Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down! The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella's village to be their Human Queen. To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark 19-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she's dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town's only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives...for her. Everything Luella had thought she'd known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save. The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart; her home and people tug on another...but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted. A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a "happily ever after" ending. It's perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

©2020 Elise Kova (P)2021 Elise Kova

What listeners say about A Deal with the Elf King

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

I Would recommend for the ACOTAR fan. I throughly enjoyed it. Couldn’t put it down

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

may be fantasy but the characters are unbelievable

Even getting past the narration which lacks distinction between characters, there are so many plotholes and unanswered questions in this mediocre writing. It may be fantasy, but the characters are entirely unbelievable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You MUST get this

I loved every second of it, my goodness what a read.
Will not disappoint.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amy
  • 31-10-2021

Cringe-worthy

If you can handle the narrator's annoying vocal sliding then brace yourself for the lack of substance in this cringe-worthy tale. The author has tried to make the main character an independent woman but has failed miserably, reflected in an abundance of immaturity.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sucked me in unexpectedly!

I wasn't expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did! I loved the characters and the slow burn build up of their relationship! I wish there was more of these characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MIdwest Suburban Family
  • MIdwest Suburban Family
  • 17-09-2021

A big unanswered question.

I get the mixed reviews, but it is a cute story. There isn’t any cheating in the book, but it is discussed that the king only has heirs with other Elves, to keep the bloodline pure. I want to know if he’s still going to hold to that or not. That changes everything.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gerad
  • Gerad
  • 26-09-2021

Not as good as I hoped

I really wanted to like this book. It had a cool world and an interesting concept. But Luella was so frustratingly blind that I spent a good deal of time muttering under my breath, calling her an idiot.

The audiobook narration was alright. The production quality was good.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chelsea Fletcher
  • Chelsea Fletcher
  • 14-11-2021

it was fine.

It was just okay. It flows, but I think it wasn't the most interesting thing. didn't struggle to finish it, but I definitely jumped around to other books while listening cause it couldn't keep my attention fully.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for karla
  • karla
  • 09-11-2021

Protagonist Dummy

The protagonist is supposed to be a powerful, smart queen but so many of her thoughts and actions are SO dumb.

The love story here is cute.

Decent story and I was entertained.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sophy Sorn
  • Sophy Sorn
  • 20-09-2021

So good

Wow I love this book: I love how strong both characters are. Can’t wait to read the next book! Elizabeth Evans did an amazing job at narrating

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alisha
  • Alisha
  • 23-11-2021

characters lacking

The beginning of the book was promising, but the author uses exposition too much.

The male characters lack motivation beyond wanting to marry the main character.

The main character is annoying. She's frustrating in a 'written by a teenager' kind of way. She's argumentative when she should observe the works around her, and asks questions instead of investigating and discovering.

The author needs to trust the reader more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 23-11-2021

Entrancing and rewarding listen

The story flows well without any gaps in plot. The heroine is strong, purposeful, fair and works to find her way admist unexpected life altering events. I enjoyed the the voice narrative just fine. The character’s voices were distinct and consistent throughout. I thought this book would take me at least a week to listen to but found myself staying up to the wee hours of the morning listening despite the price of little sleep as a working mom with toddlers! I will definitely be listening to more books from this author. This book was everything it promised and more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie Zonker
  • Stephanie Zonker
  • 21-11-2021

couldn't stop listening

the pace of the story was perfect. the imagery and storyline unique. i will be definitely watching for more books from this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim Zitko
  • Kim Zitko
  • 16-11-2021

Could not finish

This book has such promise.. I could not finish it. I found the characters lacked depth. I could not invest in them or care because they just seemed off. Very little development. Maybe I heard this narrator and unfairly wanted a SJM plot, and I had unfair expectations… I still couldn’t finish it, unfair or not.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gray
  • Gray
  • 08-11-2021

Feel the ending was a bit rushed.

The creativity of the story and the world's were very interesting. I could definitely see a series coming from it. The voice actress is talented, but her transition between male voices becomes a bit blurred at times. Also, the emotional changes of the mlc are lacking, vocally.
The climax for me is chapter... I believe it's 37. Which leads to the ending kind of being too straight to the point and quick, considering the pace of the earlier parts of the book.
Bottom line, good fun entertainment. No smut, if that's what you're looking for it's not here. Sweet, slow-burn, love and fantasy painted imagery.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pola
  • Pola
  • 10-10-2021

Major Meh

Nothing really stoles the heart in this story. I couldn't relate to MC with her constant talk about duty. All felt very repetitive, predictable.
The way Evans reads men sometimes just don't do it for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-09-2021

Good story beautifully narrated!

A good story from beginning till end. Never getting boring or unnecessary repeating anything to full out the pages. Apreciated the characters, and the narrator is perfekt in every way. Her voice is pleasent, the pace and tone is good and she Just make me want to leasten!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.