2 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 14,324 ratings


Earth is 4.5 billion years old. In just a fraction of that time, one species among countless others has conquered it – us.

Humans are the most advanced and most destructive animals who've ever lived on this planet. What makes us so brilliant and so deadly? What does it mean to be human? And what is on the horizon for humankind?

In this bold and provocative series, historian Yuval Noah Harari explores who we are, how we got here and where we're going. In a society advanced enough to bend the laws of natural selection, what does it mean to be a human being?

Award-winning narrator Derek Perkins alternates between gravitas and gentle humour in his reading of Harari’s best sellers, Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind and Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow. His clear presentation renders Harari’s deep questions easily understandable by listeners of all backgrounds and ages. 

‘This is a vast and insightful work that does what all great nonfiction should do - it makes you feel smarter after hearing it’ says one Audible Australia reviewer. ‘I am so impressed with the clarity of explanation that I think it will stay in my thoughts forever’ says another.

Sapiens and its forward-thinking sequel Homo Deus are both New York Times best sellers. Sapiens made The Guardian’s list of the 10 ‘best brainy books of the decade’. The Sydney Morning Herald called it ‘astonishing’ and ‘compelling’. Homo Deus made Time magazine’s list of the Top Ten Nonfiction Books of 2017. The Sydney Morning Herald called it a ‘vast work’ of ‘substance and depth’.

Show More Show Less

See a series you like?

Book one is on us
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.
Product list
  • Non-member price: $26.99 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $26.99 or 1 Credit

  • Non-member price: $26.99 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $26.99 or 1 Credit

There’s a series for
everyone on Audible.

From fascinating sci-fi and fantasy to binge-worthy thrillers,
find your next book series to love.

Explore series