Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When a tourist girl disappears on a vacation island - and the police investigation goes nowhere - 11-year-old local boy Billy Wheatley steps in to help.

He’s a little young to play detective, and he can’t tell anyone what he’s up to. But he's kind of a child prodigy, or at least, he thinks he is. Either way, he’s got a very good reason to want the police off his beach.

His style of investigation is unlike anything you’ve ever heard of before, but he gets results. Until the trail of clues leads uncomfortably close to home. Here, Billy begins to sense just how much danger he’s really in. And how the life he thought he was living hides a much darker truth. Because, the person who took the girl isn’t just someone he knows - it’s the only person he thought he could trust.

If Billy has any chance of bringing his adversary to justice - or even staying alive - he’s going to need every ounce of his unique ingenuity.

But how do you catch a killer when you're just a kid?

The Things You Find in Rockpools is the first in the USA and UK Amazon best-selling series with over 100,000 copies sold and thousands of international five-star reviews. Perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Adam Croft, KL Slater, and anyone who loves a gripping and utterly engrossing crime thriller.  

©2018 Gregg Dunnett (P)2018 Gregg Dunnett

What listeners say about The Things You Find in Rockpools

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

good story. too much cursing

I enjoyed the story a lot. It was longish, a bit very long, but interesting. Great idea for a story. Exciting toward the end, kept me on the edge of my seat. Would have been 4 stars if there had been no blasphemy. That spoils much for me. Not neccessary at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this new voice

Loved this book, and Billy. Maybe it's the pandemic but I find it hard to stick with anything unless the characters draw me in immediately. 'The Things You Find in Rockpools' is reminiscent of 'The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time' but with a lighter touch. I was totally immersed in this coastal world and Billy's projects. If I had to make any criticism, it's that the plot seemed to wander a bit and the denouement was a tad melodramatic; it didn't fit with the rest of the book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lindy
  • Lindy
  • 05-07-2018

A great mystery, I really enjoyed it!

This had some great twists and turns that I wasn’t expecting! I thought it was a great story, it definitely kept my interest!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff
  • Jeff
  • 15-06-2018

Suspenseful and Surprising

I was fascinated by Billy’s relationship with his father and the unique family dynamics. Highly encourage reading/listening to Gregg’s work. A fun time. Every time I thought I knew what happened, the story took an adventurous twist. Looking forward to his next work.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25-07-2018

Disappointed

It took forever for the story to start and then everything was suddenly solved in a few sentences. Very disappointed. Almost didn't finish it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ilse Gräter
  • Ilse Gräter
  • 18-12-2020

Great reading

From the first book leading up to the third book, the writing and suspense just gets better and better! By the last book I was hooked and could not stop even until the early hours of the morning (and I still had to work the next day). Would recommend Gregg's books to anyone who loves mystery and "detective" books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laurie A. Anderson
  • Laurie A. Anderson
  • 10-06-2020

Great Ride

This was great ride from beginning to end. To have the narrator start as a young boy made it at first seem like it would be a casual ride through boyhood. Then it takes a crazy ride and doesn't set you down until the end. The woman reading it did a wonderful job with the many characters and dialects throughout.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Delinda Coleman
  • Delinda Coleman
  • 23-05-2020

Awesome entertainment !!

Kept me entertained while doing some deep cleaning. Could not stop listening .A lot of twist and turns ! Expect the unexpected!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Rifflart
  • S. Rifflart
  • 09-05-2020

Really clever, refreshing story

I have read and now listened to this book which is a wonderfully refreshing take on a missing person mystery told mostly through the eyes of an extremely bright 11 year old. This British author knows his stuff when it comes to surfing and describes well the fictional island and the characters that inhabit it. If you like an interesting take on a murder mystery then this is for you

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Flansbury
  • Flansbury
  • 06-05-2020

Lots of Twists

Good characters and plot twists with the local as a big character. Ending is a little tidy but otherwise a great listen.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue S
  • Sue S
  • 25-10-2019

I can’t finish this

Nope! Not going to finish. Skimmed through the pages. I think it is cheating to switch perspectives 3/4 of the way through a book. If you start in first person narrative, you should stay in first person narrative. Unless you establish early on that you will be switching. Otherwise, it is just “too convenient” and breaks the writer/reader contract.

I’m still trying to finish. This is the longest, driest narrative I’ve read in a long time. And I used to read Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. The story is all tell, no show. And I guess I just don’t think like an 11 year old boy, because the rationale behind the investigation seems very flawed. I am not a psychiatrist, but if I had to guess, I would say the main character shows narcissistic tendencies with delusions of grandeur. Lol. Will update if I finish it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise Graf
  • Denise Graf
  • 15-10-2019

Had Us Hooked

My teenage son and I were HOOKED! We couldn’t wait for the next time we could listen together! And we have the attention span of a squirrel! GREAT JOB DUN ETT!!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dave H.
  • Dave H.
  • 24-08-2020

A good read!

Took a while to get used to the narrators voice but the story line was great with lots of twists to keep interest. A fab holiday read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-06-2020

I loved this book. The description was fabulous.

enjoyed the suspense the narrative and all the twists. Getting next one. Well worth it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-05-2020

brilliant

a really good story. slightly slow at first but gripping after that, finished listening to it in 2 days.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Muppet
  • Muppet
  • 10-05-2020

Loved the story

Great story, well narrated. Ending felt a bit rushed though. I'd like to better understand the motives and psychological state of the killer. Well worth the read though

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-05-2020

Read this whilst on my daily run!

A great read (listen) to take your mind off the boredom of running! I looked forward to my runs and didn't want them to finish. Just the right amount of suspense!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen johnson
  • Karen johnson
  • 25-04-2020

a well written tense thriller.

loved this book. it has several twists and the end had me holding my breath.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sparrow
  • Sparrow
  • 16-04-2020

Excellent, exciting, a twist in the tale.

This story started off slowly and gathered pace until it was running at breakneck speed towards the end.
The reader Mark was absolutely perfect for this story, a very professional job was done.
I recommend this book for anyone that enjoys an edge of the seat read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 24-08-2019

Fab

Really great book...great storyline... kept me guessing all the way through... and loved Billy... highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 24-08-2018

narrator is annoying with mispronounced words.

story started off ok, but became a clichéd sexist load of rubbish. really disappointing and the narrator kept mispronouncing words like buoy and shone. I thought this was written by a British author so don't understand the American narrator choice.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-01-2021

Good buy

Enjoyed this, very well written and narrated, worth a purchase if you like thrller/mystery books.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.