Try free for 30 days

  • Southpaw

  • Robert Hoon Thrillers, Book 2
  • By: JD Kirk
  • Narrated by: Angus King
  • Length: 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (444 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Southpaw cover art

Southpaw

By: JD Kirk
Narrated by: Angus King
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $28.00

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Ex-Police Scotland detective Bob Hoon has made himself some powerful enemies.

Following his brutal search for the missing daughter of an old army colleague, Hoon is being hunted by the Loop, a secretive criminal cabal with members in very high places and a tendency to eliminate all those who stand against it.

Unfortunately for them, Hoon has never been one to back down from a fight, and he isn’t about to start now. Instead, he’s going to burn their whole damn organization to the ground.

But first, he’s going to have to get inside.

He may be a foulmouthed, hard-drinking psychopath with a death wish, but Bob Hoon is about to do something he hasn’t done in years.

He’s going undercover.

Hear the second explosive Robert Hoon Thriller from million-selling crime author JD Kirk - perfect for fans of Lee Child, Robert Ludlum, and David Baldacci.

“Jog on, Bond. Hoon is the hero we need!” (Angus King)

©2022 JD Kirk (P)2022 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Southpaw

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    378
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    376
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    339
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

funny AF

Thankyou for creating Bob Hoon. Hilarious. Foul-mouthed. The anti hero that made me laugh out loud so many times. Brilliant 👏 👏 👏
Highly recommended . Not for the faint hearted . An appreciation of extreme swearing essential.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Once again a fantastic book the second one in this series. It is very descriptive but entertaining
I would like to see the epileptic butterfly. Looking forward to no 3

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It’s a lot of Bob Hoon

I love Bob but it is quite violent so I skipped a bit at times. Nevertheless very satisfying.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved everything about this!

I felt sad that this book ended! I could listen to Angus Kings voice forever and I just love the visualizations throughout the book - had me laughing out loud and getting weird looks from passers by ;)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

J.D Kirk(Barry J Hutchinson)out does himself again

Barry j Hutchinson has created a beast of Character in Bob Hoon.
the first book was amazing and I didn't think you could top it ..but dammmmmmmm this was outstanding ..if you liked the first book, you have to ...you must get this book ..it will not disappoint...the only thing I didn't like was I finished it in 2 days ..I was left wanting more and more of the beast Bob Hoon!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bob Hoon the f’kin anti-f’kin-hero for our times

Once again proving that DCI Jack Logan is just the master’s apprentice and struggles in the wake of his disgraced mentor Bob Hoon. This one was another cracker from JD Kirk. Hoon is a complex character, a melding of Billy Connolly, the Terminator and the Equaliser all in one (not the Queen Latifah version). Lots of action packed excitement served with lots of laughs in this one

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Square sausage aka Lorne sausage

Another bo***ck busting rip roaring Hoon tale, with closure! But forget the square sausage and don’t you dare mention rowies!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Love Bob Hoon he is a funny hero Angus King is brilliant love his voices thanks JDKirk love all your books got them all.xx

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Furk Me Bob

Bob Hoon is a character of comedic scale and Glaswegian grimness and the plot is more a brawler cartwheel than Southpaw jab. Ultimately a limited shelf life but would make a great DieHard VIX this Christmas in the cinemas.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!!!

Loved this book. Hoon is my favourite. I love how JD Kirk incorporates characters from other series, brings characters momentarily back into the story line. Angus king is the best narrator. Overall I can’t stop listening. Hoon is a modern day More offensive Liam Neeson.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.