Get Your Free Audiobook

Man of the Year

Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.58

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Beware the man of the year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.

Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named man of the year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house, a beautiful new wife, and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. Even his wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s troubled college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer him their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity.

But when he begins to notice his new houseguest getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack. All the little lies Robert tells - harmless falsehoods meant to protect everything he holds dear - begin to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a desperate downward spiral, destroying the lives that stand in his way. It’s only the women in his life - his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife - who can clearly see the truth.

Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, with a wicked twist you won’t see coming.

©2019 Caroline Louise Walker (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 13-06-2019

Nothing Like The Book Description


NO SPOILERS! I was excited to get this book after reading the publishers description but it is extremely misleading and nothing like what was promised.

This book is nothing more than a family drama. You will be disappointed if you are looking for a dark story or suspense.


The only thing good are the narrators but even then it was confusing as to which character was talking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenn
  • Jenn
  • 13-06-2019

Man of the year plus the peanut gallery

The other reviewers are correct that the book summary is somewhat misleading. In the book we get nearly every character’s perspective, even minor characters, at some point but I wouldn't say it was helpful or relevant at all. In fact, there were some viewpoints where extensive background info and even entire poems were recited that had zero overall impact on the storyline, not even to add to character development. The dad was quite abhorrent and it took me a little thinking after listening to it to understand why things ultimately unfolded the way they did, not that I thought it was logical but I just kind of got it more. The one redeeming aspect about the story was that it did not unravel how I thought it would, the order of events was surprising and kept me interested. Instead of having everyone's point of view it might have been more effective to further develop the primary characters to understand them better and make their actions more reasonable and impactful. I was somewhat entertained by the book but I wouldn't suggest it outright, especially due to the discrepancy of the summary and the actual story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-08-2019

Boring, strung out novel about nothing

Narcissistic, self-centred husband, thin plot to say the best, utterly boring and a waste of time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carolina Rush
  • Carolina Rush
  • 14-06-2019

Possible Misprint of Book Description?

The narrator of this book was superb - crisp, natural and confident. In fact, the narration was so good, it was why I attempted to stick with it.

As other reviewers mentioned, the book description and story are totally off. The summary. was nothing like what I heard. After giving this three fair tries, it seems the description provided was meant for a different book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AL (Chicago, IL)
  • AL (Chicago, IL)
  • 27-06-2019

<br />A mind-twisting thriller by a breakout author!

Caroline Louise Walker's use of language is fabulous - from dark and brooding to laugh out loud funny, this psychological thriller is a fascinating read that will keep you on your toes until the final pages.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah
  • Deborah
  • 25-06-2019

Full of surprises & well written!!!

As I began to listen to this book and heard the main character, Robert, dig himself into many different holes, I could feel the tension in my body and anticipation of something bad coming from the crazy thoughts and stories this man was telling himself! And I could totally relate to his monkey mind, because I have one too, which is humiliating to see, but I could understand the mess he was beginning to create!
This is a really good story, the writing is beautiful, and so many times I wish I could see the words, so I bought a hard copy. The ending was totally unexpected! I can see this book becoming a movie! Great beach read!
I always like to hear whatever Cassandra Campbell is reading, because I know it will be good! I look forward to more books from Caroline Louise Walker!