Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $25.82

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

He was never truly gone, only biding his time....

Late on midsummer's night there is a splash in the river Thames. A body is found on an island, asphyxiated and laced with strange markings. For DCI Craig Gillard it's a baffling case. The victim's identity is elusive, clues are scarce and every witness has something to hide.

Meanwhile one of Britain's deadliest serial killers is finally up for parole after a deal to reveal the location of two missing bodies. The felon has his own plans to get even with witnesses, accusers and the officer who caught him 30 years before. And who was that? A young trainee by the name of Gillard.

An explosive crime thriller from master storyteller Nick Louth, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Cara Hunter and Robert Bryndza.

©2020 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Island

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Triffic

I so enjoy nick louths writing. He does have a wild imagination. This was great. Except for the narrators who was rather limited in the characters he did. He needs to extend his performances.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cdigo
  • cdigo
  • 11-12-2020

Worst of the Gillard books

Although Marston York has read all the Gillard books there is something different about this reading, kind of droned on. The premise was bizarre, not even remotely realistic. So glad its over

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CehTex
  • CehTex
  • 31-10-2020

Great series!

A complex and intriguing mystery. Plenty of hateful villains to cheer against and a bizarre answer to a couple of mysterious deaths. The new female detective added to the squad is a great addition to the series. Keep ‘em coming please, Mr. Louth!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Hanson
  • Linda Hanson
  • 20-12-2020

Disappointing & Very Creepy

I really like this series and so picked it up this new title right away. Sad to say I nearly returned it a few minutes in- I wish I had. It was.just too creepy & gross. I hope i can get some of the images out of my mind very soon.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for manny rothman
  • manny rothman
  • 04-11-2020

The Body on the Island

Was a great book with great characters and great action with a great story and a great ending looking forward to the next book thanks 💪🤠🍷

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rick
  • Rick
  • 15-01-2021

Ridiculous solution

I have enjoyed all of Louth's books so far. He is a good story teller and creates interesting mysteries populated with mostly likeable regular characters. That was the case with the first four books. The fifth book became a bit silly in the totally unrealistic actions of the villain. This one breaks his success streak more completely. It starts with an intriguing murder but gets muddled with two separate story lines and less memorable characters. Two are portrayed so similarly that I am still not sure if I am mixing them up. Then there is the solution to the mystery. I normally avoid talking about any element of a solution in a review so as not to spoil the books, so I will only speak about one element of it. It is not a good sign that it moved me to exclaim out loud..."You have got to be kidding." It is the most ridiculous end to a murder mystery that I have ever read. It is also a concern that this book repeats some problematic elements of the last book. A pile up of overly coincidental connections among the characters and a seeming revenge plot out of Gillard' past. Marston York does his usual excellent work in reading the story. Hopefully the next book improves after two let downs

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Larry
  • Larry
  • 16-11-2020

Continues to be a great series!

A very enjoyable book with some plot twists that were very creative, so much so that they were completely unanticipated. Kudos to Nick Louth for keeping these characters fresh.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Micah Burke
  • Micah Burke
  • 13-11-2020

Took me by surprise

I've listened to all the DCI Gillard books so far, and generally they've been pretty good but I've usually been able to figure out the killer and often felt the clues came in the last chapter of the book fast and by accident. This all changed with The Body on the Island. I was truly left in complete suspense until the last chapters when the killer was revealed, and believe me, it was a shock. Unlike other books where the killer is revealed in a shocking manner, this was completely believable and it's clear Louth did homework for this story. The details were a bit nauseating but I was truly impressed to be so blind-sided and actually applauded when the criminal was revealed. Great read.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 23-11-2020

absurd

normally I really enjoy these books but the story line on this one was frankly bonkers. it really didn't move the ongoing story line on with the regular characters and the new characters were like caricatures of real people. hopefully the next one will be back to normal.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms K Sheard
  • Ms K Sheard
  • 16-01-2021

Not the best

I have enjoyed the other books by Nick Louth, but this was not up to his usual standard. The characters seemed superficial, and the reveal not unexpected. Not a bad book, but a bit disappointing.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jody Taylor
  • Jody Taylor
  • 14-01-2021

Enjoyed but see why others find it a little far fetched

Love this series of books. Enjoyed the story and yes, it is a little far fetched but it didn’t hinder my overall liking of it. Looking forward to number 7 when it is available.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan
  • Susan
  • 06-01-2021

Bizarre story

Not the best of the series but full of twists. Some of the character voices are terrible but worth a listen overall

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EastAnglianwriter
  • EastAnglianwriter
  • 04-01-2021

The narrator really isn't working for this book

I'm half way through and Instead of finding myself lost in the story which i have with previous Nick Louth books, and this series in particular, I'm pulled and pulled up time and again by the poor narration - Although it is the same narrator from previous books in this one the reading sounds leaden and the women's voices are out of kilter - the Scottish female officer sounds like a hairy truck driver and a couple of the others really robotic - I'm losing the story and the sense of the characters in amongst the clumsy narration

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wendy
  • wendy
  • 09-12-2020

Awful ending

I was truly offended by the perverse ending of this book. I could never recommend buying this book. It is a shame because I have enjoyed the author’s previous books.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisy
  • Daisy
  • 06-12-2020

Laughable

This story line was a little absurd. I love this series, however this book had me laughing out loud at the ‘gruesome’ murder reveal. I’m chuckling now just thinking about how ridiculous it was, I’ve even spoken about this book to several different people because I thought it was so bizarre. . I would say it’s still worth a listen, but it’s a bit different from the others.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CM
  • CM
  • 04-11-2020

Love this series

I have enjoyed all the books in this series, including this one . Fab narration . Great characters .

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.