Get Your Free Audiobook

A Perfect Cornish Summer

Narrated by: Laura Kirman
Series: Porthmellow Harbour, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 41 mins
3.9 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Escape to Cornwall with this gorgeous new series from Phillipa Ashley – perfect for fans of Nicola May and Holly Martin.

Summer is on the horizon and the people of Porthmellow are eagerly awaiting the annual food festival. At least, most of them are.... 

For Sam Lovell, organising the summer festival in her hometown is one of the highlights of her year. It’s not always smooth sailing, but she loves to see Porthmellow’s harbour packed with happy visitors and being on the committee has provided a much-needed distraction from the drama in her family life (and the distinct lack of it in her love life). When their star guest pulls out with only a few weeks to go, everyone’s delighted when a London chef who grew up locally steps in at the last minute. But Gabe Matthias is the last person Sam was expecting to see and his return to Porthmellow will change her quiet coastal life for ever. 

If you loved A Perfect Cornish Summer, don’t miss A Perfect Cornish Christmas and A Perfect Cornish Escape

©2019 Phillipa Ashley (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

 "Warm and funny and feel-good. The best sort of holiday [listen]." (Katie Fforde)

"Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!"(Jill Mansell)

"A delicious festive treat with as many twists and turns as a Cornish country lane." (Jules Wake)

What listeners say about A Perfect Cornish Summer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • TS
  • 28-10-2019

Repetitive emotions and thoughts

I got the book expecting an easy and uplifting listen, but the story goes around very repetitive feeling and thoughts, and a bit too lovey-dovey for my taste. It got boring very quickly... On the positive side, the narrator is great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every Cornish moment !!

Im reveling in that west country accent and reliving many a happy holiday spent in Cornwall. The narrator was perfect and did a splendid job ! The story was so believable but kept you guessing all the way. it would be nice to see a sequel !! Thankyou !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story to while away a weekend

Loved it Narrator was great and really brought the characters to life - great listen

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 20-10-2019

really enjoyed this book

I like the story and characters , very credible - and also narrator is really excellent

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Happy Reader
  • Happy Reader
  • 27-12-2019

Boring story made worse by narrator

At the heart of this book is a thin story padded out with too much boring banter. In fact it’s 5 different very short stories about five people who fall in love and end up happily ever after. But all of them given in little snapshots so you never really get into any. What I think made it worse is the narrator putting in pantomime thick Cornish accents so that all the men sounded like old codgers or rough yokels. Not romantic Not funny I really struggled to finish this and could not care less if they got together in the end or not. This is my second Philippa Ashley book which I’ve hated. Will avoid in future

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Jane Wilson
  • Mrs Jane Wilson
  • 15-07-2019

A Perfect Summer Listen

Another lovely summer feel-good book with a different angle, and excellent narration. I thoroughly enjoyed all the food festival side of the book and as always Phillipa brings her characters to life in an uncomplicated way. I liked the inevitable little twist in the plot, and although you think you know where the story is going, there is always a tiny seed of doubt sown in your mind which keeps you guessing.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter
  • Peter
  • 09-05-2020

A lovely book.

Not my usual choice of book, but as a daily deal, and Audible's like a book guarantee, I went for it, with nothing to loose. Nicely written and well read. The characters are believable. It's a lovely, enjoyable and sweet story. I'll be looking gif other books by the same author, and reader too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helly
  • Helly
  • 13-02-2020

Excellent 😀😀😀

Loved this book, I really enjoyed reading about all the characters. It was such a lovely story with a nice flow, and a very nice ending. Would recommend this to anyone to read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire
  • Claire
  • 09-05-2020

really good fun.

I could picture the people in the book very easily. it took me away from the real world and so it was lovely and relaxing,thank you for that.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa Harwood
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 08-05-2020

Delightful

A delightful story. Set in a beautiful Harbour village in Cornwall this lovely story follows the lives of the villagers. I initially thought the story might be too long but I was sad when it ended and wanted more! I will definitely be reading the rest of the series to catch up with my favourite characters. It was wonderful to be in their world for a few hours.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for heather crispin
  • heather crispin
  • 08-04-2020

Loved it

Great story, with twists. All characters added to the story. Looking forward to the next book. Reader was very good took me into the story

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for barbara
  • barbara
  • 02-11-2019

A Cornish Summer Festival

I always enjoy listening to stories written by Phillipa Ashley. There are always so many interesting characters telling of their lives and problems. This summer festival was a great success - I really felt that I was there! Looking forward to the winter festival!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-08-2020

Drivel

Just a boring low level romance novel. Couldn’t be bothered listening to the end as it was such rubbish.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steve
  • Steve
  • 26-08-2020

not my usual listen but very enjoyable

not my usual style of book. but I took a chance on it when it was a daily deal and I didnt regret it.