Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A chilling thriller that's perfect for fans of Get Out and The Haunting of Hill House.

A dinner party is held in the penthouse of a multimillion-pound development. All the guests are strangers - even to their host, the billionaire owner of the building. 

None of them know why they were selected to receive his invitation. Besides a postcode, they share only one thing in common - they've all experienced an unsettling occurrence within the building's walls. 

By the end of the night, their host is dead, and none of the guests will say what happened. 

His death remains one of the biggest unsolved mysteries - until now.

©2020 Jonathan Sims (P)2020 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about Thirteen Storeys

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

A masterpiece that is possibly Jonathan Sims' best work. a must listen if you liked magnus archives.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Johnathan Sims does it again!!!!!

The magnus archives Jonathan Sims other writing brought me here, and as a huge fan of that I have to say I loved this as well. Creepy, scary, mysterious and deeply, deeply unsettling!!!! exactly what I wanted. To top it off the story is also real real cool. I dont know if your read your reviews Sims, if you do your a legend, and me and my mates will pretty much buy anything you make. keep up the great work.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow-boil Anticapitalist Horror

The book is a haunted house anthology meditating on the horrors of 21st century life, of the horrors that we don't want to see we are surrounded by and subject to and complicit in every day.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wildly satisfying, beautifully performed

There is a certain kind of story that fills a hole in the world, just waiting for it to come along. When you first understand its premise, you find yourself thinking, “Oh, oh yes. Of course.” It is a thing that inherently ought to exist. This horror novel is one such story. Jonathan Sims has done a tremendous job with themes that ache and pull at us all in the 21st century, whether we want them to or not, and done something with the “haunted house” genre and the horror anthology that deeply satisfies. The performances of each speaker are deeply well suited and I don’t think there’s a single actor who lets it all down; together they spin a story of complex complicity and the question of whether certain forces are or are not truly inescapable. Fans of Sims’ podcast The Magnus Archives and new readers/listeners will be equally satisfied, and audio is a particularly grand format for this writer’s particular command of writing meant for audio performance. It is BLOODY weird reviewing this on a Bezos-owned app, by the way, but I sure would enjoy it if someone happened to slip him a copy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 14-01-2021

A wonderful break-out novel for Jonathan Sims

If capitalist gothic was a genre, this would be the centerpiece work. It is masterfully read and paced, I couldn't wait to get back to listening after each pause. The different voices for the different characters definitely helped to keep the story interesting and keep the threads clear as the story progressed. Spooky and still very touching. I am definitely going out to purchase a physical copy to keep this one in my library. I can't wait to see your next book Mr. Sims!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AnneO'Connor
  • AnneO'Connor
  • 10-01-2021

a wonderfully made book and audio recording. i loved the whole thing and can’t wait for my second listen sometime in the future

it’s hard to write a book from multiple different perspectives but this book pulls it off better than any i’ve read in the past. a great mystery that i highly suggest to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexis Ellett
  • Alexis Ellett
  • 30-12-2020

capitalist nightmare becomes literal

a great melting together of different forms of horror both familiar and new. The intertwining of the various storylines is wonderfully done and the use of individual voice acting for each character vignette makes characterization and following the separate tales easy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Andrew
  • C. Andrew
  • 24-12-2020

Fantastic!

Immensely well written and well performed! I'm very happy I spent the extra money to purchase the audio as well as the written work. The style of the recordings makes them incredibly engaging and really enhances the horror and storytelling. Jonathan Simms is an incredible writer and I encourage everyone who is interested in horror writing to check out his other works, especially the Magnus Archives.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Malik Ibheis
  • Malik Ibheis
  • 28-11-2020

Jonathan Sims, master of fear

Excellently written, Jonathan Sims has distilled his mastery of fear and dread into thirteen short stories that, like The Magnus Archives, flow effortlessly into a cohesive whole, culminating in a ritual of pure dream logic. I adore his writing style, the performance of each narrator and the ease in which Jonathan weaves a multitude of characters into his tangled web of fears.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V. O'Regan
  • V. O'Regan
  • 30-11-2020

Atmospheric urban horror

My first experience of Sims and was impressed by how well he wove the thirteen narratives together. It worked well as a full cast audio experience

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Neil Stewart
  • Neil Stewart
  • 24-12-2020

A Great Listen

Great plot! really well done with a diverse and interesting cast of characters a great listen all round!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss Robinson
  • Miss Robinson
  • 22-12-2020

An excellent and disturbing horror

Best known for the Magnus Archives podcast, Sims manages to pull together a gripping collection of tales that weave together into a greater narrative. Like a Robert Altman of terror, there are interlinked and suggested connections throughout. As with The Magnus Archives, there's a a host of symbolism and irony within the manifestations of each narrators 'haunting'. The ultimate story is one of accountability. It certainly is very prescient in our current climate. The performance throughout is very high, Sims himself being a high point. the intelligent use of multiple narrators helps to round the concept out even further, and is used to great success. There is some stilted delivery here and there by one or two actors, but my enjoyment was never compromised. Highly recommended! I look forward to reading more of his work.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jade
  • Jade
  • 13-01-2021

Loved it all

This is a beautifully paced and compelling story. Anyone who likes Magnus Archive podcast will enjoy this book. Jonathan Sims is a wonderful and thoughtful writer ❤

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alfie T
  • Alfie T
  • 07-01-2021

It slams

It felt how I wish books should always feel; human and anarchic. It just slams.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C E Andrews
  • C E Andrews
  • 03-01-2021

fun and good voice acting

overall an enjoyable read but in the last chapter I was struggling to remember the back story of all the other characters. difficult on an audio book where you can't flick back.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-12-2020

Thrilling

This book had me on the edge of my seat. Its grotesque and scary (literally) and amazing. I loved the various voices and the story itself is just great. I loved it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 04-12-2020

A bit of a strange one

Not my favourite .... but it is written well and does have a good story... IF you like a little supernatural and little weird kind of book. Not a general book for everyone that's for sure. Performance absolutely makes it for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-12-2020

boss

loved it. The intertwine of stories quite spooky. really binged on this easy to listen to and good twists

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.