Get Your Free Audiobook

The Swap

Length: 8 hrs and 42 mins
3.8 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

Non-member price: $26.32

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"No list of thrillers is complete without Robyn Harding", proclaims Real Simple. Now the USA Today best-selling author of The Party delivers a riveting tale about the toxic relationship between two couples after a night of sexual shenanigans and the manipulative teenager with an explosive secret at the center of it all.

Low Morrison is not your average teen. You could blame her hippie parents or her looming height or her dreary, isolated hometown on an island in the Pacific Northwest. But whatever the reason, Low just doesn’t fit in - and neither does Freya, a once-famous social media influencer who now owns the pottery studio in town. 

After signing up for a class, Low quickly falls under Freya’s spell. And Freya, buoyed by Low’s adoration, is compelled to share her darkest secrets and deepest desires. Finally, both feel a sense of belonging...that is, until Jamie walks through the studio door. Desperate for a baby, she and her husband have moved to the island hoping that the healthy environment will result in a pregnancy. Freya and Jamie become fast friends, as do their husbands, leaving Low alone once again. 

Then one night, after a boozy dinner party, Freya suggests swapping partners. It should have been a harmless fling between consenting adults, one night of debauchery that they would put behind them, but when one of the women becomes pregnant, Low finds the perfect opportunity to unleash her growing resentment. 

Robyn Harding brings her acclaimed storytelling, lauded as "fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching" by Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six, to this dark and suspenseful thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Lisa Jewell.

©2020 Robyn Harding. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Swap

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

Hated all the characters and the story wasn't enough to keep me interested in what happened to them. Waited eagerly for another RH book and am just so disappointed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Little Predictable

I lived the story primarily about narcissism and how they can overpower people. The narration was a little tedious at times as was the script, but overall a gripping storyline.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth
  • Beth
  • 25-06-2020

Worth a read

I listen to several audiobooks a week. Most of them Are mysteries/thrillers. Most of the plots are pretty similar and predictable at this point. I often end up abandoning the book halfway through due to poor writing. But this one kept my interest with a different plot. If you’re a sucker for a story about a female sociopath (like me)... this book is told from the perspectives of those in her life.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TeresaS
  • TeresaS
  • 16-07-2020

Just OK

I'm not going to lie- I got through the book, because I kept waiting for the A-Ha moment.. did not come. The narration was not good, especially Max. I can't help but pick up a bit of a Simple Favor vibe for the story: needy people, domineering woman. And what is up with this island? The cliche' lines like "old fart" and "hashtag"... everything, kind of grated on my nerves, because it seemed like this story really wanted to gain some depth- which it also did not obtain. I think it would have been more of a thriller if Lo's story line was introduced later in the book. I gave it a shot because it was a Reese's book club pick- and if you're able to read it physically, it would likely be an easy summer read. But I unfortunately cannot recommend this audio version.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dori
  • Dori
  • 25-06-2020

good story but narration was tough to listen to.

it took me a bit to get into this one, the main character narrator sounded like she was reading the story and not playing the character, I almost gave up but pushed through and finished it. not a bad storyline and kept me interested once I got past the narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 29-06-2020

Thrilling and Fun Listen!

NO SPOILERS! This was fun to listen to.. a nice mix of psychopathy and narcissism at its finest. It wasn’t much of a mystery but thrilling to listen to. I recommend this to anyone that likes domestic thrillers and seeing behind others doors.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashley Colangelo
  • Ashley Colangelo
  • 09-09-2020

Entertaining twists

This was an entertaining read with lots of twists. I can honestly say I didn’t guess the ending. The characters were all so unlikable but thats that made it a book I couldn’t put down.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendy C. Taylor
  • Wendy C. Taylor
  • 14-08-2020

The Swap

Intriguing book of how people can seem, really are, and twists and turns all the way until the end

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Audrey
  • Audrey
  • 03-08-2020

A bit predictable

I’ve written a few reviews saying I read psychological thrillers a lot, and if you do it takes a pretty crazy story to leave you feeling dumbfounded. This story wasn’t crazy. It was very slow in the beginning but did pick up pace towards the end. I almost returned this book because I couldn’t stand the male narrator, but he didn’t have as much of a role as the females which I didn’t mind listening to. The male voice sounded too old for the character in the story. Overall okay book, if you’re new to this genre you’ll probably enjoy it more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 26-07-2020

Been awhile

Has been a long time since I have been so into a book. Don’t want to spoil anything. But it was good!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MA Reviewer
  • MA Reviewer
  • 15-07-2020

"The Swap" Was Not Robyn Harding's Top....

First and foremost, let the record show that I am a huge Robyn Harding fan and have listened to all of her books. This book was disappointing because I knew that Robyn Harding could have done better. Also, couple swapping (or reading about couple swapping)....is just not one of my favorite topics....and that is what this book was about. And, finally, I was unable to give this book a 5-star review because the plot focused on too many mentally ill people. All this being said.....the book's narration was superb and the book really moved. I will definitely be looking forward to Robyn Harding's next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susi Q
  • Susi Q
  • 04-07-2020

Whoa... this was good!

This is the first book I’ve read by this author and it won’t be the last. The character development was on point - a narcissist, an outcast teenager, a woman with low self esteem, a struggling novelist, and an abused ex-NHL hockey player husband. Phew 😅, I’m happy baby Maggie ended up with who she did. Thank you Lo!

1 person found this helpful