David Loogan

2 books in series
0 out of 5 stars Not rated yet

Bad Things Happen Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel about a man trying to escape his violent past and soon becomes a murder suspect when a publisher - and the husband of the woman he's having an affair with - turns up dead.

The man who calls himself David Loogan is hoping to escape a violent past by living a quiet, anonymous life in Ann Arbor, Michigan. But when he's hired as an editor at a mystery magazine, he is drawn into an affair with the sleek blonde wife of the publisher, Tom Kristoll - a man who soon turns up dead.

Elizabeth Waishkey is the most talented detective in the Ann Arbor Police Department, but even she doesn't know if Loogan is a killer or an ally who might help her find the truth. As more deaths start mounting up - some of them echoing stories published in the magazine - it's up to Elizabeth to solve both the murders and the mystery of Loogan himself.

"Witty, sophisticated, suspenseful and endless fun...the best first novel I've read this year." (Washington Post)

"A hypnotically readable novel, with...dialog worthy of Elmore Leonard." (Douglas Preston)

"Fans of Peter Abrahams and Scott Turow will find a lot to like." (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 

©2009 Harry Dolan (P)2009 Penguin Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

See a series you like?

Book one is on us
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

There’s a series for
everyone on Audible.

From fascinating sci-fi and fantasy to binge-worthy thrillers,
find your next book series to love.

Explore series