Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

DCI Craig Gillard will be pushed to his limits. But will he break? It seems like a routine disappearance, a case of musician’s stage fright. As a senior detective, Craig Gillard isn’t sure why he’s even involved. Until it turns out the woman’s father is the German minister of justice, and the British home secretary is on the case, too.  

But nothing about the case is simple. How does a woman on a train simply vanish? What do you do when a trail runs cold and the pressure is on?  

Before long the perpetrator has another target: DCI Gillard himself. What if the detective isn’t just running the case but is part of it? The victim merely a lure for a bigger fish.  

The answer is under the bridge. The chilling setting for the biggest challenge of his life.  

The latest DCI Gillard Crime Thriller is a knockout: fast and completely gripping, perfect for fans of Stuart Macbride, Mark Billingham and Robert Bryndza.

©2020 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body Under the Bridge

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Terrific story

What a great rave this is. Just loved it. I think I’m finer of men reading than women. This one is great. Can’t wait for the new one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 17-07-2020

Finished in one listen

Best so far in series. The plot was so complicated and the various chases so suspense filled that my heart is still pounding. Ingenious and written with spare eloquence. York's performance gives full life to Louth's outstanding prose. A truly loathsome trickster, con artist, sex criminal and killer challenges Craig and all his colleagues to a deadly race against time and technology, with Sam's and other women's lives at stake. Tiny peeve: I wish Craig would stop hating his aunt's innocent cats. Otherwise, he's the perfect crime novel hero.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 23-07-2020

3

This book is just too much for me.
The first part's criminal procedural does perk along on its tight copland way with the complex mystery of a young woman's disapearance. It is the over the top last part of the boot hat proves so annoying. Dreaming up a horrible ending, and did I add -long- long- long way to the end?
save ypurccredit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marydior
  • Marydior
  • 04-08-2020

Fantastic listen!

An entertaining police procedural with many twists and turns. Although it is #4 or #5 in the series it stands on its own, Excellent narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ted
  • Ted
  • 18-12-2020

Gillard Solves Another One - Coldly

I enjoy Craig Gillard, his wife, his ensemble... the whole lot of them. Louth's among the best of the current crop of Brits writing mystery fiction. He satisfies me and I'll keep listening.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-08-2020

Wonder series!

I binge listened to all of these wonderful books. Thank you,dear author, you kept me on the edge of my seat.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EveryContinent
  • EveryContinent
  • 25-07-2020

Intricately-woven nail biter

Very interesting and unexpected. Superb narration. Many characters but was able to keep up. Greatly enjoyed learning of sophisticated phone tracking methods. Fast moving and enjoyable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rick
  • Rick
  • 05-10-2020

Good, if unbelievable

Late in the book an investigator makes a comment ....What is the point of something so elaborate. I found myself thinking that long before. I enjoyed the book overall. It starts as a straightforward, and interesting missing person case but morphs into a overly complex kidnapping and revenge plot. The complex nature of the villain's plan borders on the ridiculous. The villain somehow manages 5 or 6 separate seductions, I lost track...multiple identities and technological wizardry. Many of these connections cross into the lives of several members of the police department. The likelihood it could all be pulled off without getting caught is beyond unbelievable. It could have been a much better book if he kept focus on an investigation of the missing girls and left out the revenge plot.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 29-09-2020

Thrilling!!

Nick Louth is always writing books that keep my heart racing while listening to them. He’s a clever author and I cannot wait for the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 25-05-2021

Five books into this series..

And the best way to describe it (compared to the rest of the genre) is like bowling with bumpers.

Fortunately, that can still be enjoyable. Not as enjoyable to be honest. But still worth the time spent. And the characters in this series make it worth the time.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lulu
  • lulu
  • 22-05-2021

weak link in the series

I have enjoyed the books up to this one. this one didn't work for me.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 21-07-2020

Outstanding

This is one truly twisted story, full of more surprises than I've seen in an age, totally bizarre and I'm sure many will say unrealistic but frankly, life is often unrealistic (mine has been) and any criminal can be as inventive as an author so how can a story be unrealistic?

This is brilliant, the best in this fabulous series so far, totally recommended.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deirdre
  • Deirdre
  • 27-07-2020

DCI Gillard - best yet

The 5th installment of the DCI Gillard books is the best yet. It kept me awake at night in a rush to get to the next chapter and figure out what was going to happen to many great characters in the book. Fascinating, multi layered missing person case that does not disappoint. Highly recommend

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-08-2020

Loved the book but some facts not quite right

I loved the book and look forward to the next instalment. Just one little thing. I’m a celebrant and I work at Croydon Crematorium very often. Croydon is one of the few that does not have the facility to live stream or record.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. C. Robinson
  • Mr. C. Robinson
  • 25-07-2020

A superb listen

A wonderful performance by Marston York.
Excellently written with a brilliant story line .
Can’t wait for the next one.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Niki Bell
  • Niki Bell
  • 22-10-2020

Brilliant!

Brilliant story as always, this is a great detective series with great plots. Highly recommend, Listen to the whole series so worth it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tegan's mum
  • Tegan's mum
  • 07-10-2020

Excellent story

This was an excellent story, right to the end, full of twists and turn. It was well read and I highly recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for nicholas thomas
  • nicholas thomas
  • 05-08-2020

outstanding

listened to it in two sittings, time flew and the plot kept twisting and turning. Brilliant.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sharlene lewis
  • sharlene lewis
  • 21-07-2021

Believable characters and a good read.

The pace was a little slow but it all came together perfectly. some surprising twist. in all I would definitely recommend this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for r m.
  • r m.
  • 15-07-2021

Least favourite so far.

Good book, but my least favourite so far. Good plot, but could have been strung out more like the previous books, few more twists ect. On to the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola
  • Nicola
  • 08-06-2021

Recommended

Glad I persevered with this series. This is the best yet I think with lots of twists and turns.

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.