Showing results by author "Denzil Meyrick"

Categories

All Categories

8 results
Sort by
    • A Breath on Dying Embers

    • D.C.I Daley, Book 7
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7

    When the luxury cruiser, hastily renamed Great Britain, berths in Kinloch harbour, the pressure is on DCI Jim Daley. The UK Government are taking a high-powered group of businessmen and women on a tour of the British isles, golfing and seeing the sights, as part of a push for global trade. But when one of the crew goes missing, and an elderly local ornithologist disappears, will the pressure become too great?   

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A nice easy read as usual

    • By Anonymous User on 18-07-2019

    Non-member price: $28.87

    • Whisky from Small Glasses

    • A D.C.I. Daley Thriller, Book 1
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 189
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 176
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 175

    DCI Jim Daley is sent from the city to investigate a murder after the body of a woman is washed up on an idyllic beach on the West Coast of Scotland. Far away from urban resources, he finds himself a stranger in a close-knit community. Love, betrayal, fear and death stalk the small town, as Daley investigates a case that becomes more deadly than he could possibly imagine, in this compelling Scottish crime novel infused with intrigue and dark humour.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Enjoyable

    • By Antonia McAtamney on 18-02-2019

    Non-member price: $29.65

    • The Last Witness

    • A D.C.I. Daley Thriller, Book 2
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 96
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 87
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 87

    James Machie was a man with a genius for violence, his criminal empire spreading beyond Glasgow into the UK and mainland Europe. Fortunately, James Machie is dead, assassinated in the back of a prison ambulance following his trial and conviction. But now, five years later, he is apparently back from the grave, set on avenging himself on those who brought him down. Top of his list is his previous associate, Frank MacDougall, who unbeknownst to D.C.I. Jim Daley, is living under protection on his lochside patch, the small Scottish town of Kinloch.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • A waste of time

    • By Anonymous User on 02-04-2019

    Non-member price: $23.41

    • Dark Suits and Sad Songs

    • A D.C.I. Daley Thriller, Book 3
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 11 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 108
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 97
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 97

    When a senior Edinburgh civil servant spectacularly takes his own life in Kinloch harbour, DCI Jim Daley comes face to face with the murky world of politics. To add to his woes, two local drug dealers lie dead, ritually assassinated. It's clear that dark forces are at work in the town. With his boss under investigation, his marriage hanging on by a thread, and his sidekick, DS Scott, wrestling with his own demons, Daley's world is in meltdown.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • great

    • By R James A on 10-02-2019

    Non-member price: $29.65

    • Well of the Winds

    • A DCI Daley Thriller, Book 5
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 11 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 68
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 62
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 63

    As the Second World War nears its end, a man is stabbed to death on the shoreline of Kinloch, in the shadow of the great warships in the harbour. Many years later the postman on Gairsay, a tiny island off the coast of Kintyre, discovers that the Bremner family are missing from their farm. When DCI Daley comes into possession of a journal written by his wartime predecessor in Kinloch, Inspector William Urquhart, he soon realises that the Isle of Gairsay has many secrets.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • great plot right to the end<br />

    • By Kindle Customer on 27-04-2019

    Non-member price: $29.65

    • The Relentless Tide

    • A DCI Daley Thriller, Book 6
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 76
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 68
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 67

    When Professor Francombe and her team of archaeologists find the remains of three women on a remote Kintyre hillside - a site rumoured to have been the base of Viking warlord Somerled - their delight soon turns to horror when they realise the women tragically met their end little more than two decades ago. It soon becomes clear that these are the three missing victims of the ‘Midweek Murderer’, a serial killer who was at work in Glasgow in the early 1990s.  DCI Jim Daley now has the chance to put things right.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Best

    • By Sandra on 17-10-2018

    Non-member price: $28.87

    • The Rat Stone Serenade

    • A DCI Daley Thriller, Book 4
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 60
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 55
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 55

    It's December, and the Shannon family are returning home to their clifftop mansion. However, a century ago Archibald Shannon stole the land upon which he built their home, and his descendants have been cursed ever since. When heavy snow cuts off Kintyre, DCI Jim Daley and DS Brian Scott are assigned to protect their illustrious visitors. As an ancient society emerges from the blizzards, ghosts of the past come to haunt the Shannons. As the curse decrees, death is coming. But for whom, and from what?

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Not the best

    • By Andrew on 22-06-2019

    Non-member price: $29.65

    • One Last Dram Before Midnight

    • Short Story Collection
    • By: Denzil Meyrick
    • Narrated by: David Monteath
    • Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 27
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 25
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 26

    Bringing together six short stories - two of which are previously unpublished - One Last Dram Before Midnight is perfect for fans of Denzil Meyrick. These tales take us from Jim Daley's early days pounding the beat in Glasgow as a young constable to a lighthearted whisky smuggling romp involving Hamish and some ghostly pipers.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent Book

    • By David on 30-10-2018

    Non-member price: $29.65