Get Your Free Audiobook

Murder in the Dining Room: An absolutely gripping British cozy mystery

A Melissa Craig Mystery, Book 11
Narrated by: Joan Walker
Length: 8 hrs
5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)
Non-member price: $27.79
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A grand old house soaks up the golden summer sun...but inside the dining room something dreadful has happened.

Melissa couldn’t be happier that summer has arrived. She’s delighted to have her mother back by her side, and she is extending her beloved Hawthorn Cottage so her new family can live together.

Meanwhile, Melissa’s mother, Sylvia, is back in good health and enjoying a brief stay at a stately retirement home. She loves getting to know the residents, until first a dog and then his owner are both found dead in the dining room. Like mother, like daughter, Sylvia decides to do a little investigating of her own.

Convinced that the deaths are suspicious, Sylvia starts probing her fellow residents, trying to find out who might have wanted the dog and its owner dead. Could it be the once-married couple, or the glamorous actors, or the harassed manager of the home?

When one of Sylvia’s friends falls ill in suspicious circumstances, Melissa realizes her mother has rattled someone, but who? And what happens if the killer realizes they’ve been rumbled? Will Sylvia find herself meeting a villain in the dining room? And can Melissa find the culprit before another life is taken?

An absolutely gripping mystery for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis!

This book was previously published as No Laughing Matter.

What reviewers are saying about Betty Rowlands:

"An absolutely addictive, wonderful story. Loved it from start to finish. Great pace and a delightful setting, colourful characters and thrilling mystery. This was a brilliant story and I cannot wait for more!" (Renita D’Silva, author of The Forgotten Daughter, 5 stars)

"Once I started reading I couldn't put it down as it was entertaining and enthralling… The mystery was interesting and it kept me guessing till the end... Highly recommended!" (Scrapping and Playing, 5 stars)

"The quintessential cozy mystery...the storyline is fast-paced and engaging...builds to an adrenaline fuelled ending, full of action and powerful imagery. An enjoyable, escapist read that I suspect may become my secret addiction." (Jane Hunt’s Blog, 5 stars)

©2003, 2019 Betty Rowlands (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeannette T
  • 18-04-2019

Very good. I never suspected the culprit!

Everything good about this one. At first I thought Sylvia was too annoying and childish. However, she seemed to grow up and started acting more mature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Beatrice
  • 14-04-2019

5 stars

This is is another entertaining book in the Melissa Craig mystery series. I enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LuvBks
  • 11-04-2019

More?

Sincerely there will be more Betty Rowland’s books available
It’s a great read good mystery and wonderful characters

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 25-03-2019

Ageism

The only thing I would like to complain about is that she portrays people my age 63 as old. I'm not old and more relate to Mel Craig's age .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful