Try free for 30 days

  • The Last Thing He Told Me

  • By: Laura Dave
  • Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
  • Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (3,256 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Last Thing He Told Me cover art

The Last Thing He Told Me

By: Laura Dave
Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Over a million copies sold

The no.1 New York Times bestseller

Now a major TV series Starring Jennifer Garner

It was the last thing he told me: protect her

Before Owen Michaels disappears, he manages to smuggle a note to his new wife, Hannah: protect her. Hannah knows exactly who Owen needs her to protect - his teenage daughter, Bailey, who lost her mother tragically as a child. And who wants absolutely nothing to do with her new stepmother.

As her desperate calls to Owen go unanswered, his boss is arrested for fraud and the police start questioning her, Hannah realises that her husband isn't who he said he was. And that Bailey might hold the key to discovering Owen's true identity, and why he disappeared. Together they set out to discover the truth. But as they start putting together the pieces of Owen's past, they soon realise that their lives will never be the same again...

A beautiful and thrilling mystery, perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

©2021 Laura Dave (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"The ultimate page turner." (Reese Witherspoon)

"I adored this beautifully written thriller." (Jo Spain)

"Cancel all your plans before you start this one." (Chris Whitaker)

What listeners say about The Last Thing He Told Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,591
  • 4 Stars
    1,044
  • 3 Stars
    451
  • 2 Stars
    113
  • 1 Stars
    57
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,541
  • 4 Stars
    822
  • 3 Stars
    350
  • 2 Stars
    105
  • 1 Stars
    46
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,365
  • 4 Stars
    889
  • 3 Stars
    413
  • 2 Stars
    139
  • 1 Stars
    62

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story

Very different story, the narrator was excellent and so was the novel, loved this Audio

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Kept me interested

Started a bit slow but ended up quite a good book that I kept wanting to get back to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Was not what I expected.

love the way the subject of the story keep you interested from the 1st page to the last.
Enjoyed listening to the story, very well read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good read

Nothing earth moving or had biting my nails in suspense….. but still enjoyed the read and story line was ✅. Was probably expecting more of a interesting ending .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great mystery book

I really enjoyed this book, good pace and interesting story. Didn’t want it to end!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

the last thing he told me

liked the story and the relationshipas it developedbetween the two women..... but didn't like the narrator's voice

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it. Highly recommend

This book Had me hooked. Couldn't stop listening . Highly recommend. Left me wanting more and didn't want it to end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It had me from the get go

I enjoyed this book from the start to finish. Narrator was easy to listen to and the story was solid. I’m looking forward to seeing this develop into the screen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not stop listening

Once I started listening to this one I could not stop.
Thank you Laura, all the twists and turns but still you keep listening. Well written story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KM
  • 30-06-2021

Touching and raw

Powerful story! Glad I wasn’t in the protagonists position and forced to make the decisions she was faced.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.