Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $30.38

Buy Now for $30.38

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A heartbreaking, powerful true story from Sunday Times best-selling author Maggie Hartley, Britain's most-loved foster carer. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Casey Watson.

Foster carer Maggie Hartley is used to all manner of children arriving on her doorstep, but nothing can prepare her for sisters Billy and Bo when they arrive at her home. It is clear from the moment she sets eyes on them that four-year-old Bo and seven-year-old Billy have clearly been subjected to unimaginable neglect, and it takes all of Maggie's skills as a foster carer to try to connect with the volatile little girls, who seem far younger than their years. 

Over time, the little girls slowly emerge from their shells, and Maggie begins the difficult task of trying to gain their trust. But as time goes on, it becomes clear that there is something much darker going on, something that will call into question everything Maggie has ever learned in all her years as a foster carer....

©2021 Maggie Hartley (P)2021 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about A Sister's Shame

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a sister's shame

I loved this story ❤ I loved the foster carer such as I have fostered 5 children. she is so kind and caring.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew
  • Andrew
  • 20-07-2021

Boring - bad narration

I will go back to Cathy glass for my foster care books. I made myself finish it but it was not my fave.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LeAnn
  • LeAnn
  • 27-05-2021

Tears

the ugly truth , who's to blame?
high price for being born In shame,
all they knew was wrong

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 26-04-2021

Overly fixating on the children's weight

The way she spoke about the children was insensitive. I know that childhood obesity is a very touchy subject. Unfortunately I felt that she missed the mark on this one. Constantly bringing attention to an overweight individuals body can cause more harm than good in the long run. Things like a yo-yo dieting, depression body dysmorphia...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanne wilson
  • joanne wilson
  • 01-05-2021

what a great book, Maggie you have done it again.

I really enjoyed listening to a sisters shame.
Maggie Hartley is a fantastic carer, mother ,and grandma.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ian mcnamara
  • ian mcnamara
  • 26-04-2021

Another great story.

Another really good read. It was horrible to read what the children went through but it is encouraging that there are carers like Maggy out there who want to help them.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emily
  • Emily
  • 24-04-2021

Well written and narrated as usual, but...

Too short! It feels mean to say as Maggie is amazing and I love her books, but I don't think it was necessary to have a cliffhanger in a fostering memoir. I don't want to include any "spoilers" but I feel like the ending could have been concluded- now we have to wait until December to find out what happens :( an audio book less than 6 hours seems like a rip-off to be honest

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Lockwood
  • Mary Lockwood
  • 14-06-2021

Very good read

Very good book to listen too. She is very good author she tell the truth

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Munchie
  • Munchie
  • 05-06-2021

Shocking but one of the best

This book was so shocking, it had me gripped from the very beginning. I loved the narrator, and maggie as always told billy and bo's story beautifully, it was moving, poignant, and I devoured it in one sitting.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.