Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Edinburgh has Rebus. 

The Highlands have Logan. 

Now Yorkshire has Grimm.... 

Welcome to Wensleydale, where the cheese is famous, the scenery beautiful, and the locals have murder on their minds....

Detective Chief Inspector Harry Grimm is forced to take leave from Bristol’s Major Investigations Team when his boss, tired of Harry chasing the ghost of his murderous father, sends him north on secondment. 

Used to city life and high stress, Harry fears his life will now be spent handing out speeding tickets, finding lost sheep, and directing tourists. But when a local teenager runs away, Harry finds himself pulled into an investigation much worse than anyone could have ever expected. 

The nicer the place, the darker the secrets. Wensleydale is beautiful, everyone is friendly and welcoming, and people just don’t get murdered...do they? 

A classic fish-out-of-water crime mystery set in the stunning and evocative scenery of Wensleydale in North Yorkshire. 

Grimm Up North is the terrific debut crime novel from award-winning author David J. Gatward. Perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 David J. Gatward (P)2020 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about Grimm Up North

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 15-01-2021

3

It's fun to read a first-in-new-series
mystery set in rural Great Britain. #1)
we need a different narrator #2) this Grimm cop has GOT to stop yelling.
We've got an interesting case here but it is terribly distracting that our Grimm cop is brand new to the area and spends a heck of a lot of time flopping around like a fish out of water. And YELLing. Thank goodness for the butcher/baker which wins our hearts-
except for that cake/cheese thing. I want to read book 2, this author will be improving quickly.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-01-2021

Cannot wait for more stories

This is the first time i have ever left a review. The narrator is superb, i really felt i was THERE..the characters are well written, i can relate very well to the close knit environment that is created throughout the story. Looking forward to the next stories.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sadie
  • Sadie
  • 12-01-2021

Brilliant

As a northerner moving South, the opposite of DI Grimm it really hit a chord with me.

What got me hooked straight away was the description of Grimm's face, pure magic. No spoilers you need to experience it yourself.

Great storyline, fast paced, humorous and serious all simultaneously.

Wish the next were on on Audible but can't wait so switching to Kindle.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BAR1
  • BAR1
  • 08-01-2021

Grimm Up North

I thoroughly enjoyed this first outing of Harry Grimm, it was exciting, fast paced and uproariously funny in places. I can't wait for the next one!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jas
  • Jas
  • 15-01-2021

Excellent

The two main characters in the story -Grimm and the landscape- are made to come alive. Enough is said of the other characters to make you speculate about their backstory and how they will interact with Grimm in the future. A really good listen. Looking forward to hearing more

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 08-01-2021

Loved it!

Harry made me laugh out loud. He is a breath of fresh air. The pies and cakes sound scrumptious. Looking forward to the next in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Izzywizzy
  • Izzywizzy
  • 23-02-2021

Serious and humour

I found it so amusing to hear a local dilect used which managed to totally confuse Grimm. Also Northern traditions i.e fruit cake served with cheese. Many more bits like this whilst operating and dealing with serious crime. Certainly recommend you to listen to this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheila R
  • Sheila R
  • 16-02-2021

DCI Harry Grimm

Great story, new detective can’t wait for the next one
Hope same narrator is used

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G
  • G
  • 15-02-2021

refreshing

really enjoyed this book and hope that future books follow the same type of vein, a good mix of humour but serious when the plot required it. looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tamasine plowman
  • tamasine plowman
  • 15-02-2021

brilliant

loved this the story the characters and setting.. can't wait for the next. totally recommended this

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Wishart
  • Cindy Wishart
  • 14-02-2021

great setting, great characters, great narration!

thoroughly enjoyed listening to this story, charming setting, touches of realism, humorous and I can't wait to listen to the next one!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.