Try free for 2 months

  • Their Lost Daughters

  • A Jackman and Evans Thriller
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (5,997 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Their Lost Daughters cover art

Their Lost Daughters

By: Joy Ellis
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Editorial reviews

"Put your headphones on, turn your Wi-Fi off, clear your diary and take a ride with DI Jackman and DS Evans. As you listen to Their Lost Daughters they will start to feel like old friends, and you will live through their triumphs and traumas on the trail of one of the most wantonly twisted crimes ever to grace an audiobook. The book is harrowing at times but never overdone. It's as heartfelt as it is disturbing. In the run up to the final, brilliantly executed twist, it is almost clinically impossible to press the pause button." - Gabriel, Audible Editor

"Checking my home for intruders isn't one of my standard nighttime rituals, but after listening to Their Lost Daughters, I found myself doing just that. In this chilling narrative, Joy Ellis expertly plays on your deepest fears and delivers a satisfying, shocking twist that no crime aficionado could predict. It bears all the hallmarks of great TV shows like Broadchurch, and with powerful narration from Richard Armitage you genuinely feel part of the action as the hunt to find the killer intensifies. I urge you to experience it in all its glory." - Jess, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Introducing Audible Exclusive Their Lost Daughters, the first in the Jackman and Evans crime series, written by Joy Ellis, Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018.

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case.

For DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans, the pressure is on to bring the perpetrators of these shocking crimes to justice. Are the crimes linked? Who are these young girls? And what on earth is going on under the green and pastured land of the Lincolnshire Fens?

An Amazon Kindle number one best seller, Their Lost Daughters by Joy Ellis is performed by the incredible Richard Armitage (The Hobbit) and available exclusively at Audible. Be prepared for your pulse to rise and your nights to be disturbed as our breakthrough crime author of 2018 weaves her dark web of mystery. Perfect for fans of Sarah A. Denzil, LJ Ross and Denzil Meyrick.

About the author

Joy Ellis is not your ordinary newcomer to crime fiction. She started work in the 1960s as an apprentice florist in Covent Garden before opening her own flower shop in Lincolnshire. Later in life, she began to consider a career change towards crime writing and attended a workshop in Greece led by Sue Townsend, author of Adrian Mole. Ellis has now left the flowers behind and dedicates her life to writing gritty crime thrillers set in the Fens, where she lives with her police officer partner.

About the narrator

Richard Armitage is a British actor known for his vast array of film, television and theatre work, including The Hobbit, Spooks and The Crucible. His trademark baritone voice has earned him recognition, too, through his performance on many notable audiobooks as well as in TV and radio show narration.

His audiobook credits include The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde featured in The Monster Collection, David Copperfield, and Angela Carter's The Bloody Chamber, and this experience shines through in Armitage's gripping performance of Their Lost Daughters.

©2017 Joy Ellis (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

Critic Reviews

"If you’re a crime fiction fanatic, Their Lost Daughters could well be your next obsession." (Digital Spy)

What listeners say about Their Lost Daughters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,939
  • 4 Stars
    1,528
  • 3 Stars
    386
  • 2 Stars
    104
  • 1 Stars
    40
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,127
  • 4 Stars
    985
  • 3 Stars
    218
  • 2 Stars
    54
  • 1 Stars
    26
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,501
  • 4 Stars
    1,351
  • 3 Stars
    384
  • 2 Stars
    104
  • 1 Stars
    51

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Small northern town low budget police melodrama

Despite all the promotional hype I read concerning this novel - a great new writer etc etc - I struggled with this novel. Firstly, was it the writing I didn’t like or the narration. In the end I came to the conclusion they were both awful in equal measure. Well the story was plausible but lacked depth or gravitas. I found it to be utterly contrived. The police dialogue was littered with platitudes and metaphors that no modern day policeman would utter. And what ‘fledgling’ detective would call his senior ‘boss’ in this day and age? As for the dialogue it was quite stereotypical. Comments like she fell for him “hook line and sinker”, is hardly cutting edge dialogue, and “she was a girl who liked to play tonsil snooker” was about as funny as jokes little boys talk about before sex has loomed into their lives. There were too many awful lines incorporated into this new novel only made worse by the poorly constructed context. It was perhaps the literary equivalent of painting by numbers. The author collecting a lot of phrases from a low budget cop series and stringing them all together. Their Lost Daughters” read like a 1960s ‘Z cars’ series (UK TV) rather than a police drama in 2018. And even the narrator didn’t elevate this much more. Maybe he couldn’t. The characters were poorly sculpted, rather superficial and lacked credibility. None of them Yes, Armitage had a good handle on regional British accents (except for educated ones which were rather forced and unconvincing) and he rather failed to rescue this novel from one of the worst books I have read on audible for some time. My wife also struggled with it but gave it a bette score than I did for the storyline. Sorry chaps. I did try to like it. So if you like northern detective books go and read ‘a tapping at my door. Excellent. And great narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

67 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Save your money

I listened to the whole book, assuming that at some stage the story would become engaging. It didn’t.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

49 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lacking

Another two star reviewer here has said it better than I could. I agree with that reviewer. This piece of writing misses the mark on every level and the narration is no help at all. By the end I was getting anxious to be done listening and no longer cared whodunnit.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

34 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Masterful Performance By Richard Armitage

Gripping police procedural which asks the question “What makes a monster? Nature or Nurture?”

Stunning nuanced performance once again by Richard Armitage. He gets better with each audio performance.

Can’t wait for Book 2 in the Jackman / Evans series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Waiting for the next book!!!

I ate this one in 2 days. I couldn’t put the story down and the narrator was the best I have ever listened to. Really worth listening to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Convoluted and Confusing

There is so so much going on in this story. Way too much. Would have been a little easier to follow the written version. I would struggle to recommend this book to anyone and I don’t think I will be reading any further books in the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Twisty

Although the writing style is unremarkable, the plot is pretty imaginative. Being from East Anglia (Fen country) it took me a while to accept the narrator’s use of almost every British accent but the local one! In the end the introduction of each new regional dialect made me laugh out loud - it was all over the shop! And all the posh characters sound like Prince Charles. The narrator certainly strutted his stuff! Entertaining in a kind of odd way.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Start to the series.

A well written book with good rounded characters. It keeps you guessing and I am looking forward to the next in the same series. If I have any criticism it would be the ending, just a bit too neat, all wrapped up in a bow, however it is a very small detail in a great read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Incredible story - Sad but intriguing. The Narration was simply superb. I highly recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

Great story with twists and turns. Excellent narration. Deffs worth a listen if crime is your bag

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.