Anne of Green Gables

67 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 682 ratings


Get to know the lively, red-headed orphan who’s captured hearts for over a century.

Looking for a sweet story collection for the whole family? This century-old tale of a resilient and hopeful 11-year-old girl is as powerful today as ever. 

When Anne Shirley first arrives at the Green Gables farmhouse, she’s an unwelcome surprise. Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert – who eventually adopt Anne – had requested a boy. At first, Marilla tells Anne she must return to the orphanage she came from. But soon the plucky girl wins over the Cuthberts with her spirit and charm. Green Gables becomes the first real home she has ever known. 

In this story collection, chatty Anne, stern Marilla and kindly Matthew – along with a cast of local characters – are brought to life by Susie Berneis and Tara Ward. Berneis and Ward are acclaimed voice actors who’ve narrated The Age of Innocence and Little Women, respectively.

When Lucy Maud (LM) Montgomery published Anne of Green Gables in 1908, the book became an instant children’s classic. Over the six heartwarming stories in this collection, Anne gets into ‘scrapes’, excels at school, makes dear friends and bitter rivals and dreams of being a writer. Later, we follow Anne’s journey into teaching, marriage and motherhood. 

After publishing Anne of Green Gables, she wrote many best-selling books with Anne as the central character. Montgomery’s beloved ‘Anne’ stories have also been adapted many times for screen and stage. Amybeth McNulty plays Anne in the current Netflix show Anne and is ‘wonderfully ebullient and eminently likable’ according to the New York Times

Show More Show Less

See a series you like?

Book one is on us
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

There’s a series for
everyone on Audible.

From fascinating sci-fi and fantasy to binge-worthy thrillers,
find your next book series to love.

Explore series