Get Your Free Audiobook

Her Sister's Shoes

Narrated by: Tanya Eby
Series: Sweeney Sisters, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
4.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $28.94

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Dorothea Benton Frank, Her Sister's Shoes is a contemporary women's novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister's Shoes is the story of three sisters - Samantha, Jackie, and Faith - who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded 50th birthday and the discovery of her husband's infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother's mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer's, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

©2015 Ashley Farley (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Her Sister's Shoes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

nice story

I liked this story. I will probably read the next book so I can see what happens to the characters

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Schmanet
  • Schmanet
  • 25-07-2016

Heartwarming family issues.

First fiction I listened to after a non-fiction medical book. It was heartwarming, full of action and family issues that occur In real life. Well written and I loved the narrator's voice and presentation. I would like to read more from this author and listen to more books by the narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elle Knowles
  • Elle Knowles
  • 11-01-2019

Wonderful family story

This was a wonderful story and makes you believe good things can happen when family pulls together.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susie
  • Susie
  • 06-12-2018

wonderful!

not what I expected but it was a wonderful yet tear jerking at some points book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Rightler
  • Anne Rightler
  • 11-04-2017

Don't judge. Instead walk a mile in my shoes.

Her Sister's Shoes by Ashley Farley is a great beginning to The Sweeney Sisters series. We meet three very different sisters, who each have their own set of challenges to deal with. Not only are they different, they have their differences that pull them apart and yet, in the end, the family bond is the strongest pull of all. The story is fast paced with real-life situations that Farley infuses with drama and emotional tension. The characters are true-to-life and evocative--readers will get caught up in their lives. Family dilemmas covered by a whole lot of love and loyalty. I listened to the audiobook edition that is narrated by Tanya Eby. She does a great job of narration, making for an enjoyable listening experience.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tina Murphey
  • Tina Murphey
  • 04-08-2016

Enjoyable Read

I enjoyed this book. it was filled with Mystery, moments of real concern for the characters, bad guys, good guys, heartbreak and love. The Narrator was good at differentiating her voice for each character and giving each scenario it's correct voice. Overall a good read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 24-08-2020

This book was sooo good

I was happy then sad then hopeful then terrified then elated and sad ... then content!! You get the point!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debra Rogers
  • Debra Rogers
  • 27-05-2020

DKR

Loved this book. The interaction between the characters was the reason I could not put this book down. And the authors ending was prefect by holding up the importance of family unity. I soon we’ll in love with each character and was drawn into their lives and want to find out what happened to them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chloe G.
  • Chloe G.
  • 05-04-2020

Great book about the bonds of family.

Great book about sisters that grew up and went in different directions of life to then come back together and realize they had each other all along.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah sue Sloan
  • Deborah sue Sloan
  • 07-11-2019

Sister Shoes So Real

I love this book, listen to it three times now. It is never boring, thought provoking and close to real as it get. May even make you change your mind, the way you are treating family.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Map
  • Map
  • 04-01-2019

Good Book

It was an easy read and I look forward to the next book in the series.