Get Your Free Audiobook

Her Mother's Grave

Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Series: Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered 30 years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose....

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare try to track her down? Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever. 

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Morita
  • J. Morita
  • 26-08-2018

Narrator took away from story itself

This was an intriguing plot with a decent mystery and personal story that kept me listening, but I nearly didn't finish because the narrator was so awful. She didn't enunciate the endings of certain basic words such as saying "ninetin" instead of "nineteen" and it was really off-putting, but what really bothered me was her mispronunciation of the last name Ortiz.

I can't understand how someone in this country, living in this day and age (when all you have to do is Google something you're not sure of), doesn't know how to pronounce a very common name like Ortiz, or how the producers of this audio book let that happen. I'm not even Hispanic, and I found it incredibly insulting. It's like mispronouncing Miller or Smith.

I won't be listening to any more books in this series.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Harris
  • Jan Harris
  • 27-08-2018

Distracting pronunciations

I started counting and negatively reacting to the narrator pronouncing “ate” as “et” and “anything” as “enah-thin” and “nineteen” as “nighting”. It distracted me from the content.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheree V
  • Sheree V
  • 23-08-2018

Narration Is a Distraction

The narrator needs to expand her vocabulary , maybe read pronunciations of certain words., and most importantly learn how to pronounce nineteen, detail, Tyvek, anything, just about any word ending in ing, chevette, and others too numerous to mention. I've seen other reviews with similar comments and don't understand why the producer of the recording doesn't correct these distracting mistakes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for melanie
  • melanie
  • 26-07-2018

Terrible

I could not stand the narrator's voice. Her mispronunciation of several words was nerve grating.

The story was not remotely plausible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reggie
  • Reggie
  • 15-09-2019

Best book in the series!

This is book 3...and is the best in the series. There are many twists and turns in this story, with flashbacks to Josie’s horrible childhood. It’s almost heartbreaking! Got an HFN so will be moving on the next book for more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Artkeep
  • Artkeep
  • 15-08-2019

SUCH A GREAT STORY!!! NARRATION A NEGATIVE!!!

I do love this series. It's a great story line and the characters are great and in depth! I've said it before, the narration takes so much away from the enjoyment of the story. Eilidh Beaton needs to go back to school and learn the pronunciation of so many words. It's not like she uses certain pronunciations to distinguish between characters. She just mispronounces the same words over and over. There are times that her voice sounds too immature to be reading a mystery novel. I'm truly glad that I suffered through the first 3 books because the narrator changes in book 4 and 5.

Lisa Regan is too good an author to have Eilidh Beaton as a narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-07-2019

Josie is one tough cookie

I really enjoy the Josie Quinn series. The writing keeps the reader questioning what will happen next; I love to make predictions while reading and the author doesn’t make that easy.

As others have said, the reader is distracting. It feels like she’s British trying to do American accents and she falls short frequently.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sonja P
  • Sonja P
  • 20-07-2019

Horrible New England accent

The stories are very good but it is very difficult to listen to the actress reading them! She mispronounces words and has a very distinct New England accent. In the second book she kept saying obgine for OB/GYN. Very disconcerting! What is the director doing when she is butchering so many words!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Doris Kay Lincoln
  • Doris Kay Lincoln
  • 07-07-2019

Story not to be missed!!!

The most amazing Josie Quinn story yet! I love this series so very much. You’ve got to read this!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberly
  • Kimberly
  • 01-07-2019

Don’t Waste the Credit

I don’t like to write unkind reviews- but this book was awful.

Tried 2 times to listen to it, and maybe the book is actually good - but I can’t get past the narrator.

The heroine’s voice sounds like she is always pissed off - wake me up at 4:00 am cranky - and she seems to struggle with big words. This is a problem when there is a rather long forensic dialogue that she butchers. Sorry, just need to be honest. Maybe it’s me - but I tried to listen twice.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephen Trew
  • Stephen Trew
  • 21-08-2019

brilliant looking forward to book 4

excellent story line. can't wait for the next book. great series so far.lets get listening

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • 10-04-2019

The series keeps developing

The more the series continues the more the characters develop and you grow more invested in them. The story again is well told and keeps the reader engrossed. With each book in the series you connect crumbs dropped in earlier books that interweave the narrative drawing the reader in further with each book. This series was one of them where I was unsure as whether to get the second now I am looking forward th the next. A real grower.