Try free for 30 days

  • Dark Is the Grave

  • DCI Bone Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 1
  • By: T. G. Reid
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 6 hrs and 33 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (102 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Dark Is the Grave cover art

Dark Is the Grave

By: T. G. Reid
Narrated by: Steve Worsley
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $22.99

Buy Now for $22.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A dead cop. A damaged detective. A copycat killer on the loose.

When the chief suspect in the notorious "peekaboo cop killer" case blew himself up, almost taking lead investigator DCI  Duncan Bone with him, the psychologically damaged detective thought his days on the force were over. But, when another PC is abducted and murdered in the same deranged peekaboo fashion, Bone is persuaded to return to lead the new investigation. But, as Bone and his team hunt a copycat killer, and with time running out before yet another cop is slain, Bone’s terrifying past returns to tear open old wounds and push him to very edge of the abyss.

Can DCI Bone end the killing before the killing ends him?-

Set among the dramatic hills and glens of Scotland's Campsie Fells, Dark Is the Grave is the first in a series of edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers that will keep you guessing right up to the nail-biting, heart-stopping climax. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, J. D. Kirk, Val McDermid, and Stuart MacBride.

©2021 Tom Reid (P)2024 Tom Reid

What listeners say about Dark Is the Grave

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Has Potential

Not a bad story, a bit light on police procedure and odd spots for humour. Will listen to the next

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This E ticket ride over too soon

Great story. Kept me guessing until the end. excellent narrator. Can't wait for the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just brilliant

Loved this. This was a great story with many Twists and turns. The two main characters interactions and narrative was just brilliant. Great narration too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best narrator

This was a really good story in conjunction with the best narrator in the business !

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

hmmm.....

Love a Scottish crime thriller. This one was a little short and didn't completely gel IMO.

Bone is on sick leave with serious PTSD from his last case. Then the boss commands his return to investigate a copy-cat of the case that caused the PTSD (really?). Within a short while they are shouting at each other, and internal investigators are brought in. it's going the way of the cliched persecuted cop narrative -- and then all of sudden, solved. Not a whole lot of investigation. Nice reader.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed this.

I listen to a lot of Scottish Crime audio books. All the authors have a similar theme but that is not a problem for me because I enjoy listening to different versions of similar crimes. Keep up the great work, and keep up the magnificent Scottish banter between the characters, I love it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen.

I found this a great listen ,loved everything about it. Strong storyline characters and great narration. well worth a listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lazy silly ending

Seemed OK during the telling but the ending was lazy and very silly. How did the bad lady know where the hero's wife and son were?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good

Got the next in the series already. Cracking pace, just the right amount of everything. Poor Bone. Great book, love the narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a super duper novel

Well written great characters and a marvie story. I really like Steve Worsley too. Woooh

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.