Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $30.38

Buy Now for $30.38

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Former special ops soldier Alex Reeve is Operative 66.

One of the UK's deadliest weapons, he is part of the mysterious C6 - an elite and top-secret security service with a remit to neutralise the country's most dangerous enemies. 

But now Reeve is in the firing line. Framed as a traitor, Reeve is forced to flee as every operative is instructed to kill the 'rogue asset'. On the run from his own government, alone and under the radar, Reeve must survive off grid with fearsome assassins on his trail. 

He doesn't know why he's a target. Or who betrayed him. But if one man has the skills necessary to uncover the truth...it is Operative 66.

From the international best seller comes an explosive, action-packed new thriller series - the perfect pulse-racing listen for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Gregg Huwitz.

©2020 Andy McDermott (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Operative 66

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolute rubbish

Narration is poor. Story is very weak compared to authors such as Stephen Leather, Simon Kernick and Andy Mcnab.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

average

ok for a story, but weak plot with obvious twists. the main character lacks depth and is predictably manipulated. don't expect too much from this one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great action

Love the agent’s resourcefulness! I would have liked to know a little more about what happened after the ending, what was the hero doing after?
Also don’t agree with hero “saving the day” in the end. After what he has discovered and heard from new friends would have been great for him to stop the second last event but let the last one happen as an FU to the people trying to kill him.
Regardless, still really enjoyed the book!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard S. Swol
  • Richard S. Swol
  • 21-07-2020

Andy McDermott produces yet another great book

This is, at present at least, a stand alone novel. I'm okay with that as it has a beginning, middle, and an ending. It does leave a couple key story threads dangling on the chance that the author might want to revisit this world. Do they NEED to be resolved? Maybe, maybe not. I'm okay either way. The story works well by itself or as the start of a series.

This novel is much closer to the author's previous effort, The Persona Protocol than to the Eddie Chase/Nina Wilde books. Those tend to be, despite the violence, much more light hearted. This book on the other hand is straight up action. In fact, you are about a quarter of the way through the story before you can take a breath and the protagonist asks himself, "What is going on and does everyone want to kill me".

Expect considerable mayhem on an Andy McDermott scale. ( Okay, not destroying whole cities or national landmarks, but big on a more realistic scale).

I enjoyed this book and had trouble putting it down. Highly recommended to action adventure fans.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beeb
  • Beeb
  • 22-04-2021

Not Much of a Story

I would call this a collection of events rather than a story. This is supposed to be a spy novel but the spy is basically a fighter without mind or plan. I did enjoy the first few chapters and I finished the book (although skipping parts of pure predictable boredom.) more out of disbelief than wanting to finish. Hence the 2 stars. Not recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for itinerant
  • itinerant
  • 29-11-2020

hero fantasy

This starts out with plenty of action and firepower and narrow escapes and car chases and highly unlikely motivation, and rapidly descends into bathos, or whatever the word is for a knight-errant fantasy wish fulfillment tale is. Wherever our intrepid hero goes, the weak are being molested by the venal yet strong, and he manages to rescue numerous damsels in distress daily, sometimes before breakfast. Yt he remains humble, while hinting of a bad upbringing that he's now dedicated to ensuring doesn't happen to anyone else, at least not without intervention by some strong, silent type. He is of course adopted by one of the aforementioned damsels . . .

In short, this goes from the silly to the inane to the just plain stupid fairly quickly. If you're looking for Jack Reacher, he took the last train elsewhere . . .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-08-2020

Poor knockoff of the poor Bourne Identity movie

Poor knockoff of the poor Bourne Identity movie. Skip this one for something hopefully better.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eric Saucedo
  • Eric Saucedo
  • 26-01-2021

great listen

Andy has done it again, get twists and turns the whole way. amazing character development.
definitely recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Townsend
  • J. Townsend
  • 16-09-2020

Andy McDermott does it again!

I have not read/heard a novel by this author that I haven't loved. Excellent story, really sucks you in, gets super intense...a great talent for making you really love the protagonist (s) and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Narrator was excellent as well. My only complaint is that I've finished all of McDermott's novels and now I have to wait for whatever he comes out with next!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-07-2020

amazing grown up stuff

I have loved every book . this is next level
the narrator was excellent. Eddie and nina are great stories. this is real

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Glenn
  • Glenn
  • 20-01-2021

completely unbelievable

I stopped within an hour. the dialogue was completely unbelievable. no-one trying for this allegedly elite unit would 'blush with hearing the praise' or ask repeatedly whether or not they had made the grade. I'm going to send this back for the first time in a long time

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Coffeeholic
  • Coffeeholic
  • 28-11-2020

Like modern super cars are too fast for normal roads - this book has too much action

No one likes an action story as much as me, but I do like to breathe! This book is great, but a bit of down time on the journal wouldn’t go amiss - I mean, it’s NOT for bedtime reading - you’d never sleep! Great but less might be more! Never thought I’d write that about a book of this genre!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-10-2020

English Jack Reacher in the making.

A good listen, look forward to a 2nd one from him. Hope it comes out soon, would like to hear what there next adventure is.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for toad46
  • toad46
  • 07-01-2021

well worth a listen.

Narrator is very good, accents are decent and you can tell who is who straight away. Storyline is ok though can be predictable at times. All in all a decent listen wont keep you on edge of your seat but you wont want to turn off either

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NP
  • NP
  • 27-12-2020

Excellent companion for running

Great book with plenty of twists and turns and not overly predictable. Very fast paced so I like these kinds of books as I listen to them whilst running. So, for that, it hit the spot!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-10-2020

Yet another gung-ho hero story.

Lots of people die or get badly hurt but you can guess what happens to oerative 66!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for OldManNoob, on a Galaxy tablet running Kindle
  • OldManNoob, on a Galaxy tablet running Kindle
  • 02-09-2020

Thoroughly enjoyed.

Excellent narration kept the visuals flowing in this absorbing story. I'll be looking for more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for simon c jones
  • simon c jones
  • 01-08-2021

All a bit thin

Struggled to take it seriously. Plot was paper thin, characters wafer thin and the narration weak.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Huard
  • Huard
  • 23-06-2021

Gripping

Action from start to finish, gripping and very difficult to put down.... so I kept listening, ops! 😀

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.