Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Alissa is steadily advancing in her magical studies with the last surviving Master at the legendary Hold. But she’s haunted by dreams - dreams revealing that other Masters have survived.

Alissa’s dreams lead her to a distant island where she and a rescue party discover countless Masters, alive and part of a flourishing magical society. But instead of being welcomed, Alissa finds that she herself may need to be rescued. The Masters’ leader, Keribdis, believes that she should be Alissa’s teacher, whether Alissa likes it or not. When Alissa rebels, she endangers not only her magic but also her life.

©2004 Dawn Cook (P)2010 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

“Fun…sure to appeal to fans of Tamora Pierce or Robin McKinley…everything I need in a good read.” (Patricia Briggs, New York Times bestselling author)

What listeners say about Lost Truth

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Garry
  • Garry
  • 28-09-2010

.. and nothing but the truth

Having completed the series I have to say I am disappointed there are only four books. As stories go this one is one of the best. I don't know if it is Dawn (Kim's) writing but coupled with Marguerite Gavin's narration it makes me listen to the series often, it is just so enjoyable.
The story leaves me thinking I know the characters. I find them to have real depth and have developed a real fondness for them.
I would really love to see a sequel to the series. I find I have question at the end that stretch my imagination.
This is a good book with great narration. Listen to it! Please. I believe you will enjoy it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patsy G.
  • Patsy G.
  • 08-10-2010

super great series

maybe the last book in this series, maybe not, all four book were wonderful, the narrator was awesom, the story was rich in love, faith, trust and friendship.
This was a great series that I see my self re listening to over and over again...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey Case
  • Tracey Case
  • 25-07-2018

Narrator was horrible.

I have this series in paperback and wanted it on my Audible. After listening to the first chapter, I just could not do her way of reading for all three books. Returned all three. THANK YOU Audible for giving me this option.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RobinDay
  • RobinDay
  • 19-11-2016

Narrator flaws otherwise excellent story

As usual, Dawn Cook has crafted a very good book, but the narrator spoiled it for me. She was great when telling the story in the third person and when taking the part of the female lead character, but she was unable to speak the key male character's part without ruining it. Apparently not having developed
the ability to mimic a convincing foreign accent, she resorted to a weird-sounding fake sing-song that was primarily distinguished by putting the emphasis on words that should not have been emphasized. This made it sound as if the narrator did not understand the meaning of the words she spoke and was quite irritating. If you can overlook that, you will probably enjoy this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Hogue
  • A. Hogue
  • 09-07-2013

Good ending,I want more

I really enjoyed this series. I was so hesitant to get into it because it's teen, but ultimately glad I did. I listened to all three in a row and was sad when it ended. I felt like I could continue enjoying stories in that world. I hope she revives it, even if it's with different characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brianna Dean
  • Brianna Dean
  • 09-11-2020

Adored this series

I came across this series accidentally when searching through my free audible reads. I had no idea I was going to LOVE it so much. Such a unique take on the genre and it was very clear the Author thought through the plot line all the way through from the beginning. Little things here and there from the previous books give small insights to Massive unveiling’s that you will never see coming. The characters are all so unique and I found myself loving all of them for one reason or another. Please give the book a chance. You won’t be disappointed. -Brianna

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for beejay
  • beejay
  • 26-10-2020

I hope there will be more!

A great story and even greater performance! I truly hope there will be more, this cant be it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-07-2019

.

I loved it, but the voice actor changed the voice of one of the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Thomas
  • Angela Thomas
  • 24-08-2017

great listen, complex characters, easy to follow.

Ms. Cook has built another easy listen story line, with complex characters that made me feel apart of their world. A beautiful escape.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thomas Eddy
  • Thomas Eddy
  • 12-08-2016

My favorite Audible book series

If you could sum up Lost Truth in three words, what would they be?

I have listen to this series at least five times (I have not kept track) and I am listening again. I simply love how Marguerite Gavin reads this story. She give a unique voice to each characters and her male voices are believable. The story itself is great and I highly recommend it.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.