Regular price: $16.22

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him.

Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. Thomas didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now Thomas has a few questions.

©2014 Dave Eggers (P)2014 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? stretches...toying with literary forms to new lengths...compelling." (Evening Standard)
"Possibly the most admired and emulated American author of his generation." (Independent)
"An angry and astute investigation into the state of America… Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola" (Mark Lawson, Guardian)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carys Kennedy
  • 22-07-2015

Not overly impressed

I'm glad I read this as an audiobook, because the performances were pretty good. Other than that, I wasn't impressed - the whole thing was heavy handed as subtle as a brick. It's a shame because I used to like Eggers, but now it all feels so try hard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • rachel rowarth
  • 14-04-2015

Thought provoking

The only reason this didn't get a five was the ending....I thought it was weak. That said I thoroughly enjoyed the dialogue between Thomas, a somewhat narcissistic displaced character, and his captives. Some of the exchanges were thought provoking. I will read this again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Goatbuoy
  • 25-02-2015

Very well done

I was initially disappointed that Dion Graham wasn't the narrator for this story, but the full cast approach is actually really appropriate and highly entertaining.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful