Try free for 2 months

  • Death on Cromer Beach

  • DS Knight, Book 1
  • By: Ross Greenwood
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 12 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

A 2 month free trial (limited time offer).
1 credit/month—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Death on Cromer Beach cover art

Death on Cromer Beach

By: Ross Greenwood
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Free with 2 month trial

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The first in a new series from bestselling author, Ross Greenwood!

A brutal double murder on a Norfolk beach horrifies the town of Cromer. The way the victims died is chilling and so Norfolk’s Major Investigation Team task DS Ashley Knight to manage the case.

It soon becomes clear that the murders were carefully planned and the finger of suspicion points to an organised crime gang, but as the evidence mounts, a far more sinister theory emerges.

Ashley has been allocated a young but opinionated partner in Hector Fade, and sparks soon fly. Annoyingly for Ashley, Hector is no pushover and looks destined for great things. When the pair delve into the case, they struggle to understand who would inflict such suffering on their victims and hope the crime is a one off from a deranged and dangerous individual. But then another body is found.

There’s a killer on the loose who must be caught, or other victims will meet their fate by the sea.

Bestselling Ross Greenwood is back with the start of an exciting new series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Ian Rankin and Peter James.

©2023 Ross Greenwood (P)2023 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Death on Cromer Beach

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

New Series, New Lead

I enjoyed this first in a new series. I loved the DI Barton series which now appears to be at an end though having David Thorpe narrate this felt like a comfortable continuity.
DS Ashleigh Knight was relatable and I especially liked her honest interaction with young DC Hector Fade and his developing character, I hope he sticks around.
DI Peter Ibbottson's story was a bit of a stretch but overall I really enjoyed the book and loved David's narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I liked di Barton but I LOVE this new detective!

Loved Ashley so much. She's funny and confident and unaffected! not the usual brash and aggressive female detective who ends up having a "surprisingly" soft heart.

I can't wait for the next book in this series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Terrific police procedural

Set in the beautiful beachside town of Cromer, it’s dark tale with fingers that reach back to the past. Great characters with buckets of twists and turns. Pay attention

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great author

I really enjoyed this book. I loved the background stories of the characters and the murder was brilliant, not the murder itself. I mean the plot 😃

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit far fetched for me

In really wanted to like this story bit is was a bit too implausible to really get into. Carving off someone’s head for no good reason just didn’t seem terribly likely to me and the connections throughout the plot were hard to follow until too far into the story. David Thorpe was excellent as always but I can’t compare to the DI Barton series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it! Hopefully, it will be the first of many.

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I absolutely loved the DI Barton series, and I don't mind admitting that I was a little heartbroken when it came to a close with The Santa Killer. Ross has a way of painting the characters so vividly with his words and humour that I see it all unfold in my mind. Great storyline and well-developed characters, I can't wait to hear the next chapter for DS Knight and co. I was very happy to hear David's narration again on this story. His voice and character interpretations make for the perfect combination to Ross' story. 10 out of 10 all round!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

Another great story by Ross. Love his storyline and narration. Plenty going on to keep you interested. .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.