Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Door to Door cover art

Door to Door

By: T.L. Brown
Narrated by: Elyse Osterhaug
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Two worlds collide when Emily Swift turns 30, and her late father’s journal lands on her doorstep....

Seventeen years after Emily Swift’s father died, a door is opened to a new world, an Empire led by peculiar men and women called Salesmen–transporters of magical items. These Salesmen have the unique ability to travel from place to place, and even world to world, simply by stepping through the “right” door. Now that Emily is 30, it turns out that she can “door travel” too, stumbling unplanned into kitchens, bathrooms, and alleyways as her connection to the Salesman Empire is revealed. 

Fueled by the cryptic notes and sketches in her father’s journal, Emily discovers the real reason behind his death: he was targeted and assassinated by the Fringe, a terrorist group of rogue Salesmen. After an attack that leaves an innocent woman dead, a rare book containing clues to the whereabouts of the Crimson Stone is missing. Emily is charged with getting it back. As she races through the Empire, she pursues John Templeton, the mysterious Salesman with extraordinary abilities, who seems to help and undermine Emily at whim. 

With new friends Anne Lace and the seemingly-boyish Rabbit, she tracks Templeton, but the Fringe is not far behind–as two new murders prove. Along the way, Emily struggles to balance her desire to find out who killed her father against the task of recovering the legendary stone. The internal journey of reconciling the father she hardly knew with the great leader she’ll never know forms the foundation for a fast-paced race to keep powerful magic out of violent, fanatical hands.

©2020 Tracy Brown-Simmons (P)2023 Tracy Brown-Simmons

©2020 Tracy Brown-Simmons (P)2023 Tracy Brown-Simmons

More from the same

What listeners say about Door to Door

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie Haupt-The Reading Frenzy
  • Debbie Haupt-The Reading Frenzy
  • 01-11-2023
Listener received this title free

A Funtastic first in a new supernatural series

Door to Door
T.L. Brown

Door To Door, first in T.L.(Tracy) Brown’s supernatural mystery series is a fantastical delight, a wild ride into another world filled with strange and wonderful people, places and things and of course some despicable evil doers as well and featuring a clueless Emily Swift as her protagonist. Her plot is unique and engaging and will keep listeners interest from the eye-opening beginning to the expectant end and is very refreshing in a genre containing a lot of same old, same old. There are many curious characters that the audience will meet through the story both good and bad like Emily’s BFF Tara, her boyfriend Jack, and the mysterious Templeton. But it’s definitely Emily that is the real stand-out star of the show; she’s the rare example of acing her magical on the job door to door training, all the while trying to stay alive to be able to get back to tackle the problems she left behind in her own world. Fans of Angie Fox or Joss Walker will love this book.

Narration:
Elyse Osterhaug does a bang-up job of narrating this book, she’s a fantastic Emily and does a good job with the other voices both male and female. She also does a great job of putting emotions just where they belong making her audience gasp, shiver and laugh at just the right moments.

On Emily Swift’s 30th birthday she expects a quiet dinner with her boyfriend Jack but instead gets some unexpected and unusual gifts, first her beloved deceased father’s work journal shows up on her doorstep, then she’s followed by a top hat wearing stranger who seems to disappear into thin air, and she oh gets an unexpected trip to a parallel universe.
Emily only knew her father was a Salesman but soon learns from her new mentor into magic that it was so much more than just a job and that she as his eldest should have been let in on his little secret as she is supposed to inherit the position. But instead, she’s jumping from the frying pan into the fire when she discovers that this new world, the Empire is in the middle of a civil war with a disgruntled faction known as the Fringe who have killed to get what they want and may have been responsible for her father’s death. She’s also determined to keep Jack in the know about her new vocation unlike her father who kept she and her mother in the dark. But all that’s turning out to be harder than she thought when she’s having trouble just trying to stay out of danger and alive long enough to get back to her own world. But she’s sure she’ll figure it all out, eventually.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kimbacaffeinate
  • kimbacaffeinate
  • 21-09-2023
Listener received this title free

genre-bending, cozy, paranormal murder-mystery

Emily Swift’s world takes a turn when her deceased father’s journal appears on her doorstep on her thirtieth birthday. It’s been over seventeen years since her father’s tragic death. It seems her father was a salesman for another realm. He traveled through doors, transporting magical items, and wearing a top hat. As Emily reads the journal, she discovers that she, too, can travel through doors. With no training, she accidentally stumbles into kitchens, bathrooms and more. But danger is lurking and someone is seeking something for nefarious purposes.

As we learn about the alternate world of Empire, Emily soon finds herself in danger and questioning her father’s death. The tale that unfolds has a cozy murder-mystery vibe steeped in fantasy. Author T.L. Brown quickly pulled me in from Rabbits to the mysterious Fringe.

Emily’s mission is to locate the Crimson Stone, an influential artifact. During her travels, she’ll need to be bold and choose whom to confide in. Emily’s discoveries made the world come to life with vivid detail. I loved adventure, danger, and discovery. The story flowed well, and the danger built. I found myself unable to set the audiobook down.

There are currently three books in the Door to Door Mystery series and I am hoping the author brings the next two books to audio. Elyse Osterhaug does a lovely job of giving voice to Emily and setting the tone of the story. Her narration enhanced the tale and I hope to continue in this format.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katara31921
  • Katara31921
  • 11-09-2023
Listener received this title free

Draws you in!!

I can't wait for book two! This was such a great story and draws you in so fast!!! Definitely worth the read!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill-Elizabeth (Jill Franclemont)
  • Jill-Elizabeth (Jill Franclemont)
  • 15-07-2023
Listener received this title free

a fabulous version of a fabulous tale

I read the book when it first came out, and adored it - and I have to say that the audiobook does it full justice. The narrator is fantastic and captures the essence of the characters and the story perfectly. This was a fantastic listen, and I can't wait for the next in the series!

Thanks to the author for my obligation-free review copy.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.