Try free for 30 days

  • The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery

  • DCI Evan Warlow Crime Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Rhys Dylan
  • Narrated by: Joseph Tweedale
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery cover art

The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery

By: Rhys Dylan
Narrated by: Joseph Tweedale
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

You can bury the bodies, but you can’t hide the truth.

When a landslip on Pembrokeshire’s stunning coastal path reveals the harrowing remains of two bodies, ex-DCI Evan Warlow’s quiet retirement is shattered.

As the original investigator for the two missing persons eight years before, Evan is recalled to help with what is now a murder inquiry. But as the killer scrambles to cover up the truth, the body count rises.

Working with a new young team, Warlow peels away the layers to reveal the dark and rotten heart that beats beneath the chocolate box tranquillity of an area renowned for its quiet beauty.

But does he still have what it takes to root out the monstrous truth before all hell lets loose?

The Engine House is the gripping debut crime thriller set in the heart of wild Wales from author Rhys Dylan. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk. JM Dalgliesh and Simon McCleave. Celtic noir with a spatter of dark humour.

©2022 Rhys Dylan (P)2022 wyrmwood media

What listeners say about The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

All the makings of a great new series

So glad to have found this author and these characters. The story was a clever mix of crime and personal insights. Dylan has set up the mystery of the retired DCI and his journey back against some great characters and the makings of a crack team. Excellent narration and am looking forward to lots more!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Listen

Really enjoyed this book, The Narration was excellent, Loved the storyline, cant wait for more in this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Starts a bit slow but gets very interesting

It's a bit of a slow burner but it picks up in levels of interest. I like the story and the insightful side characters especially the woman who ends up living in the Engine House later on. Well written, unexpected story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

A great book. Looking forward to many more like this from this author. Highly recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stumbled upon this by chance. I love chance!!

What a great listen. The narrator is nothing short of superb and the story gripping with excellent characters. The scenery descriptions are marvellous and there is just the right amount of humour smattered in amongst it all. I truly can't wait to listen to more in this exciting series!! Highly recommended if you are a fan of 'DCI' type stories.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

OK. Just OK.

I can't say I was thrilled by this story. It seemed to have too many characters and the narrator read in a rather choppy, abrupt style which I found annoying.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too much chat, not enough action

I tried to like this but there wasn't enough police procedural or character depth for me. Lots of fairly boring chat among not-very-interesting people prevents the story from progressing at a consistent pace. Warlow has retired for a reason that he won't disclose to anyone ("it's like asking a woman her age") and is never really fleshed out. i suspect this might appeal to people who like tales of British village life for its own sake -- rather than crime thriller fans.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.