Try free for 2 months

Listen with a 2 month free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45/mo after 2 months. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

You think we’re not in this together? How are you not 'one of us' Monsieur Duchene?

August, 1944. In German-occupied Paris, former schoolteacher Auguste Duchene has stumbled upon an unusual way to survive: he finds missing people. When he’s approached by members of the French Resistance to locate a missing priest - and a cache of stolen weapons - Duchene initially refuses. But the Resistance offer him no choice. Within hours, he’s also blackmailed by a powerful Nazi into searching for a German soldier who’s suspected of deserting.

To fail at either task will have deadly consequences for Duchene - and for his daughter Marienne. So begins a frantic race against time. As forces close in on Paris, Duchene has only 48 hours to locate the missing priest and the missing soldier, or lose the only person he loves.... 

A riveting mystery for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Da Vinci Code

©2021 A W Hammond (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic Reviews

"Vivid and captivating.” (Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz)

What listeners say about The Paris Collaborator

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional

This isn't my usual genre of choice, but it was recommended so I thought I'd give it a go.
The writing was so elegant and smooth, while the story drew you in, and without you realising it, you're caught up in the Paris occupation yourself.
I don't know what I was expecting from this book, but it was no where near the standard of storytelling and writing style I had the pleasure of enjoying!

Now I'm off to find what other books of AW Hammond I am find!

Definitely recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping story well told

excellent narration. really connected with the characters. top writing skills. really well worth it.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.