Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

If fame goes to your head, don’t lose it.

When thriller writer Charlie Baker disappears after launching his latest novel, it looks to DCI Harry Grimm like the fame went to his head - and the booze, too.

Until Charlie turns up dead, a post-mortem reveals something more sinister than suicide, and Harry is faced with too many suspects and not enough answers. With shocking secrets to expose, unthinkable pasts to uncover, and his own darkness to final put to rest, revealing the killer’s identity could well turn out to be the most challenging case of Harry’s career.

Assuming that he still has one once’s he’s dealt with his own murderous father....

Shooting Season is the fourth book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J.R. Ellis, Margaret Mayhew, Jeanne M. Dams, J. M. Dalgliesh, Roger Silverwood, J. D. Kirk, Adam Croft, and Simon McCleave.

©2021 David J. Gatward (P)2021 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about Shooting Season

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a surprise!

Joy Ellis, Elly Griffiths, lJ Ross to name a few of the excellent authors that have taken me from Australia and Immersed me in there own parts of England with descriptive, humorous detective stories and I am so happy to have come across David J Gatward. I could literally see the dales beauty and feel his love of the area. I have listened to the stories of Harry and his team like listening to letters from old friends. The narrator is also to be applauded… great work. I feared I would not find anymore books in my genre but I have found another gem. The humour, relatability to characters and the story lines are wonderful. Unfortunately this is as close as I’ll get to the Dales but please keep Harry going. By the way I really enjoy your footnotes too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous and engrossing series

This series is such a memorable and enjoyable find on so many levels… great plots with evocative and well described settings but more importantly a believable and dare I say, loveable, central character of Grimm. The support characters of the team are totally enjoyable. Love getting to experience Harry’s new life with him as he comes to terms with the hand life has dealt him. Oh one last thing, Aubrey’s narration just makes the story come alive. Can’t wait for more!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mama
  • Mama
  • 09-08-2021

Great Series, Great Narrator

I love this series, the characters are amazing. Harry, Matt, Jaden, Jim and Fly, and even prickly Rachel....lol.

This one has a arse book author go missing, then later his body is found. He's not well liked, so there are a lot of suspects. Can you guess before the reveal?

The crew has really taken to Harry as well, they'd like the temporary assignment to be permanent. I love the prank Matt pulls on Harry. It was a good one.
Cake and cheese.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C P Heaney
  • C P Heaney
  • 18-07-2021

Another narrator, please

Enjoyed it very much but sure could use a different narrator. Hard to listen to and takes from the story which I really liked

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 13-06-2021

Fantastic!

I have just come across these books and I love them all. I am Yorkshire born and bred and my husband is from Bristol so it's perfect for me. I have fallen in love with the characters and the plots always keep me hooked. I have even bought some Wensleydale cheese to have with my fruitcake. Can't wait for the next one!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry Bark
  • Kerry Bark
  • 25-05-2021

Absolutely fantastic

Believable, great characters from book 1 all the way through to this book. A great easy listening story but there's a few nerve-wracking moments too. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this and the other books in this series

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-05-2021

Another great story

I got this book as an audio book. Between the writer David and the performance by Aubrey you really feel you are getting to know the place and people of a real village life. In the mix is crime story and personal story that develops in a timely way. Thanks you iI will continue to follow Harry's story through these books.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 19-05-2021

A series that gets better and better!

Thank goodness Grimm is still in Yorkshire! In this book a famous author goes missing and then turns up dead, and Grimm and the team have to investigate. The book moves at a good pace, with lots of humour, and plenty of red herrings. The team continue to gel and I was pleased that Fly made another appearance.

As always. the narration by Aubrey Parsons was amazing. Now I'm waiting for the next in the series to come to Audible!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JM
  • JM
  • 08-05-2021

Brilliant I love Grimm!

I have now listen to all 4 books and loved them all. Can’t wait for the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucy Hamnett
  • Lucy Hamnett
  • 06-05-2021

Love Harry Grimm!

These are such joyful books! Even if they're about murder!?! You can really picture Wensleydale and the countryside and all the people that work alongside Grimm. Cant wait for the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-06-2021

Brilliantly written couldn't stop listening to

What a great story didn't want it to finish. Brilliantly narrated and funny well done

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Wishart
  • Cindy Wishart
  • 03-06-2021

Another entertaining yarn!

Along with the fabulous narration, what I enjoy so much about the Harry Grimm series of books is the developing characters. The stories have an unpretentious and authentic nature for the most. And, if you listen to the author notes at the end, you can imagine that David Gatward is having a rather wonderful time writing these stories. Thoroughly good stuff!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meshell S
  • Meshell S
  • 01-06-2021

Super

I had planned to use my credit for another book until I saw this had been released and my plans changed in a second. I absolutely love this series on Audible. Aubrey Parsons gives a superb performance again.I hope that there are more future books of this series. Definitely recommend listening to them.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-07-2021

Shooting Season

Thoroughly enjoyed the latest Harry Grim book. Beautifully read by Aubrey Parsons. I am absolutely hooked on all the characters. Can’t wait to listen to be the next book in the series Janet, Kent

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.