Try free for 2 months

  • Grimm Up North

  • A DCI Harry Grimm Crime Novel
  • By: David J. Gatward
  • Narrated by: Aubrey Parsons
  • Length: 6 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Grimm Up North cover art

Grimm Up North

By: David J. Gatward
Narrated by: Aubrey Parsons
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $22.99

Buy Now for $22.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Edinburgh has Rebus.
The Highlands have Logan.
Now Yorkshire has Grimm....

Welcome to Wensleydale, where the cheese is famous, the scenery beautiful, and the locals have murder on their minds....

Detective Chief Inspector Harry Grimm is forced to take leave from Bristol’s Major Investigations Team when his boss, tired of Harry chasing the ghost of his murderous father, sends him north on secondment.

Used to city life and high stress, Harry fears his life will now be spent handing out speeding tickets, finding lost sheep, and directing tourists. But when a local teenager runs away, Harry finds himself pulled into an investigation much worse than anyone could have ever expected.

The nicer the place, the darker the secrets. Wensleydale is beautiful, everyone is friendly and welcoming, and people just don’t get murdered...do they?

A classic fish-out-of-water crime mystery set in the stunning and evocative scenery of Wensleydale in North Yorkshire.

Grimm Up North is the terrific debut crime novel from award-winning author David J. Gatward. Perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 david j gatward (P)2022 david j gatward

What listeners say about Grimm Up North

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so entertaining, excellent narration

great storyline and Harry is a great character, very amusing wit in the storytelling. recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable story

Grimm is a terrific listen, made excellent by the narration (pls stick with Aubrey!). Congrats to the author on their debut. Can’t wait for more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Won't buy 2nd book - cures insomnia though

Boring so used it as background noise to fall asleep to.

Shame Audible don't offer money-back option.

Storyline didn't hold my attention and predictable given the characters.

Main character is not particularly likeable (does he do much other than shout at colleagues/subordinates?) and his morose contemplative back story is unimaginative.

Narration was ok given the range of accents but then started to blend together and became confusing.

I did buy some Wensleydale cheese and fruit cake, though....Definitely an acquired taste, best left to the Yorkshire locals.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A lot of yelling

Not sure why the author or at least the reader thought that every word spoken by the main character was yelled or screamed. All a bit silly really.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very slow pace

Well read, but really slow moving and verbose story. Not what I expected from a crime fiction.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story, but..

Bad Christians, too easy. Bring on your Muslims baddies. All of you are cowards.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Was entertained immediately

New author for me and although the storyline’s are quite simple….which is nice for a change ….. it kept me fixed until the end. I like the narrator as well!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Juvenile

Only got half an hour into this before I gave up. The language was juvenile and not engaging. Very disappointed. Did not care for the presenter.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great location and Harry Grimm is very likeable

The story keeps the attention and Harry Grimm is a likeable character in a blustering sort of way. The real hero though is the landscape - makes we want to pack up and move to the Dales.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable with an unexpected ending

I’m looking forward to following more of Harry and his team. And I found myself having to get used to the narrators voice, but now I can’t imagine anyone else able to do justice to Harry and the people of Wensleydale. I won’t say much about the story at self, but as I said I’m hoping this is just the first of enjoyable journey with Harry and his team

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.