Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $41.73

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Three epic books. Fifty-plus hours filled with magic, war, myth, and characters that leap to life.

Bedel and Raynt, two powerful mages known as Essencers, have dedicated their lives to holding back the tide of the Dark Sorceress Jocina. After her defeat thousands of years ago, she is desperate to return and drown the world in darkness once and for all. Her time has come. 

Priestess A’banna has spent her young life in service to the Sorceress. But when she is commanded to sacrifice a living being in Jocina's name, her faith breaks. She flees into the waiting arms of the Essencers. 

Bedel and Raynt believe A’banna may hold the keys to defeating Jocina once and for all, and fight to protect her at all costs. However, ending a millennium of struggle isn't so easy. 

Jocina has been busy. Building allies. Corrupting rulers. Growing her dark and powerful army. And now, her coalition threatens all the realm with a war to end all wars. 

It will take more than magic and Essencers to stop her. Bedel, Raynt, and A’banna will need to bring the kingdoms together. Otherwise, Jocina will finally have her revenge. 

Buy this special edition box set to experience a sweeping epic fantasy series suitable for all ages. Fans of J.R.R. Tolkien and Brandon Sanderson will love this vividly imagined and detailed world.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Books

What listeners say about Essencers of Aelathia

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Might be good with a different narrator.

narrator is incredibly monotone, no real distinction between characters and thier emotions may aswel not exist. Story could be good but ill never know i guess.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Great story, long, entertaining and descriptive but at times can be hard to follow the dialogue with which character is talking

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 23-05-2020

Old School in the best way

Where has this author been hiding? I read book one individually, and then this... geez. The series is so good. Reminds me of older style fantasy but with modern writing and characters. The cover does a vivid job of showing me the world and it accurately displays the feel of the books. Reynolds did an amazing narration job.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tb3
  • tb3
  • 02-06-2020

Gave it a flyer, expect to return it.

I'm sure that some potential listeners will like this one. I'm also pretty sure that this isn't going to work out for me 11 chapters in. The first book does not start out as a study in character development, descriptive writing, or sophisticated plot development. Instead I consider this to be a joined series of events that are intended to be intensely emotional - only some of which make any sense when you think about them. And I find that the story seems to be rather derivative. But while we're lacking some things that I like in books, there is therefore a lot of actions and events packed into these pages in a tight bundle. Some readers or listeners will like this. Review to be updated a little further in. But let me emphasize to the person considering this bundle - this ain't a Galaxy Outlaws, let alone a hidden Stormlight, Spellmonger, or Lightbringer. At best, it's striking me as pulp. Tim Gerard Reynolds does a good job, as always.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pezzilla
  • Pezzilla
  • 24-05-2020

Excellent Narration

The narration is excellent. Seriously, one of the best matches of narration to subject matter I have ever heard. I am about 5 1/2 hours into the book so far. The story so far is good as well, both the characters and their world described in detail and the plot coming fast and steady. There seems so far to be a good balance of depth, detail, and story advancement; there has been only one spot so far where I felt the details just went on too long, and for such a long book that is a good sign.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Griswold
  • Paul Griswold
  • 09-06-2020

Not even Tim Gerard Reynolds could save it

I'm returning this one. Tim Gerard Reynolds does his best but it just can't save this derivative story. It is like a "best of" compilation from other writers. A lot seems to be almost directly lifted from The Wheel of Time series. And, despite a good performance, on multiple occasions we get to hear Mr. Reynolds re-read a passage because the editor didn't do their job. Skip this one and re-listen to some Brandon Sanderson instead.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Grover95
  • Grover95
  • 18-08-2020

Had a hard time getting into it

I attempted to begin this book but stopped after 3 hours of listening. I just couldn't get into the characters or the story still by that point.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacob P
  • Jacob P
  • 02-06-2020

Intriguing Sci-Fantasy with Potential

High Points: Narrator Tim Gerard Reynolds does an absolutely fantastic job, as always. There is a reason he makes my top 5 audiobook narrators. The plot is interesting and does not stick to purely Western European fantasy tropes and mythologies. A diverse set of characters and the sense that nobody is safe, which adds to the buy-in on the story. A nice blend of sci-fi and fantasy aspects, which I won't spoil here. Low Points: There are times the exposition drags and the end is not a "the current conflict is resolved, but life goes on", but instead feels like this is NOT the Full Series that it is advertised to be. Given some of the sci-fi aspects, it can be taken as the complete series, but it really needs at least one more book to bring it to a more satisfactory conclusion. Overall: Decent plot and characters, intriguing blend of sci-fi, fantasy and mythologies and excellent narration. Enjoyable, but leaves you wanting more. Disclaimer: I was given this a free review copy audiobook and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmazonBeantown
  • AmazonBeantown
  • 07-11-2020

very confusing

I did not like tbis story . I tried to finish it but could not. I am unsure as to whether or not I will try again. maybe one day if I get bored.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kurt
  • Kurt
  • 04-11-2020

Reader ruined it

Tried so hard to like this book. Reader was awful, you can’t tell who is talking.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard
  • Richard
  • 18-10-2020

needs to be edited , over the top

alot of this could be left on the cutting room floor. good story but gets silly . immature Like a D& D geek turned writer. well crafted but for tangential info dumps. it could be half or less. Amazing performance . just the best voice actor

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dave
  • dave
  • 16-10-2020

not my cup of tea

hard to keeo on track. lost contact with the story would request a refund please

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Curator
  • The Curator
  • 05-06-2020

Everything including the kitchen sink and a bit more for good lunch

Just a big mess. The world building is terrible. The set up leaves too many strands and main characters just don’t grab you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chad Wright
  • Chad Wright
  • 11-07-2020

Confusing nonsence

Stuck with it for 10 hours so far, it’s just nonsense. Incoherent and inconsistent world, none of it makes sense, feels like I’ve been thrust into the middle of what’s trying to be an established epic and I have no idea what’s going on, who the characters are and what the point of the whole thing is. Each scene is just leaving me more confused and bewildered. Listened to the narrator before and quite like him, but there’s just something about how he wraps his voice around the awkward and random made up words that really grates this time...

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.