Try free for 2 months

A 2 month free trial (limited time offer).
1 credit/month—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
The Other Husband cover art

The Other Husband

By: Kathryn Croft
Narrated by: Hannah Curtis
Free with 2 month trial

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $32.99

Buy Now for $32.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

One dinner party will destroy everything.

The night that throws a wrecking ball into Abby’s life starts out perfectly at first. There’s still a hint of summer sun in the purple-streaked sky. Abby and her best friend, Sienna, look on fondly as their two husbands laugh under the garden gazebo. None of them know it’s the last time they will be together again.

What starts out as just a little fun has devastating consequences for the couples. Alone with Sienna’s husband, Greg, Abby finds him unexpectedly charming. Caught up in the moment, she reveals a secret she swore never to tell. And something happens that night that neither she nor Greg can take back.

Abby is desperate to tell her husband and Sienna the truth but can’t risk Greg sharing what she told him. She has no choice but to keep quiet. Then Greg suddenly disappears.

Is her best friend’s husband simply running from his secrets? Or has someone decided they can’t risk that he may share theirs?

From number one best-selling author Kathryn Croft comes a gripping and twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

©2021 Kathryn Croft (P)2021 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about The Other Husband

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    421
  • 4 Stars
    351
  • 3 Stars
    229
  • 2 Stars
    137
  • 1 Stars
    68
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    510
  • 4 Stars
    320
  • 3 Stars
    171
  • 2 Stars
    80
  • 1 Stars
    32
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    371
  • 4 Stars
    298
  • 3 Stars
    208
  • 2 Stars
    139
  • 1 Stars
    97

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Plot holes you could drive a truck through

I listened to the bitter end while painting a fence but not sure why. The story was forced, was far too long and the twists and turns meandering at best, but really just a big yawn. And the murderer's cop out at the end? Just ludicrous. And what of their accomplice? The police action - more like inaction - was unbelievably inept. Glad I didn't pay for it or I would have asked for a refund. The only thing going for it was an interesting plot point which unfortunately was really badly handled from the moment it was introduced.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Narrator is breathless

I couldn’t continue listening to this, the narrator’s constant loud intake of breath at the beginning of every sentence drove me potty.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I got to chapter 5 before I couldn't take it anymore. The narrator's deep inhale. Once I noticed it, it's all I could notice. I am going finish reading this book on my kindle.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too long and confusing

Spoilers ahead
From the start I was confused because the summary says that is Abby who reveals a secret to Greg. But really it’s the other way around.
The story drags for way too long without much happening, a lot of questions and I didn’t find the answers satisfactory. So many things came out of nowhere, so much effort to make everyone a suspect and it was all for that ending? I didn’t like who ended up being the murderer, seemed unlikely and just a far fetched excuse to “surprise” the reader. The last chapter was also confusing. Why would she threaten him if she just took a bunch of pills? Makes no sense. It would have been more satisfying if she never took the pills and threatened him and he killed her to silence her and made it look like a suicide. Overall disappointing

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

i want a refund

over written. too many contrived plot clues. I want a refund.
waste of my time

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not who you think!

Unexpected twists all the way through. Worth a listen. Female characters are true to form blame the other female but no….

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not sure how I finished this

This story started off with some promise, but really dragged on. I listened until the end incase their was an interesting twist, but the ending was dissatisfying too. I also found the narrator difficult to listen to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I’m not sure I’ll finish this

The book is so tedious. I’m not sure I can stay til the end. It’s taking so long to get to the point.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The other Husband is boring

I thought that I would enjoy this book, I completed its lengthy process. Unfortunately, it was uninteresting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Struggled to finish

I persevered through to finish this book. Just not for me. Weak story line and performance, nothing special.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.