Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Don’t miss the first novel in a gripping series featuring DI Clare Mackay, perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. S. Butler and Rachel Amphlett.  

On the night of a wedding celebration, one guest meets a grisly end when he’s killed in a hit-and-run. A card bearing the number ‘five’ has been placed on the victim’s chest. DI Clare Mackay, who recently moved to join the St Andrews force, leads the investigation. 

The following night another victim is struck down and a number ‘four’ card is at the scene. Clare and her team realise they’re against the clock to find a killer stalking the streets and bent on carrying out three more murders. 

To prevent further deaths, the police have to uncover the link between the victims. But those involved have a lot more at stake than meets the eye. If Clare wants to solve the case, she must face her own past and discover the deepest secrets of the victims - and the killer. 

©2019 Marion Todd (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

“Marion Todd’s welcome addition to the genre feels like a breath of fresh, tartan noir air.” (Scottish Field

What listeners say about See Them Run

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised.

This was a genuine "couldn't stop listening" experience for me. Such a delight to find a new "tartan noir" series I feel I can stick with. The author as narrator was really very good - I wasn't expecting that at all. The ending was a wee bit drawn out and rambling but I will certainly be buying more Marion Todd books.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Hartmann
  • C. Hartmann
  • 25-08-2020

Excellent Scottish Procedural - Super Narrator

This is a great police procedural. The main characters are well developed, the story engaging, and the plot honest--no magic and no deus ex machina ending. Although I am wary of authors who narrate their own work, this was really, really good. I would like to hear her do other books as well. Will be looking forward to Detective MacKay's next case....hope it is soon.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bella Rosa
  • Bella Rosa
  • 17-08-2020

Surprisingly good narration by the author

I'm generally suspicious of authors reading their own work, with a scant few notable exceptions. I'm happy to say Marion Todd has joined the ranks of multi-talented authors who can double as their own voice talent. I quite enjoyed her narration. This has potential to be a promising police procedural series. Loads of conflict possibilities seeded for future novels but without a lot of obvious staging. My only complaint is that things wrapped up a little too neatly, but the build up to that point was grand. Looking forward to following Clare and her team on their next case.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-10-2020

Intriguing

love it. was both compelling and complex enough to grab and keep attention. being narrated my author was a plus as she provided the inflection needed for believability.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 29-09-2021

A new author for me; a good series start

Quite good! I’m usually not a fan of authors narrating their own books. This isn’t the best narration I’ve heard but it wasn’t bad.

I enjoyed the story. Clare has a backstory that’s still hanging over her head. The other members of her team will be interesting to learn more about. A multiple murder investigation turns into something much more sinister.

I’m glad this is the first in a series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ecole
  • ecole
  • 17-07-2021

Needs a new narrator!

This book could have been a five star easy with a better narrator. This one hands down has the least amount of energy and emotion of any narrator I've ever heard. Every character sounded exactly the same and none of them had any emotion at all - it was like the narrator was a robot. It's a shame because I was looking forward to a great new series but don't know if I can force myself to listen to book 2.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carrie Hood
  • Carrie Hood
  • 06-06-2021

Would be better with a professional narrator

Being a fan of Val McDermid, Rachel Lynch, Rachel Amphlett and similar crime fiction writers, I was keen to give Ms. Todd’s novel a go. However, the narration was, sadly, subpar compared to the professional narrators that are traditionally used, making it harder to get thru the book and taking away from the quality of the writing itself.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for StL Reader
  • StL Reader
  • 03-02-2021

Too much procedure, flat characters

The first third is just too much detailed procedure, much of which may be truer to life, but is dull. Also a lot of navel gazing by the lead. The characters have interesting backstories, but that doesn’t make them interesting in the present. Any character interaction is stiff. And, a reader can figure out the basics of what is going on well before the halfway point.

I like an interesting procedural, but this is too much procedure and not enough interesting - either in plot or characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for san2har
  • san2har
  • 16-08-2020

excellent read

Clare, a DI has relocated from Glasgow to St Andrews after a shooting incident. It becomes clear that a serial killer is at work and that the victims are connected in some way. We follow Clare and her team working hard to identify the killer.

the writing is clear and precise and the narrator, who is also the author, does an excellent job. The ending is wrapped up rather neatly but on the whole this is a good police procedural. i have warmed to the characters and hope for more in what promises to be a good series

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Loraine Brennan
  • Loraine Brennan
  • 22-07-2021

Poorly Written and Narrated

Really disappointed with this story, it was poorly written, very amateur and badly researched (who ever heard of police officers in Scotland referring to their uniformed colleagues as 'cops'?)
I persevered to the end but found the story slow and lacklustre, not helped by the deadpan narration. The author did her own narration and I had hoped that she would bring real drama to the words but sadly she just read as if she was reading a book to herself. My advice is don't waste a credit by purchasing this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayjor
  • Wayjor
  • 18-10-2021

Ignore negative comments about narration!

I’ve actually just finished book 4 in this series and am so glad I ignored comments about poor narration! It took me 5 minutes to get used to the author’s/reader’s voice and I found her excellent; very natural and with enough subtle distinction between the voices that I knew who was speaking. I loved these books! This first is a scene-setter but also a really good story in is own right. I didn’t expect to enjoy them so much, but got hooked and grew to care about the characters, who are so excellently written. Book one is fab, but I found each story better than the last, which shows the growth of the author, whose work I will definitely be following. I hope there will be more books in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine Watson
  • Christine Watson
  • 17-06-2021

Interesting story line

Good story but it took time to get into the book, the narrator was lacking in emotion and interest, I found the reading to be flat, but persevered.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon. Kindall
  • Simon. Kindall
  • 30-07-2021

Enjoyable

I seem to be very much in to Scottish crime series's and no I'm not Scottish, I found this series and wanted to give it a try this is the first book I have listened to having the author as narrator.
The story is gripping and Clare is someone you can easily take to, an experienced cop who has come through the ranks from Glasgow to the rural St Andrews. Can Clare solve these murders in time? Plenty of suspects to ponder on.
Marion does a good job of narrating as far as I know she isn't a trained actor and I don't agree with another reviewer saying her narration is flat it isn't. I am now on the 3rd book and enjoying the series very much

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stuart
  • Stuart
  • 22-04-2021

gripping

loved the story line and the various twists which kept me guessing easy to listen to narration - also good to recognise many of places mentioned!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GAIL MCGOWAN
  • GAIL MCGOWAN
  • 11-04-2021

Great start to a series.

Really enjoyed this book and will move straight on to number 2 in the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patricia
  • Patricia
  • 05-02-2021

Another Scottish Writer- I am excited!

Marian drew me on and I enjoyed listening to this book - so much so that I immediately bought the next in the series.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.