Get Your Free Audiobook

The Mozart Conspiracy

Ben Hope, Book 2
Narrated by: Colin Mace
Series: Ben Hope, Book 2
Length: 11 hrs and 37 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (54 ratings)

Non-member price: $20.28

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the number-one best-selling author. 

Former SAS operative Ben Hope is running for his life. Enlisted by the beautiful Leigh Llewellyn - world-famous opera star and Ben's first love - to investigate her brother's mysterious death, Ben finds himself caught up in a centuries-old puzzle. The official line states that Oliver died whilst investigating Mozart's death, but the facts don't add up. 

Oliver's research reveals that Mozart, a notable freemason, may have been killed by a shadowy and powerful splinter group of the cult. The only clues lie in an ancient letter, believed to have been written by Mozart himself. 

When Leigh and Ben receive video evidence of a ritual sacrifice being performed by hooded men, they realise the sect is still in existence today...and will stop at nothing to remain a secret. 

From the dreaming spires of Oxford to Venice's labyrinthine canals, the majestic architecture of Vienna, and Slovenia's snowy mountains, Ben and Leigh must forget the past and race across Europe to uncover the truth behind The Mozart Conspiracy.... An electrifying and utterly gripping must-listen for fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne and Ludlum's Bourne series.

©2009 Scott Mariani (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"James Bond meets Jason Bourne meets The Da Vinci Code." (J. L. Carrell, best-selling author of The Shakespeare Secret

"Deadly conspiracies, bone-crunching action and a tormented hero with a heart.... Scott Mariani packs a real punch." (Andy McDermott, best-selling author of The Secret Vault)   

"Full of authentic detail and heart-stopping action - a real thrill ride." (Ed Macy, author of the best-selling Apache)  

What listeners say about The Mozart Conspiracy

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

A heady mix of breathtaking manoeuvres, spice, global experiences and cringe-worthy experiences.... Ben Hope is certainly built to deal with the worst the world can offer but thankfully open to some tender moments to lighten the darker side. Packed with drama and intrigue, very cleverly composed. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A gripping thriller.

I thoroughly enjoyed this right up to the end, then it lost me. Stupid ending!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

love all Ben hope books

never fails to impress.. Narrator very good too. always a great character arc with Ben hope too

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Crime Thriller

After reading 3 of his books I am hooked. A great read, a wonderful narration. I can't wait to read his next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Audio quality

The audio seemed to fluctuate through out the reading. The story was enjoyable and look forward to further books by this author.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just a little predictable, unfotunately.

Boy loses girl meets girl again and from then on......well. Good performance though although I do not like the ziss vith zat of a German/Austrian accent.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Salter
  • Salter
  • 16-10-2018

Superb action thriller...!

A superbly exciting thriller from Scott Mariani. Ben Hope is back in action, this time he's on a mission to help an old flame investigate the death of her brother - who had been on the trail of a secret group involved in the death of Mozart. I found this story very compelling, and took any opportunity to listen! If you enjoy the 'edge of the seat' excitement of the likes of Mark Dawson - you'll absolutely love this. Very much in the style of the John Milton series. Very pleased to have come across this series, and can't wait to get stuck in to the remaining books! Very well narrated by Colin Mace.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian
  • Ian
  • 31-03-2015

Ben Hope is Superman!

Scott Mariani has really tried to make this book even more exciting than his first Ben Hope story, and it is packed with action. It has our hero, Ben Hope, struggling for his life, overcoming impossible odds with good luck and ingenuity, but getting his goal in the end.

The story relates to a theory that Mozart was killed by members of a secret society, the Order of Ra. The discovery of a letter he wrote to a friend shortly before his death, in which he expressed his fears that they would kill him for revealing details of their craft in The Magic Flute, has ignited action by Ra who want the letter destroyed. The letter had remained hidden for two centuries until it turned up during the restoration of an old piano, and a musician researching the story was murdered to prevent him making the letter public.

The death of the musician, Oliver Llewellyn, had been made to look like suicide. However, the musician's sister, Leigh Llewellyn, publicised her intention to continue with Oliver's research and this triggered a violent response from the secret society, which apparently still existed. Leigh asked Ben to help her find the manuscript, even though it meant revisiting a relationship which Ben had suddenly terminated when Leigh was nineteen, and together they fought the Order of Ra and found the manuscript.

The book has a well-constructed plot with lots of twists and some horrific detail, and the author brings in snippets of information about Mozart and about places in Europe. Everywhere that Ben goes, Ra is there with a violent response, and the collateral damage is a bit upsetting sometimes. Ben himself appears to be sheathed in Kevlar and will fight again.

Colin Mace made his narration somewhat staccato by always pausing after saying someone's name, but otherwise it was competent and characters were given distinctive and appropriate voices.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SilentFiddler
  • SilentFiddler
  • 18-06-2019

Excellent

What more can I say? intriguing plot , good characters,lots of action and 'heart in the mouth ' moments.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for weardalelad
  • weardalelad
  • 30-07-2020

not for me

didn't finish predictably boring change the plot find love killed i kill more set-off ok

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ronnie
  • ronnie
  • 31-05-2020

let's do the twist

just when you think it's safe another twist and you are off on another direction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LEA HUDSON
  • LEA HUDSON
  • 22-05-2020

love all the ben hope books

great story very well written and gripping hard to put the book down. a brilliant read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael
  • Michael
  • 25-08-2019

What a terrible Welsh accent.

Can’t imagine a famous Welsh Diva speaking so poorly. Sounds more like a Valley chip shop worker.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TW
  • TW
  • 19-08-2019

Truly an awesome adventure from start to finish

This is a fabulous adventure featuring the ex SAS Major Benedict Hope. Honestly I practically did this book in 2 sittings. It’s also the first time whilst listening to an audiobook that I found myself being vocal & talking to the ‘narrator’ as if he could hear me! There were lots of ‘OMGs’ and some long ‘no no no nooooos’ and an ‘oh just kiss her Ben!’. It is a really action packed adventure. I only gave 4 stars for narration because the welsh lilt of one of the characters seemed to transfer into the other accents; but it must be difficult chopping & changing from Welsh, to German, to English .... and a few other European accents too. Enjoy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-07-2019

brilliant

Loved it. couldn't put it down. now downloaded and looking forward to book 3 ....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sandra streeting
  • sandra streeting
  • 25-11-2018

A list of emotions I felt

Excitement, fear, anticipation,surprise, shock, joy, sadness and a dozen or more indescribable feelings at the action and drama that a well written book can portray.