Get Your Free Audiobook

Where Fortune Lies

Narrated by: Holly Robinson
Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
3.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure, and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a best-selling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.

1879: "Invisible" Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.

Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.

Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.

As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart. 

Praise:

"A mix of history and escapism, and a strong sense of place, make this novel an enjoyable read for lovers of Australian history that deftly illuminate aspects of our national character in a positive way." (Outback Magazine)

©2019 Mary-Anne O'Connor (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Where Fortune Lies

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Outback Saga beautifully told

Settle back and enjoy this gripping and thrilling saga set in country Ireland and Victoria in the late 1800’s. Beautifully read by Holly switching seamlessly between genders and accents, I was enthralled from start to finish. A lighthearted tale of love and adventure, you will be transported to a period of early Australian history, a time of opportunity and excitement for all who embraced it.