Louis L'Amour's Lost Treasures

19 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 104 ratings

No Traveller Returns Publisher's Summary

Louis L’Amour’s long-lost first novel, faithfully completed by his son, takes listeners on a voyage into danger and violence on the high seas. 

Fate is a ship. 

As the shadows of World War II gather, the SS Lichenfield is westbound across the Pacific carrying 80,000 barrels of highly explosive naphtha. The cargo alone makes the journey perilous, with the entire crew aware that one careless moment could lead to disaster.  

But yet another sort of peril haunts the Lichenfield. Even beyond their day-to-day existence, the lives of the crew are mysteriously intertwined. Though each has his own history, dreams and jealousies, longing and rage, all are connected by a deadly web of chance and circumstance.  

Some are desperately fleeing the past; others chase an unknown destiny. A few are driven by the desire for adventure, while their shipmates cling to the Lichenfield as their only true home. In their hearts, these men, as well as the women and children they have left behind, carry the seeds of salvation or destruction. And all of them - kind or cruel, strong or broken - are bound to the fate of the vessel that carries them toward an ever-darkening horizon.  

Inspired by Louis L’Amour’s own experiences as a merchant seaman, No Traveller Returns is a revelatory work by a world-renowned author - and a brilliant illustration of a writer discovering his literary voice.

With the preface and afterword read by Beau L'Amour

"A highly entertaining nautical adventure.... Beau L'Amour has done his father's fans a service by showcasing the future best-selling author's already developed storytelling and mature insights into human nature." (Publishers Weekly

"Although L'Amour's name will be forever linked with the American West, fans should welcome the opportunity to read some of his early work.... The insight into each character is typical of everything L'Amour ever wrote." (Booklist)

©2018 Beau L'Amour (P)2018 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

See a series you like?

Book one is on us
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

There’s a series for
everyone on Audible.

From fascinating sci-fi and fantasy to binge-worthy thrillers,
find your next book series to love.

Explore series