Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The next Ben Hope thriller in the series which has sold millions of copies around the world.

When things get rough, we should all have a friend like Ben Hope....

Retired army Sergeant Boonzie McCulloch travels to the wintry Highlands of Scotland to help a relative in danger but is soon deeper in it himself than he’d bargained for. Ruthless, controlling thugs are running amok across the region and will kill anybody to get their hands on a historic hoard of lost gold treasure. But the villains haven’t reckoned on what’s coming their way. Because when you mess with an old comrade of ex-SAS Major Ben Hope, you’re bringing a whole world of trouble down on yourself. Once he gets started, he won’t stop until he gets the job done. With Hope on the war path, the snowy Highland wilderness is about to warm up considerably.... 

A gripping must-hear for fans of Jack Reacher and John Milton series. 

Whilst the Ben Hope thrillers can be listened to in any order, this is the 21st title in the series following House of War.

©2020 Scott Mariani (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Thrilling. Scott Mariani is at the top of his game." (Andy McDermott)

 "James Bond meets Jason Bourne meets The Da Vinci Code." (J. L. Carrell)

What listeners say about The Pretender’s Gold

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Probably his best Ben hope yet

A great and believable tale ,as always blending some historical theme together with fast and deadly action that only Ben Hope and Boonsey can deliver

I reckon it’s the best Ben Hope story so far !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Read all previous Ben Hope books. This is the first audio book from Scott Marian and it didn't dissapoint! Great listening, excellent narrative!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

action drama

another great action packed Scott Mariani book and Colin Mace as the Narrator can't wait to read another

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martin
  • Martin
  • 06-06-2020

among the better Ben Hope stories

Classic Ben Hope , but among the better of the series. not as far fetched as some. I am sure, that fans will enjoy this latest installment

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr Tony 88
  • Dr Tony 88
  • 26-06-2020

Excellent

Another excellent yarn with the indefatigable Ben Hope. You have to suspend belief a little, eg. Finding a pile of RDX explosive just lying around, but a very enjoyable story nonetheless. Colin Mace excellent as always.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-06-2020

Great as always.

Really enjoyed this one. Couldn't stop listening. Great story and can't wait for the next one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LEA HUDSON
  • LEA HUDSON
  • 11-06-2020

another Brilliant book

I love the way these books seem to bring the story to life and are very hard to put down.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-06-2020

Another masterpiece

Well what can I say, a superb rip roaring instalment for fans of Ben Hope.
I can’t wait for my next fix of escapism, keep up the great work Scott!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mich
  • Mich
  • 01-06-2020

Another fantastic story!!

From beginning to end, the storyline was fantastic with enough action to keep you captivated. I had awaited with much anticipation for the next offering from Scott Mariani and I was not disappointed. Colin Mace also brought the characters alive brilliantly. I listened in one sitting...well almost one sitting lol. I had to replay the last five chapters as I was determined to stay awake at 2:00am but tiredness got the better of me. Nonetheless I awoke an hour later and finished it :-).

It was a very good listen and would recommend this to avid action themed readers. If you have not followed this series, you could start here to whet your appetite and not be lost, as each book stands on its own. However, I guarantee you would want to explore the other adventures of Former Major Ben Hope.So go ahead and enjoy!

Thank you Mr Scott Mariani and Mr Colin Mace. I look forward to meeting you on the next adventure!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mollyeyre
  • mollyeyre
  • 29-05-2020

Excellent!

Another good story, full of tension and action. Really worth buying.

Scott Mariani writes great characters and one feels like cheering them on, and hopes all ends well!

Nicely read by Colin Mace

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for david
  • david
  • 27-08-2020

Excellent narration

A bit over the top and far fetched in places but I got to say I really enjoyed this listen. The narrator was excellent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 18-07-2020

another triumph Ben Hope rules

Get writing quicker Scott or longer books. Another brilliant book but gone far too quickly

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-01-2021

Excellent as usual

Just what you come to expect from the Ben hope series bring on the next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather D
  • Heather D
  • 08-11-2020

The Best Yet

I have read and listened to all the Ben Hope books but this was the best yet.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.