Get Your Free Audiobook

Murder at Hawthorn Cottage

A Melissa Craig Mystery, Book 1
Narrated by: Joan Walker
Length: 8 hrs and 47 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)
Non-member price: $27.79
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Melissa: cat lover, caring mother… daring detective?

Melissa Craig is absolutely delighted with her new life in an old crumbling cottage, spending her days pruning the primroses and getting to know Binkie, the ginger cat next door. She only wishes she had made the move to the countryside sooner.

But when a knock at the door brings news of a shocking discovery, she suddenly finds herself thrown in to the middle of a baffling mystery: the bones of a young woman have been found in the woods just behind her new home.

Perhaps the little village of Upper Bembury is not as idyllic as it first seemed?

Strange phone calls in the night convince Melissa that the police are barking up completely the wrong tree, so she can’t resist doing a little digging of her own. From the bingo hall to the beauty salon and beyond, her search ruffles a few feathers and uncovers many of the village’s most scandalous secrets, but gets her no closer to finding the culprit.

The discovery of a tatty old photograph in a drawer is the final piece of the puzzle she needs, but as a newcomer in this close-knit community, does Melissa have what it takes to get to the bottom of this extraordinary murder mystery alone?

A joy to read! An absolutely unpausable whodunnit for fans of Agatha Christie, P.D. James and Faith Martin.

This book was previously published as A Little Gentle Sleuthing.

©2018 Betty Rowlands (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t get past Chapter 3

I did not enjoy the narration and the flowery detail was too predictable. Returned without finishing.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sally
  • 27-10-2018

Good clean mystery.

I enjoyed this novel. It is interesting and full of twists. Would recommend to anyone who likes a well written mystery.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • John
  • 09-09-2018

Without A Doubt,.. The Strangest Narration I Have EVER Heard

Yikes,..!!.. A book can be absolutely stellar... but if you choose the wrong narrator,.. and give her free reign to muddle the accents of everyone in the entire book..(except the heroine) you are sure to have a recipe for disaster.
A quirky , regional inflection, not unlike a peculiar aunt is FINE for one character,.. but she did it for men, women,young,old, good ,bad .. impossible not to be peevish by the time it was blessedly over...

25 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kozz
  • 15-09-2018

Top-notch

Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. Audible really brings a book to life. On to Betty's next cozy mystery!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Beatrice
  • 11-11-2018

4 stars

The story started off slowly, creating the characters and establishing the setting. I almost gave up on it. But, I continued to listen and it was worth it. Murder at Hawthorne Cottage is a realistic story with engaging and believable characters. The supporting cast is also interesting and adds to the feeling of genuineness of the mystery. There are several twists and turns and the villain is a complete surprise. I look forward to the next book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Nola A. Stewart
  • 25-10-2018

What a waste of my time!

Could not even finish this book. Poor plot, even worse story telling. The narrator though her voice beautiful had a difficult time creating characters that were believable. It was a slow build to a not so interesting mystery with unbelievable characters and choppy ending. I skipped to the end of the book to find that out.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Frieda
  • 20-09-2018

splendid!!

This is going to be a very interesting series. Don't miss it!! I liked narrator.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeannette T
  • 02-10-2018

Everything’s good about this book.

I had a hard time putting this down. A lot of personal details and mystery/crime clues made this one full of suspense and anticipation. I’m looking forward to her next book.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • joan gourley
  • 30-12-2018

Great surprise

After reading many mysteries including several cozy ones. This was a great book. I would rate this one of my favorites. The characters were fun so interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jojo Rocklin
  • 19-02-2019

Lots of twists

Lovely bit of character building & plot weaving excellent, kept me guessing. Excellent main character

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shadmac
  • 18-02-2019

Refreshingly skerry

Cleverly written - Delightful characters (good and bad) - I look forward to reading this author again and again and again...

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 22-09-2018

A great story

Hi great story line. a star writer
you feel you could be there in the story
on to next book

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M RICHARDS
  • 14-10-2018

Another place to be.

I’ve enjoyed this beautifully narrated and highly descriptive story thoroughly both, whilst washing the car and in the gym. The time just flew by with a well paced and beautifully written, twisting tale that took me to another place.
Murder in the morning next!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Truds
  • 23-10-2018

Oh so slow!

Frustratingly slow story line. I found the characters bland. The narrator frequently read in an over enunciated and dramatic manner where I found there to be nothing of suspense or significance in the story line requiring this. For me, this book was a waste of a credit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • fotini
  • 22-11-2018

Sadly disappointing

When I saw that this was the first of a series I was so pleased as I love following sleuths from one book to the next. It was sad for me, as I was totally uncaptivated by the characters and the story. I plodded on for quite some time and in the end had to give up as I simply didn't care what happened next. Obviously there are listeners who enjoy this story line but unfortunately I am not one of them

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • B. M. Curry
  • 16-01-2019

Good story,

The storyline was good. I didn’t see the end coming. The narrators voice grated. Her normal narration of Melissa was good and a pleasant easy to listen to voice, but the voice she put on for the other characters male and female, young and old, all seemed a bit like a cackling witch.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • hettyc
  • 26-12-2018

Disappointed

The book I feel had no real story to it. It just drifted along with odd clues here and there and a disappointing ending.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-11-2018

Murder at Hawthorn Cottage

Excellent. Really enjoyed it. Kept guessing until the end. Will definitely read other books by this author

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. Angela Mclaren
  • 29-10-2018

great read

loved this kept me wanting to get back to the next chapter every time I stopped listening

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bronwyn R
  • 11-02-2019

Cleverly Woven Story

Very much enjoyed listening to this intricate tale,: celebrating the happier moments with 'Melissa' and feeling sincerely sad at the down points... I was kept guessing right through to the 'reveal' and so couldn't get back to it fast enough when i had to pause it when real life got in the way. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • pollyfitz
  • 07-02-2019

loved it.

enjoyable listen. look forward to next one no P D James or Anne Cleeves but more Agatha Christie /Agatha Raisin type. but don't always want to tax the brain too much.