Get Your Free Audiobook

A Dinner to Die For

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 28
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 2 hrs and 51 mins
5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

Non-member price: $4.06

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When a new restaurant with a starred American chef opens in Cherringham, it seems the Spotted Pig has a worthy rival. But a series of disturbing incidents turns that rivalry into something dangerous - perhaps even fatal. Jack and Sarah get involved and soon discover dark secrets about the new chef Anna... Can they uncover what is really happening before both restaurants go belly-up?

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christina
  • 03-03-2019

Another perfect installment!

Everything about this series is perfection, from the characters who feel like real friends, to the expert narration. It’s a cozy mystery without all the fluff (no romance etc). It’s all pure plot & each story focuses on a new case. They’re self encompassing stories, however I still recommend starting at book 1 if you can because you really develop a relationship with the characters

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-03-2019

I love this series!!

I look forward to each new story. The stories are lively and fun to listen to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marily
  • 17-03-2019

Two fancy restaurants in one"little" village?

I love these books! I thought that # 27 was the end of the series. Imagine my surprise when I saw this book!! It, as usual, was just the right fit for a cozy English mystery! Thank you, Mr. Costello and Mr. Richards, and as usual, Mr. Dudgeon has the " perfect" voice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • willow33
  • 10-03-2019

Love, as usual, but ....

I love this series and thoroughly enjoyed listening to this episode, but a bit after finishing, thinking about the plot, it seemed to me that the solution to the mystery doesn't make sense. Unfortunately, I can't find a way to explain further without spoiling the story, but thinking back over the series, I realize this isn't the first time I've thought a solution has been lazy. This one just seems very much so.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jan H. Wolfe
  • 06-03-2019

Absolutely live this series

I love Sarah and Jack. The mysteries are marvelous little gems. Can't wait until the next one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jojo Rocklin
  • 21-02-2019

Well Done...a new favorite

Enjoyable listen with well rounded characters. Loved the Serena character with her quirky, intelligent cureosity and determination. Olive is a splendid main character and we'll done in development.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Steve
  • 05-04-2019

LIKED

Good story Good characters Good ending. And I should have enough words to post this.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Linda welch
  • 29-03-2019

Love Neil dungeon

Narrator top notch. Weak plot in the middle. Over all entertaining. I would recommend it for lite reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trish R.
  • 12-03-2019

Love, love, loves these Cherringham novellas..


Good little story about who was trying to sabotage a new restaurant. Lots of suspicious culprits but Jack and Sarah got to the bottom of it. AND Jack might have found himself a new girlfriend.

As to the narration: Neil Dudgeon always does such a wonderful job on these novellas. If he ever stops narrating them I’d definitely stop listening.