Get Your Free Audiobook

Somebody's Daughter

Detective Natalie Ward, Book 7
Narrated by: Diana Croft
Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

One by one the girls disappeared....

When the frail body of a teenage girl is discovered strangled in a parking lot, shards of ice form in Detective Natalie Ward’s veins. As Natalie looks at the freckles scattered on her cheeks and the pale pink lips tinged with blue, she remembers that this innocent girl is somebody’s daughter.

The girl is identified as missing teenager Amelia Saunders, who has run away from home and her controlling father. Natalie’s heart sinks further when it becomes clear that Amelia has been working on the streets, manipulated by her violent new boyfriend, Tommy.

A day later, another vulnerable girl is found strangled on a park bench. Like Amelia, Katie Bray was a runaway with connections to Tommy, and Natalie is determined to find him and track down the monster attacking these scared and lonely girls.

But when a wealthy young woman is found murdered the next morning, the word guilty scrawled on her forehead, Natalie realizes that the case is more complex than she first thought. Determined to establish a connection between her three victims, Natalie wastes no time in chasing down the evidence, tracing everyone who crossed their paths. Then, a key suspect’s body turns up in the canal, a mole in Natalie’s department leaks vital information and everything seems to be against her. Can Natalie stop this clever and manipulative killer before they strike again?

A crime thriller from a best-selling author that will have you sleeping with the light on. This gripping roller-coaster ride is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Rachel Caine. Prepare to be totally hooked!

©2020 Carol Wyer (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Somebody's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay

Been a wonderful series so far but I found this instalment tedious. Way too much irrelevant relationship back story that dragged the narrative down. I hope the pace picks up if there is another in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 13-09-2020

great series

excelent naration by Diana Croft
she brings the books alive
love the twist and turns of Carol Wyners books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AddyJacks
  • AddyJacks
  • 02-09-2020

Man O Man

I love Carol’s writing; this is a brilliant book that had me hooked from the prologue. I hope to enjoy Natalie’s investigations for a lifetime. Highly recommend ALL the Detective Natalie Ward books!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara
  • Barbara
  • 13-08-2020

A Story That Resonates Today

Carol Wyer has created an intricate and intriguing story. The underlying topics of homelessness and mental illness resonate in today's climate.

Newly promoted DCI Natalie Ward is working through the challenges of a blended family with her partner, Mike, when she's thrown into a complicated series of murders. Are they the work of one killer, or are they random. Natalie assigns the case to recently promoted Lucy, who is not only struggling with her own issues, but is unsure of herself as lead Investigator.

As the case progresses, the team finds themselves involved in department politics, the world of the homeless, sufferers of mental illness, drugs, and prostitution.

I had a few suspects at the beginning, but learned I wasn't close to solving this case. There were some great twists in this story and I was hooked till the end.

Diana Croft did an excellent job as narrator.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Journey
  • Journey
  • 17-07-2020

Don't waste your time.

Not worth ordering. Could not stay with it. Story was predictable and needed more excitement.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 16-07-2020

Emotional

I couldn’t wait to order this book as soon as it was released.

Do not start the series with this book. Start at the beginning to get the backstories of the major players.

Natalie is now a DCI so she has to leave the investigation to Lucy and the team. But we know Natalie won’t stop taking part. Sadly, multiple murders occur and trying to find a connection keeps Lucy’s team on their toes. I say sadly because I felt sadness at these crimes. In a short time, Carol Wyer made me care for the victims. Most of them at least. And as the story wrapped up, I felt sadness at the ending. Real sadness. I’m still upset.

There was a message here, too, about mental illness and homelessness.

Again, Diana Croft did a fine job with the narration.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 24-07-2020

Enjoyable

This seemed to revive a series I felt should have come to an end. I’ve said it before and I know it’s churlish, but for me it’s off putting and that is the voice of Mike, it doesn’t match his description and makes him sound like, a not very bright, old man!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Bell
  • J. Bell
  • 17-07-2020

Gripping storyline as always from Carol Wyer.

Plot twists mixed with personal lives, makes a fantastic read. Can't wait for next instalment!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-07-2020

Uneven storytelling

Although I am glad to have read this next book in the series, I was disappointed with the storytelling. The characters seemed overly cliched and the ending quite unsatisfying. Personally I would sack Lucy who seems like a petulant and incompetent DI. Not up to the author’s usual standard.