Try free for 2 months

  • Vanishing Girls

  • Detective Josie Quinn
  • By: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (153 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Vanishing Girls cover art

Vanishing Girls

By: Lisa Regan
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $27.99

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name...

Everyone in the small town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing 17-year-old girl. All they've found so far is her phone and another girl they didn't even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it's clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others....

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields, and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and listening long into the night once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about Vanishing Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    21
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The Narrator ruined this for me

I felt cheated by the narrator when listening to this book. The storyline had potential however her voice was so annoying I couldn’t wait for the book to finish. So much so that I jumped ahead quite a lot just make it to the end. I felt like she was talking to me as if I was a child or patronising me. I won’t ever buy a book with her as the narrator again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Difficult

I found the narrator hard to listen to hence my unwillingness to venture further into the actual story, mistake to not listen to a sample before purchasing,

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

loved it Couldn't put it down as there was so much happening in the storyline you had to find out what was going to happen next.


A

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

It's Just Not Believable

I know that writers have some poetic licence, but, surely, they have to make the story somewhat plausible? Banging on someones door for 15 minutes without that person not calling the police but instead inviting our heroine in, is a little beyond the pale. Out of an entire police force, only our heroine could find the one vital (tiny) clue...

In real life with the level of insubordination that was being dished out, detective Quinn should have been fired by chapter 3. In real life, she would have been fired long before that.

Then incompetence as these officers let themselves be ambushed and, as expected, the cops gun somehow manages to be useless. By this stage of the book, one could see it coming a mile off anyway.

What took detective Quinn over 60 chapters to figure out, the Police Chief seems to have done that in about a tenth of a chapter. As smart as he is, he goes to make an arrest without backup. And, you would think our heroine would have at least had the had the decency to yell out "he has a gun" - but alas, no. With all his years of experience as a police officer, he still can't hit the side of a barn with his service revolver - but, that is one of the things one could see coming.

There just were too many holes - convenient escapes, my mobile phone was dead so I couldn't call 911 (no ones phone goes dead in these days) and the list as they say, goes on and on.

However, I see that the title has made the majority of people happy, but, I hope that this does not turn in to a series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

nup!

I can't do it! the narrators voice is so adolescent, I'm not focusing... sorry!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, bad narrator

I quite liked the storyline, which had a ‘Grant County’ series (Karin Slaughter) feel about it. Beware if you’re sensitive to poor narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So boring and annoying narrative

This book may not have been so boring and hard to listen to if the narrator changed her voice for different characters in the story so disappointed with this one

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sam
  • 11-10-2019

Another great story by Lisa Regan.

A great story which was let down by the narrator somewhat. Good expression and voices. But I've never heard a narrator mispronounce so many words... and so repeatedly it becomes a bit annoying. However, the story kept me listening. I'm a huge fan of Lisa. Since discovering her debut novel shortly after its release, I've been reading everything she's written. Love it all.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vanishing girls

Storyline was good - held my interest. Unfortunately the audible telling was dreadful. Very slow and long pauses between chapters. I was frustrated as I wanted to move forward. Rendition should have been faster and no long unnecessary pauses.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Worst narration ever!

Listening to this book was like pulling teeth! Average plot made a hellova lot worse by a dispassionate narration with really poor timing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.