Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $20.96

Buy Now for $20.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The Sunday Times best seller returns with his next unforgettable crime thriller. Fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart MacBride won't be able to stop listening to this.

John Sagan is a forgettable man. You could pass him in the street and not realise he's there. But then, that's why he's so dangerous.

A torturer for hire, Sagan has terrorised - and mutilated - countless victims. And now he's on the move. DS Mark 'Heck' Heckenburg must chase the trail, even when it leads him to his hometown of Bradburn - a place he never thought he'd set foot in again.

But Sagan isn't the only problem. Bradburn is being terrorised by a lone killer who burns his victims to death. And with the victims chosen at random, no one knows who will be next. Least of all Heck...

©2017 Paul Finch (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Edge-of-the-seat reading.... Heck is formidable - a British Alex Cross." ( The Sun)
"Wonderfully dark and peppered with grim humour. Finch is a born storyteller and writes with the authentic voice of the ex-copper he is." (Peter Finch)
"An ingenious and original plot. Compulsive reading." (Rachel Abbott)
"A deliciously twisted and fiendish set of murders and a great pairing of detectives." (Stav Sherez)
"Avon's big star...part edge-of-the-seat, part hide-behind-the-sofa! An excellent series." ( The Bookseller)

What listeners say about Ashes to Ashes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Like!

Have liked all these books so far. Paul Thornley is an excellent narrator and the stories, though they take a while to get going, are always very layered and interesting. So are the characters. While the murders are “creative” and quite gruesome the details are not too explicit which is how I like it.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E. Walsh
  • E. Walsh
  • 19-11-2017

Cross That Bridge Yet Again.

Maybe it's because I'm a Londoner that I love London town?
Maybe that's the reason I read a lot of police procedurals based in the UK.
I stared listening to this series and I was willing to get past the fact that Heck wasn't anything like any real policeman ever was or ever could be.
Just a fun ride on my daily trips to and from work.
Heck was the good guy, all he needed was a white cowboy hat and the bad guys should wear black cowboy hats.
Seems that Paul Finch must love railway stations
Seems like in each and every book there is a foot chase that is close to a station.
Yes there is always a bridge and yes Heck manages to get across that bridge in each and every book.
Why do I think that Mr. Finch spent his Saturdays train spotting and then rushed home to catch Doctor Who or the BBC?
However like a moth drawn closer to the flame, I'm going to remain loyal to the series, I'll keep going, in part just because Paul Thornley fills the space in my car and is a voice from home and I like the way he can spit out some of the lines with true conviction.
The books are not everyone's cup of tea.
There is a lot of blood and gore.
Heck is like the Lone Ranger an like the Lone Ranger will ride again breaking rules and finding new railway bridges to cross.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Duncan Bell
  • Duncan Bell
  • 12-05-2017

Awesome and Paul Thornley cracks it again.

The story is very good and never lets its foot off the gas.
Paul Thornley really is a master of narration and adds to the twists, turns and excitement.
Highly recommended.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for johanna allsopp
  • johanna allsopp
  • 24-04-2017

A bit slow

A bit slow to start with but it got there in the end, hope the next one is a bit more gritty.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mandy Dockery
  • Mandy Dockery
  • 14-05-2017

Not for me-

The violence is too gratuitous for me, I managed to get to Chapter 4 before giving up. The narrator who is good, is the only reason any stars were given.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. T. Griffin
  • Mrs. T. Griffin
  • 23-04-2017

what the heck!

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

Ive enjoyed this series so far, until this one. someone who doesnt want a crime thriller main character to be at all realistic will probably love it

What was most disappointing about Paul Finch’s story?

the main character has veered from the sublime to the ridiculous in this book, some of the scenes particularly towards the end were so unbelievable they were daft; some of the lines Heck comes out with either me cringe or laugh out loud.

What does Paul Thornley bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I love this narrator

What character would you cut from Ashes to Ashes?

Heck

Any additional comments?

police crime thrillers can still be interesting and thrilling without being so over the top and so 'one man army' arrogant

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David
  • David
  • 05-05-2017

Each one gets better

Have listened to all the series and they get better each time. Can't wait for next installment.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graham Keene
  • Graham Keene
  • 04-05-2017

Heck

Paul Thornley is Heckenburg! He tells the story brilliantly. After however many Heckenburg books he has related no one else could do it better. The story is, as ever, fast moving and gripping. My only criticism and it is only a small one, this hero must be made of titanium..... mere skin and bone would surely fail.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jon Lymposs
  • Jon Lymposs
  • 09-04-2017

Wonderful

Best of the series so far....I love the simmering romance
Between Heck and his boss Gemma....Hope they get back
Together in the next book......loved it.....

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-04-2017

DS Heckenburg wows again.

Excellent, suspense filled story. Wonderfully told by Paul Thornley. Can't wait for the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs.Danvers
  • Mrs.Danvers
  • 24-04-2017

curiously clichéd

I was surprised at how clichéd and dated this book sounded, perhaps it might have been better if read in book format - but I doubt it, The narration was awful, especially the female voices and regional accents - so basically all the different voices. I'm sad to have wasted my monthly credit on this audio book. I found myself hoping that Heck would get killed in a particularly ghastly manner so that should give you an idea of how annoying the main character is. Sadly I can't find one good thing to say about this book

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca C
  • Rebecca C
  • 04-07-2020

Good story again

I've really enjoyed all Paul Finch's stories so far but do struggle with the narrator. He's not bad, delivering the story well, but does have a very limited range of voices which can grate a bit. The plot was good and it moved along at a pace while not being predictable which is always a winner in this genre.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.