Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook free.
1 credit/month after trial—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $40.92

Buy Now for $40.92

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

One dinner party will destroy everything.

The night that throws a wrecking ball into Abby’s life starts out perfectly at first. There’s still a hint of summer sun in the purple-streaked sky. Abby and her best friend, Sienna, look on fondly as their two husbands laugh under the garden gazebo. None of them know it’s the last time they will be together again.

What starts out as just a little fun has devastating consequences for the couples. Alone with Sienna’s husband, Greg, Abby finds him unexpectedly charming. Caught up in the moment, she reveals a secret she swore never to tell. And something happens that night that neither she nor Greg can take back.

Abby is desperate to tell her husband and Sienna the truth but can’t risk Greg sharing what she told him. She has no choice but to keep quiet. Then Greg suddenly disappears.

Is her best friend’s husband simply running from his secrets? Or has someone decided they can’t risk that he may share theirs?

From number one best-selling author Kathryn Croft comes a gripping and twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

©2021 Kathryn Croft (P)2021 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about The Other Husband

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    191
  • 4 Stars
    162
  • 3 Stars
    91
  • 2 Stars
    56
  • 1 Stars
    28
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    135
  • 3 Stars
    56
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    15
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    136
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    55
  • 1 Stars
    40

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Plot holes you could drive a truck through

I listened to the bitter end while painting a fence but not sure why. The story was forced, was far too long and the twists and turns meandering at best, but really just a big yawn. And the murderer's cop out at the end? Just ludicrous. And what of their accomplice? The police action - more like inaction - was unbelievably inept. Glad I didn't pay for it or I would have asked for a refund. The only thing going for it was an interesting plot point which unfortunately was really badly handled from the moment it was introduced.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Narrator is breathless

I couldn’t continue listening to this, the narrator’s constant loud intake of breath at the beginning of every sentence drove me potty.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I got to chapter 5 before I couldn't take it anymore. The narrator's deep inhale. Once I noticed it, it's all I could notice. I am going finish reading this book on my kindle.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

i want a refund

over written. too many contrived plot clues. I want a refund.
waste of my time

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not who you think!

Unexpected twists all the way through. Worth a listen. Female characters are true to form blame the other female but no….

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not sure how I finished this

This story started off with some promise, but really dragged on. I listened until the end incase their was an interesting twist, but the ending was dissatisfying too. I also found the narrator difficult to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I’m not sure I’ll finish this

The book is so tedious. I’m not sure I can stay til the end. It’s taking so long to get to the point.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The other Husband is boring

I thought that I would enjoy this book, I completed its lengthy process. Unfortunately, it was uninteresting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Average, at best.

It was an interesting opening. It was slow and dragged. I continued because I had nothing else planned to read but honestly could have stopped any time without another thought. Definitely was a cop out twist/ending.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tiresome

Long winded and boring. Save yourself the agony the book drags you through a silly story slowly and brutally.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 07-12-2021

could have been half the length

Decent story,engaging premise. Lots of repetition, lots of stupidness, The middle dragged and dragged. Could have been much better if it was just shortened.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 15-11-2021

Not the best

Can break this down pretty quickly. Two crazy women who run around accusing everyone else, with next to no proof.

None of the main characters are good people or very likeable. A decent editor could of condensed this down to a more appropriate length as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for liz
  • liz
  • 20-01-2022

overall pretty good.

as always there will be no spoilers in my review
it was better than I expected. steady paced, slow start , no lulls, good solid characters. tiny twists and turns. solid narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hasbrouck H. McCall
  • Hasbrouck H. McCall
  • 15-01-2022

Couldn't stop listening. I became obsessed

When you love the "Who done it" type mysteries, this will not let you down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yolonda
  • Yolonda
  • 31-12-2021

Loved It!

I loved this book. It flowed so well. Great story with a great and unsuspecting ending.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashlie VanMeter
  • Ashlie VanMeter
  • 19-12-2021

Way too long

It could have been much shorter and not so obvious. Not one likable character in the bunch.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shari
  • Shari
  • 06-11-2021

BORING…

Gave up at chapter 17. Slow as molasses. Probably a good story if you can get through the writing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Louise Wallace
  • Louise Wallace
  • 25-11-2021

couldn't listen

I think the idea behind this may be good, only got to chapter 8 before I had to quit, the sharp constant breath intakes of the narrator is very annoying and distracting.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for celia
  • celia
  • 01-11-2021

All plot no character

husband and wife interior thrillers are very commercial atm it seems everyone is having a go. This one is all plot and no attention to character or place. There is no attempt to describe even the basic features of the 4 main characters. They all have same personality with no nuance or differentiation. No idea what any of them look like as it is not described. Same with location its passed over briefly ( somewhere near hangar lane) its all very dull and a slow plot relying on constant reiteration of Abi is not to be trusted? Someone has been unfaithful ? Thats it. Thats the total mystery with the only intrigue being the witholding of what turns out to be very dull information. Very disapointing.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.