Get Your Free Audiobook

In Her Skin

Length: 10 hrs and 30 mins
4 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

Non-member price: $41.73

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The perfect next listen for fans of Megan Miranda and Jessica Knoll, In Her Skin is a gripping debut thriller told from the perspectives of three unforgettable women.

Meggie Meyer, an anxiety-ridden debut author, can’t bear to face her upcoming book tour, but she can’t give up on her writing career just as it’s about to really begin. She comes up with a plan that’s so crazy, it just might work: She hires an actress to impersonate her for the two-week stint. Sloan Buchanan, the spunky aspiring actress, jumps at the opportunity to use her intensive acting method to sink into this unusual role, and the line between her and her character quickly begins to blur. And Rachel Drake, the no-nonsense detective, is left to put the pieces together when Sloan vanishes after the tour’s end.

In rotating chapters from these three unique voices, we unravel the complicated web of secrets that Sloan left in her wake, working towards the shocking truth behind her disappearance.

Please note: This audio contains strong language, distressing situations, and descriptions of violence that some listeners may find upsetting. Discretion is advised.

©2019 Alex Kiester (P)2019 Audible Originals, LLC.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Just love this. Fantastic characters who hold your interest. I do hope she writes another book soon. Lovely to read a story that holds my interest all the way through.
Bummer what will I read next. 🥴

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelley
  • Kelley
  • 23-10-2019

Just trust me and download...

So thankful that this download coincided with a road trip for work. Couldn't be more thankful to have uninterrupted alone time to listen. I kept guessing what I thought would happen next....I was wrong every. single. time. Even sat in the car multiple times refusing to get out so I could hear what happened next.

If you're a follower of Reese's Book Club, you will LOVE this book! Three strong and unique female characters written beautifully by a woman....it's exactly what that book club is looking for! I would be shocked if it's not an upcoming selection in the book club soon.

30 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Zoey&Jasper's Mommie
  • Zoey&Jasper's Mommie
  • 24-10-2019

Amazing Debut!!

Cannot believe this is Mrs. Keisters debut novel! This book is better than most books I have read this year, even books by big named authors that have several books published. I had so many theories while reading this book, but none panned out in the end and that makes this book an absolute winner for me. I read ALOT of books, all in the mystery/thriller genre, and it takes a lot to fool me. This book has given me faith that there are still good thrillers out there in the world. The plot was never slow or boring, characters were well fleshed with lots of dimension, and the outcome was both obvious and the least expected at the same time! Narration was superb and really brought this wonderful novel to life. Absolutely cannot wait to see what this amazing author comes out with next. Mrs. Kiester has a new fan that will wait impatiently for her next book to be published. Thank you so much for the absorbing read!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for astinmin
  • astinmin
  • 14-11-2019

With this book, I was happy to be stuck in traffic

I loved this book! Interesting plot twists, strong characters, and amazing narrators. While listening, I had so many thoughts in my head about what could have happened and they were changing all the time, so the book kept me intrigued and feeling excited for all 10 hours.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CallMeHarmon
  • CallMeHarmon
  • 12-11-2019

Great Story!

Intriguing characters. Kept me listening well past my bedtime. Compelling story, set in Austin, Texas. The narrators are superb! Deep dive into the world of a struggling actor and shy book author riddled with anxiety and guilt. Great contrast in their confidence levels! Well done Alex Kiester. Cannot wait to read/listen to your next story.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 21-10-2019

Wonderful binge-worthy novel!

This novel kept me engaged from the beginning and wanting more at the end. I really enjoyed the writer’s style and use of three separate perspectives as the narration switched from the vantage of each of three main characters. Author Alex Kiester’s writing draws you into each of the women’s lives and weaves intersecting worlds, and just as you start to feel comfortable, the plot thickens and twists in the most delightful way. Masterfully written and narrated. This is a must-listen!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth
  • Elizabeth
  • 14-12-2019

Loved it.

Excellent story-telling, strong performances. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have recommended it to friends already.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-12-2019

Well written

This was a great listen and a mystery until the very end. Well done. The narrations were great also.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheri B.
  • Sheri B.
  • 07-12-2019

Gripping Mystery. I highly recommend this book

I could not stop listening to this book. It kept my attention from the very beginning. Lots of twists and turns. A wonderful mystery. You can tell the author did a great deal of research into the criminal justice system. Very Intriguing. I highly recommend this book!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jai Walk  ❤
  • Jai Walk ❤
  • 08-11-2019

Awesome Debut

I found myself biting my nails waiting to see what happens next. I almost wish it were a movie. It absolutely deserves 5 stars for the performance, because I enjoyed the switching up of narrators. It was fun being able to play detective as the story unfolded. Overall, it was an excellent Audible Original. I would love to hear more from this author.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Courtney
  • Courtney
  • 20-10-2019

Delectable twists and hidden depths

There were several moments when I thought I knew where this story was going but then it would take me by surprise. It went places I wasn’t expecting at all and the ending really affected me. Each of the three main characters were well developed and the three readers performed their parts sooooo well. I was in the mood for a female detective story with a twisted mystery at its heart and IN HER SKIN gave me just what I was looking for.

9 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MK
  • MK
  • 11-11-2019

Ran out of steam

This was an ok read but not one that will stay in my mind. I thought the end was a bit of a disappointment but the performances were good
Mediocre in my view