Get Your Free Audiobook

Murder at Ashgrove House

Rose Simpson Mysteries, Book 1
Narrated by: Tracey Norman
Series: Rose Simpson Mysteries, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
3.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The first book in the Rose Simpson mysteries.

When Sir William and Lady Withers invite friends and family to a weekend house party at their country home, Ashgrove House, they are faced with the arrival of both invited and uninvited guests, the consequence of which is murder. Set in 1930, Murder at Ashgrove House is full of intrigue, clues, and red herrings, with nearly everyone having a motive for wishing the victim dead. This is a classic country house murder mystery set during the golden age of crime and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

©2014 Margaret Addison (P)2017 Circle of Spears Productions

What listeners say about Murder at Ashgrove House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for notlad
  • notlad
  • 14-04-2018

A real yawner

This book is tedious, frivolous, and frankly boring. I will keep it only as "white noise" to help me sleep. The author's habit of stopping the progress of the book to describe food and clothing is distracting. A real yawner, I disagree with the review that blamed the narrator. I can't imagine that anyone could make it interesting.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rhonda
  • Rhonda
  • 09-06-2018

good mystery

it was all great loved the plot the narrator it flowed really well hope there are more books

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bethany
  • bethany
  • 19-04-2018

Delightful find! Please record rest of series!

This was a great English country house murder mystery. Loved the descriptions of the gowns, the food, the house and gardens. Plot was good, lots of plausible motives and kept you guessing. Excited to see several books in the series-wish they were available on audible. Fans of Daisy Dalrymple and Her Royal Spyness mysteries will enjoy this.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yvette
  • Yvette
  • 07-04-2018

More Margaret Addison please!

This was recorded by a small production company, and I hope that they continue with this series. The mysteries are good, and so is the narrator! Thanks Circle of Spears Productions!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen L.
  • Helen L.
  • 13-10-2018

Slow-paced but oddly captivating

Almost nothing happens in this tale of upstairs/downstairs, country house murder except for the set up, the crime, and the solving, which is a relief after all the endless talk. There is too much repetition and endless speculation as to motive and possible intent, all improbably occurring in one or two days with all members of the household and family suspects and all going about their business—none sad—despite murder of one of the family members. Still, I listened, not only that, I was smiling at the end. Go figure.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JeanT
  • JeanT
  • 26-07-2018

Quite convoluted and suspenseful

Characters and plot were well/developed and interesting. I’m looking forward to the future books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margarita Romero
  • Margarita Romero
  • 09-06-2018

wonderful and creative book. highly recommended.

wonderful and creative book. highly recommended. will try more books by this author for sure

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carina
  • carina
  • 11-05-2018

Horrible Aristocracy

I had to skim through some of the chapters as the voices of the women aristocrats were unbearable. I couldn't stand the character who was murdered, then listened only enough to find out why and who was the murderer. The plot isn't bad, with lots of family secrets, but all of the characters were horrible. Not a fun listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melia Cleveland
  • Melia Cleveland
  • 23-08-2018

could not get through the 1st chapter

sorry it was nothing but whining right from the start. could not get through the 1st chapter

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Johnson
  • Linda Johnson
  • 13-04-2018

Cringe-worthy

Stilted dialogue and amateur performance, I forced myself to finish this. Perhaps a different narrator could bring this to life.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann Marie Shepherd
  • Ann Marie Shepherd
  • 01-10-2018

Murder at mangrove house

If you love the old period dramas , status Christie left this will be a brilliant book for you to listen to, highly recommend, with a bit of a twist at the end. Please listen or read this book you won't regret it! A+++++

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor Groves
  • Trevor Groves
  • 08-12-2018

Very enjoyable

Anyone who likes the Agatha Christie genre will enjoy this book. There's no wonder the aristocracy is in decline. They were all popped off at country house parties. I am looking forward to the next editions on Audible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for George
  • George
  • 04-09-2018

Silly puerile drivel .

Shrill galloping narration of the silliest kind , how anyone could seriously put this out in this form beggars belief , not even fit for eight year olds .

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanna
  • joanna
  • 07-02-2019

So bad its fun

This book ... It is actually so poorly written and with such an astonishingly crappy storyline that it unintentionally crosses over to parody. Not slowly but in light speed. And it is still accelerating in the first chapter. Several times google translate crossed my mind, could it be googles first attempt of auto generated writing? Thus, here is my first written review. I am now a proud owner of what in my opinion is the worst book next to the vampire Bill series. And no, this one is not going on refund, simply because it is _that_ bad. This is a book worthy of a Monty Python song.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for L. Cox
  • L. Cox
  • 30-11-2018

just ok

I was looking forward to the end I am afraid. I think this is the first in a series and I won't listen to another one. It is not terrible but the writing could be better.