The Walking Dead

9 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 87 ratings

The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor Publisher's Summary

Following in the footsteps of the New York Times best-selling graphic novels and the record-breaking new television show, this debut novel in a trilogy of original Walking Dead books chronicles the back story of the comic book series' greatest villain, The Governor.

In the Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than The Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it’s forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople’s amusement, or chopping off the appendages of those who cross him. The Governor was voted “Villain of the Year” by Wizard magazine the year he debuted, and his story arc was the most controversial arc in the history of The Walking Dead comic book series. Now, for the first time, fans of The Walking Dead will discover how The Governor became the man he is, and what drove him to such extremes.

©2011 Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga (P)2011 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

See a series you like?

Book one is on us
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    Non-member price: $41.00

  • Book 1.5

    Just Another Day at the Office cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 2

    Non-member price: $41.00

  • Book 3

    Non-member price: $27.41

  • Book 4

    Non-member price: $30.45

  • Book 5

    Non-member price: $41.00

  • Book 6

    Non-member price: $46.12

  • Book 7

    Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead: Search and Destroy cover art
    • Robert Kirkman's The Walking Dead: Search and Destroy

    • By: Jay Bonansinga
    Not Available on
  • Non-member price: $31.58

There’s a series for
everyone on Audible.

From fascinating sci-fi and fantasy to binge-worthy thrillers,
find your next book series to love.

Explore series