Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The darkest secrets often hide in plain sight....

When a body is found on a lonely cliff top path, the angelic face of a murdered teenager lies facing the rising sun. Strangled by the hands of an unknown killer, it falls to DI Tom Janssen and his fledgling team to find out how she came to be there.

Destined for a career in medicine, one to rival that of her parents, Holly Bettany’s future was as bright as it had been privileged. Seemingly, all that could threaten this promising teenager’s life was Holly herself.

In an idyllic coastal setting, Janssen must unpick the layers of deceit within a close-knit community that threaten to reveal scandal at every turn. Holly had a secret...and she knew the secrets of others. 

Who was prepared to kill in order to keep them hidden? What happens if another comes to know what she did? One thing is certain - a brutal killer has no boundaries....

Set within the mysterious beauty of coastal Norfolk, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with a little humor and a touch of romance, one that will keep you guessing until the very end when the final shocking twist is revealed.

One Lost Soul is the explosive debut in a new series of thrillers from Amazon number one best-selling crime writer JM Dalgliesh, the author of the Dark Yorkshire books. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, and Damien Boyd.

©2019 J M Dalgliesh (P)2020 J M Dalgliesh

What listeners say about One Lost Soul

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay

Story was a little predictable, liked the narration, story seemed tone more about the DCI rather than the DI

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A true to life story

Another Dalgliesh masterpiece, an easy paced and true to life story that draws you in and makes you believe. Likeable characters made an enjoyable read, with the additional hint of a growing relationship brewing in the background. I love the dulcet tones of Greg Patmore, ‘twas a perfect narration.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GoForItOldLady
  • GoForItOldLady
  • 06-12-2020

Common

Very common elements, though not entirely uninteresting. The narration is off-putting. The narrator’s inflections sound offhand, as though he’s not really very interested.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronnie Ingledew
  • Ronnie Ingledew
  • 09-12-2020

Great story

I’ve been waiting for this on Audible and it didn’t fail. Brilliant story Greg Patmore’s Narration was excellent
Can’t wait for the next one!!!!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-01-2021

Great read but...

Bought the Kindle book first and tried the audible after five chapters to hear what it was like.
The reader was too slow and worse couldn't pronounce his RRs which is really annoying!
Otherwise a good read.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ms
  • ms
  • 26-01-2021

I enjoyed it

I enjoyed the book. The storyline was good. The narrator was fair. The characters were interesting. It has left me wanting to listen to the next book.

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.