Get Your Free Audiobook

Frostblood

The Frostblood Saga, Book One
Narrated by: Jennifer English
Series: The Frostblood Saga, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 37 mins
Categories: Young Adults, Ages 13 & Up
4.5 out of 5 stars (53 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The first in an addictive fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass.

Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies....

Ruby is a Fireblood. In a land ruled by frost, her very existence is a crime. She's spent her whole life in hiding.

Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.

She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus - a Frostblood rebel - by her side. But with alliances between flame and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?

Ruby will have only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot her fire will burn....

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Critic Reviews

"Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue." (Lori M. Lee)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a good book

Throughly enjoyed this book. So many twist and turns. I was really invested in the characters. Narrator was great at changing and being diverse for each of the characters. The book is very captivating. I can not wait to listen to the next book!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The accent is jawdroppingly good!

Loved it!
Definitely reccomend!
The narrator's accent and character portrayal is fascinating.
The author is very thorough with details, emotions and storyline, one thing I wanted was for the girl to be alittle more emotionally strong in some chapters, more my preference though - one of the first books I listened to before reading
not disappointed at all

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic narrator!

The story I think is better for teenagers, it didn't thrill me the way I hoped it would, but it's not bad at all and the narration was fantastic, she did excellent accents and voices!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this book

Really loved this book and the Narrator was great forming all the different voices for the characters.
Can't wait to listen to the next on.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-10-2018

GREAT

Constant suspense, I couldn't stop listening. This story is so good!! The performer is good too, her voice changes with the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E Sawyer
  • E Sawyer
  • 13-03-2017

Great fantasy story

I really love the fantasy genre, but it can get a little same-y at times. I felt like this story was original. I really like how the characters enteracted and grew with the story and I can't wait for the sequal. The performance given by Jennifer English was fantastic, she has a real talent with accents and bringing characters to life.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane White
  • Jane White
  • 30-12-2017

This was really fun!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend this. The story is really fun and easy to get through, if a little predictable at times. I really loved the narrator's voice - I think she made the main character more likable for me.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I wasn't shocked by the plot twist, but it was a good ending, and I think just compelling enough to make the reader want to read the sequel.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I really enjoyed the scene at the beginning - sad, but a good set up for the story to come. I also enjoyed one of the scenes between Arcus and Ruby, because there was lots of tension and excitement.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

"A whirlwind of ice and snow, perfect for newcomers to fantasy!"

Any additional comments?

This was a really great book for people just arriving in the fantasy genre - perhaps a little predictable for readers who have read more of it. But I definitely recommend the audiobook as I think I wouldn't have enjoyed the book as much when reading the physical copy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lis
  • Lis
  • 14-09-2017

Well paced enjoyable read

What did you like most about Frostblood?

I expected this to be your typical YA fantasy book and to an extent it was but it was so well written with great characters that I fell in love with it.

What did you like best about this story?

I really liked seeing the views of the characters challenged and that they were willing to look at things from a new perspective.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I loved all the scenes where the frost and fire magic went up against each other. They were always well written and descriptive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tanny
  • Tanny
  • 02-07-2019

Enjoyed

Enjoyed this book but found the right scenes a bit repetitive and therefore dull. Will happily try another book from this author or narrator.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Johanna
  • Johanna
  • 25-01-2019

Very predictable.

I predicted basically everything that would happen. The main character were a bit to naive for my taste after sitting in jail for so long you'd have thought she'd be a little more cautious.. Pretty good concept and story, not the best I've read but didn't see it as a waste of time at least.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NickE
  • NickE
  • 06-04-2017

Very gripping!

A really good story that held you from start to finish, brilliantly read, definitely recommended

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rock
  • Rock
  • 15-09-2019

Great book but ...

Awesome book, with a few twists and turns. However the Audible play messed up halfway.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lotty
  • Lotty
  • 13-06-2019

Brilliant story

Loved the book, disappointing narration. unfortunately i found the narration lacking feeling and definition between characters, making me unsure at times who's point of view I was listening to.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-12-2017

It’s ok

This book was ok. It didn’t grip me but I didn’t hate it. I chose to read Frost Blood because the description sounded very similar to Red Queen but in the end it was a little too similar.
I gave the performances 2 stars for several reasons: the main character was very predictable; most of the time characters would just do things for plot purposes not because it made sense for the character to do it and most of the time you didn’t understand their motivation to any of it.
I gave the story 4 stars because it’s a good idea on the whole but I just don’t think it was executed well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Poppey
  • Poppey
  • 10-02-2019

Almost, but Not Quite

This is the story of Ruby, a Fireblood who has had to lead an isolated life growing up. When her mother is killed and she is taken prisoner by the Frost King, she spends the next few months in a dungeon. Enter Brother Thistle and Arcus, who rescue her and take her back to Forwind Abbey, where she learns to control her fire powers, to some extent.

This is along similar lines to Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas, but without the talented narration and a little on the light side. This book, in my opinion, was really let down by the narration for the simple reason there was no depth. The voice is that of a very small girl and, no matter how hard I tried, the voice could not convey the power or maturity of the strong adult characters, let alone the romantic scenes. The voice is just too immature.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful