT
  • 22-08-2020

Engrossing listen

Really enjoyable listen. Could all J D Kirks' books be audible and performed by Angus King please? They are a winning combination.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa Harwood
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 21-08-2020

Fantastic

Another fantastic DCI Jack Logan book. Great characters, great plot and wonderful location. The narration is excellent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kirstine
  • Kirstine
  • 10-10-2020

Another well-crafted story

I'm glad I discovered this series of cleverly-plotted novels full of engaging characters, gripping story-lines with a touch of humour. I like the fact that the stories are told in a linear fashion without a lot of flashbacks that can be confusing in an audio-book. Also there's not a lot of unnecessary padding that besets some other authors' novels. The narrator is first class with a range of voices that adds to the drama.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronnie Ingledew
  • Ronnie Ingledew
  • 09-10-2020

Love these stories

Another great story and brilliant narration by Angus King. Can’t wait for the next one please keep these coming I love these books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alisdair R
  • Alisdair R
  • 05-10-2020

Another Winner

Well done JD Kirk and Angus King ..I have enjoyed the plots and characters since the first outing....this book provided more well scripted life , comedy, tragedy and Murder ....I feel so invested in the characters... I laughed out loud and nearly cried as well .. Can’t wait for the next Audiobook .....Hurry up !!