Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A magic cupcake. A culinary killer. The perfect recipe for murder.

Wren knew her sweet treats could work wonders, but she never knew they could work magic. She barely has time to wrap her head around the stunning revelation when the head of the prestigious Confectioner’s Guild falls down dead before her. Poisoned by her cupcake. 

Now facing murder charges in a magical world she doesn’t understand, Wren must discover who framed her or face the headsman’s axe. With the help of a handsome inspector and several new friends, Wren just might manage to learn the ropes, master her new powers, and find out who framed her. But when their search for clues leads to a deep-rooted conspiracy that goes all the way to the top, she realizes that the guild master isn’t the only one at risk of death by chocolate. 

If Wren can’t bring the powerful culprit to justice, she and her friends will meet a bittersweet end. 

The Confectioner’s Guild is a delicious YA fantasy mystery. If you like spunky chefs and twisty mysteries with a drizzle of romance, then you’ll love Claire Luana’s scrumptious tale that’s sure to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Buy The Confectioner’s Guild to conquer your cravings with a magical mystery today!

The Confectioner's Chronicles is a young adult fantasy mystery series perfect for fans of Maria Snyder, Erika Johansen, and Gail Carriger.

©2018 Claire Luana (P)2020 Claire Luana

What listeners say about The Confectioner's Guild

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for April Reads and Listens
  • April Reads and Listens
  • 14-06-2020

OMG Cupcakes!

I'm not going to lie, the cover was what attracted me first to this book. Then I quickly realized it was all about cupcakes, magic and mystery. I was all in.

This was such a great listen. Kelsey Navarro is one of female narrators that I like listening to. She gave Wren's adventure life!
The story was full of well, cupcakes and the twists and turns and kept me guessing. The characters were great too. It's my first Luana book but now I want the second book as well.

**a code was provided for me to listen and review**

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmberK5
  • AmberK5
  • 24-03-2020

Magic & Murder!!

The Confectioner's Guild by Claire Luana!

Magic and a murder mystery, what's not to love?? I was grabbed by this story right from the beginning and was kept guessing till the end! Really wonderful characters and a great magical world! I really enjoyed this story!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nhite
  • Nhite
  • 26-05-2020

Unique and Intriguing World

I loved the idea of the Confectioner’s Guild. It was such a unique idea to me that I was completely submerged in the story. The narrator had a lovely voice. She was very easy to listen to and made it simple to follow along with the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 23-03-2020

Confection!

Wow! Loved this story! What would it be like to be accused of murder! Twist and turns,will the truth come out before it's too late! Narrator makes the story come alive!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 23-03-2020

Loved it!!

Pleasantly surprised at how well the concept of cupcakes worked with this book!! I knew knowing the author this would be a good book but I wasn’t sure how the baking or even cupcakes would come to play and I must say that I absolutely enjoyed the story. It has fabulous world building that I thoroughly enjoyed and the main character, Wren. Gosh, I just love her!!
There is a bit of everything on this book. A hint of romance, Magic, baking, murder, and mystery. Loved it!!

I listened to the audiobook and I highly recommend. The narrator Kelsey Navarro truly brought the story alive for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melodie Luckett
  • Melodie Luckett
  • 22-03-2020

Loved this book!!

I really enjoyed this book!!

The Characters were quirky, fun, scary and quite interesting!!

This book kept me guessing until the end!!!

Bring on book 2!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Milia Glafira
  • Milia Glafira
  • 22-03-2020

lovely, exciting

my first audio from Luana and it's been an amazing ride! could barely stop listening! it did start out with a lottttt of cupcakes, enough to notice that I was wondering...but it explained itself quickly and from that it became more a mystery with slight signs of some romance. you feel for Wren and fall in love with the characters. I do wish for more details on the worldbuilding. the end is twisty and not what you think! great narrative, recommend this for everyone!! thanks lady Luana ♥️ (good thing I already have the rest of the series in my Kindle 😆)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda L. Curley
  • Amanda L. Curley
  • 22-03-2020

Awesomely Good!

I honestly loved this book! It had all the elements I need to keep me hooked: action, magic, murder, mystery, romance, refreshingly unique plot, amazing world building! Let's not forget that the characters are easily relatable, as well as being perfectly flawed and nuanced in layers. The narrator was also perfect for this book--in character voices, etc. I am definitely continuing on with this series! Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LittleE
  • LittleE
  • 20-03-2020

Loved this so much!

Mystery, intrigue, murder and desserts! I mean, really, what more do you need? This was a delightful story, and all my personal guesses on whodunnit were wrong! (I’m no Sherlock though so maybe that doesn’t mean much). I loved all the characters and the world that Luana creates for them to inhabit. The political intrigue was fabulous, and a murder mystery is always captivating.

Narration was great, definitely worth your audible credits. I’ll be looking for the next book for sure.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cleocutie
  • Cleocutie
  • 15-03-2020

Great book

Wonderful story that introduces us to a world that promises to be complex and beautifully written about. It draws you in and keeps you interested until the very end. The narrator really brings the story to life.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 18-04-2020

Great storyline

I Enjoyed this audio book very much
Hopefully they will be more audio books
Must read on your list

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trisha
  • Trisha
  • 17-04-2020

Great book just enough Steam Punkyness

Loved the book one of the best book I have heard for a goodly while.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sally Goddard
  • Sally Goddard
  • 15-04-2020

loved the twists and turns

was worried it would have a lot of description of cakes but it wasnt too bad.

loved the characters and the twists and turns of the story.

a decent length book for Audible, nicely read. A stand alone book but a further book about her life is quite possible.

I will definitely check out more of her writings.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 24-03-2020

Don’t listen to if your hungry!

I enjoyed this very much! Love the world that has been created and will carry on with the series! :)

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.