Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Jane’s daughter is a good girl. What is she hiding?

When 13-year-old Savannah Hopkins doesn’t come straight home from school, as she always does, her mother Jane immediately raises the alarm.

Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward, whose daughter, Leigh, is the same age as Savannah. Soon Natalie’s worst fears are confirmed when the teenager’s broken body is found in nearby shrubland.

Evidence points toward a local recluse, but just as the net is closing around him, one of Savannah’s friends, Harriet, is reported missing.

As Natalie delves into the lives of both girls, she soon discovers a sinister video on their phones, daring the girls to disappear from their families for 48 hours.

But Natalie isn’t quick enough for this killer, and she is devastated to find Harriet’s body on a fly tip a day later.

Caught up in the case, she takes her eye off her own daughter, and when Leigh goes missing after school she knows Natalie must be in terrible danger. The clock is ticking for Natalie. Can she catch this killer before her little girl becomes the next victim?

This gripping roller coaster of a listen will have you up in the small hours. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Caine, and Robert Dugoni will love The Dare.
 

Reviewers are going crazy for The Dare:

"Wow wow wow! I just read this book in 3 hours. It's gritty, gripping and fast paced! Natalie Ward is a phenomenal character and I could read her books forever! I think I need to go lie down in a dark room for a bit, that was traumatic but bloody brilliant!" (Tishylou’s World, 5 stars)

"BOOM!!!! Carol Wyer does it again! I can't even express how much I love the Detective Natalie Ward series... OMG!... I simply can't get enough of this series. Carol Wyer can't write fast enough for me!" (It’s All About the Thrill, 5 stars)

"Compelling... Remarkable... Utterly thrilling. I read this exceptional book in one sitting. I simply could not put it down. I was hanging onto the edge of my seat as this book reached a crescendo. I definitely cannot wait for the next book in the series." (Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars)

©2019 Carol Wyer (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Dare

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

This was so plodding and dull I gave up.

A really dull slog through a wearisome tale. The main characters (the police team) are so shallowly depicted it's impossible to care about any of them. Come on! This is the 3rd book in the series and I can barely tell one character from another. The narrator didn't help as she seemed to use the same voice for both the female officers. I was excited by the first book in the series as I thought, ah ha, I am going to enjoy getting to know these people as the series progresses. But I've felt more human interest in the cast of the Muppet show. Please, give these people some heart and soul, not just relationship "issues".

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Family drama!

Excellent Detective story trying to solve three missing teenage girls disappearances, who having seen a Dare on the Internet thought they wouuld participate.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Expected - no surprises

Love the writing style but the story was highly predictable and although I have grown to love the recurring characters, there was a lot of repetitive going in circle internal monologues for the main character's private life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping but warning contains animal cruelty

Had me hooked but there were few parts about a kitten and a dog that was hard to listen too. great story, if you liked her first two, you'll enjoy this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story

Loved the narration,.the story and the characters. Brilliant thriller with the most determined detective to protect the teenagers!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Guessing till the end

As always this didn't disapoint. The villain was well hidden with expert deception and mystery.
And getting to know the personal lives of the main characters was expertly woven into the narrative.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deedra
  • Deedra
  • 16-01-2020

The Dare

This is a wonderful follow up to book 2.Excellent story of girls going missing and showing up dead.Is this a 'dare' or a kidnapper?Diana Croft was a wonderful narrator.I think I bought this one BUT just in case: I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.' 

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MzCarrie
  • MzCarrie
  • 22-05-2019

Love Carol Wyer

This book is one of the best yet. All of Carol's books are great but Natalie is so relatable and real balancing career and family. The narrator is perfect. Can't wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sketchy Irish
  • Sketchy Irish
  • 30-04-2019

The Dare...

This was an amazing read!
The scary thing is that social media issues and teens are crazy these days!
Being a mother of a daughter almost the age of these girls, the story stood true!

We were left with questions, so I'm looking forward to #4!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 27-04-2019

2

A very long book about more of the same: cop has to solve several murders, no leads, no foresics, no good ideas....

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MS BERNICE WELLS
  • MS BERNICE WELLS
  • 24-01-2020

Lasted all day

Didn't turn on the tv, carried my phone and had to listen to the end didn't even pause it thanks.
Now off to the next one, hadn't heard ofCarol Wyer but i have now

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susieq
  • susieq
  • 26-11-2020

Disappointing

The narrator tried too hard and became boring with her ‘men’s’ voices. The story line was dragged out and I used the book as a bedtime story to fall asleep to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 24-05-2020

Enjoyable series

I’m listening to this series one after the other so it’s difficult to find things to say. I’m still listening and interested that speaks for itself doesn’t it?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diane Walmsley
  • Diane Walmsley
  • 22-08-2021

excellent listen

really enjoyed the who did it, with so many blind alleys to follow, Did feel the narrator had forgotten who had what accent at the beginning which didn't help when there are so many suspects

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aggi Wise
  • Aggi Wise
  • 05-07-2021

Great book

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, excellent read, keeps you on your toes all the way through with lots of unexpected twists and turns.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-12-2019

Its an OK read...

The book is slightly on the boring side. It drags and is predictable. However the performance was nice and it does miraculously keep you hooked.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for r hadwin
  • r hadwin
  • 18-05-2019

narrators

personally I thought the narrators made characters sound older than they were meant to be

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for FELICITY GAINARD
  • FELICITY GAINARD
  • 07-05-2019

Ok

Didn’t rally enjoy this oil as the narration was just awful . Story ok and I kept going but only because I didn’t want to waste a credit .

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.