Get Your Free Audiobook

The Accusation

Narrated by: Casey Withoos
Length: 8 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

Non-member price: $16.54

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Somebody is lying.

After 18-year-old Ellie Canning is found shivering and barely conscious on a country road, her bizarre story of kidnap and escape enthralls the nation. Who would do such a thing? And why?

Local drama teacher Suzannah Wells, once a minor celebrity, is new to town. Suddenly, she's in the spotlight again, accused of being the monster who drugged and bound a teenager in her basement. As stories about her past emerge, even those closest to her begin to doubt her innocence.

And Ellie? The media can't get enough of her. She's a girl-power icon, a social-media star. But is she telling the truth?

A powerful exploration of the fragility of trust and the loss of innocence, from the author of The Golden Child and The Mistake.

Praise

"James brilliantly takes this historical true crime and updates it to the internet age." (Cameron Woodhead, Sydney Morning Herald)

"This satisfying novel perfectly captures our current world, saturated by social media, obsessed by beautiful victims and easily identified villains, and quick to judge and condemn.... This is a gripping novel with plenty of twists, underpinned by acute observations about society." (Good Reading Magazine)

"The Accusation will grip you from page one.... Intelligent, suspenseful, and masterfully paced, with a killer twist in the tail, The Accusation is domestic noir at its best, perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Caroline Overington and Liane Moriarty." (Better Reading)

"The Accusation is Australian crime writing at its best, showcasing the great talent of Australian women writers out there today. It deserves all the hype! A brilliant book, very highly recommended." (But Books are Better blog)

"The way the book was structured really gave it an inventive feel.... Highly recommended." (Katrina Ferguson and Kathryn Ryan, Radio New Zealand)

©2019 Wendy James (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Woohoo congratulations

Where do you start, at the beginning.
From start to finish...I listened to it driving and to my sitting position house ,
Sat on the speed limit even slowed down.
Each character from Mary to the others in this storyline are very different.
how easy it is for accusations to be.
A MUST READ BOOK
,

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Flick
  • Australia
  • 09-06-2019

loved it.

fantastic book, could not turn it off. definitely worth a listen or read (great narrator as well)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful